French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

DEAUVILLE Deauville Yacht Club> June 20 to 23

18e LINKERS OPEN DE FRANCE OF DRAGON
For his 18e edition, around thirty Dragon meet to battle it out for 4 days on the reputed technical body of water of Deauville.

Dragon's Linkers Open de France is now one of the major European events in the discipline and each year brings together an extremely top team, with great international champions from all over Europe to challenge the crews of the most prestigious French sailing clubs. .

This year, a first novelty in the making!
The Deauville Yacht Club wanted to expand this regatta and associate with the Dragon another class of sport keelboats: the Soling. Successor of the Dragon at the Olympic Games and also a boat with 3 crew, 15 Soling should be present on the same type of course. Thus, 40 sport keelboats will animate the Deauville lake for 4 days. The departures of the 2 series will be separated at 10 minutes intervals.

A three-team sport keelboat, the Dragon was designed in the late 1920s by the Norwegian architect and regattaist Johan Anker. The Dragon quickly established itself as an ideal boat to sail in competition and in 1948 became the official keelboat of the Olympic Games. This sailboat with clean lines and modernized over the years, has defied fashion to retain a clientele of fine coxswains, in love with the finesse of its aesthetic cut.

If Dragon fleets are present on all French coasts, the Deauville Yacht Club can be tragically the oldest Dragon fleet in France. It has existed since 1951!

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

DEAUVILLE Deauville Yacht Club > 20 au 23 juin

18e LINKERS OPEN DE FRANCE DE DRAGON
Pour sa 18e édition, une trentaine de Dragon se rencontrent pour en découdre durant 4 jours sur le plan d'eau réputé technique de Deauville.

La Linkers Open de France de Dragon fait désormais partie des grands rendez-vous européens de la discipline et réunit chaque année un plateau extrêmement relevé, avec de grands champions internationaux venus de toute l’Europe pour défier les équipages des plus prestigieux clubs de voile français.

Cette année, une première nouveauté en gestation !
Le Deauville Yacht Club a souhaité élargir cette régate et associer aux Dragon une autre classe de quillards de sport : le Soling. Successeur du Dragon aux J.O. et également bateau à 3 équipiers, 15 Soling devraient être présents sur le même type de parcours. Ainsi, 40 quillards de sport animeront le plan d’eau de Deauville durant 4 jours. Les départs des 2 séries seront séparés à 10 mn d’intervalles.

Quillard de sport à trois équipiers, le Dragon fut conçu à la fin des années 1920 par l'architecte norvégien et régatier Johan Anker. Le Dragon s'est rapidement imposé comme un bateau idéal pour naviguer en compétition et devint dès 1948 le quillard officiel des Jeux Olympiques. Ce voilier aux lignes épurées et modernisées au fil des années, a su défier les modes pour fidéliser une clientèle de fins barreurs, amoureux de la finesse de sa coupe esthétique.

Si des flottes de Dragon sont présentes sur toutes les côtes françaises, le Deauville Yacht Club  peut se traguer d'être la plus ancienne flotte de Dragon de France. Elle existe depuis depuis 1951 !