31st SABLE SHOW - THE PROGRAM

THE SUGAR FAMILY
July 12 - Country-Folk
Transatlantic heirs to the Carter Family and the Kossoy Sisters, The Sugar Family proudly and freshly carry the great and beautiful colors of traditional American folk song. Drawing on the roots of gospel music to take a stroll along the banks of the Ohio River in old-time ballads that are sometimes bewitching, sometimes jubilant, the music of these five singers and musicians takes us back to the America of the 1930s, to the crossroads of clear folk and raucous bluegrass, where the blues are never far away.

ILLONA
July 16 (Part 1) - Fingerstyle
Illona is a young fingerstyle guitarist and composer. She uses her guitar as a multi-instrument, percussion, bass, choreography object... Her talent is very quickly revealed: she was the special guest of the Korean guitarist Sungha Jung at the Café de la Danse, opened the concert of Biréli Lagrène at the Trianon in Paris, participated in "Guitar Night" in Paris, in the "Musikmesse" in Frankfurt and in the festival "Solidays", and played several times in Italy, Austria, Germany and South Korea. In 2013, Illona recorded "The Guitar Power" her first album, a true acoustic appropriation of songs from different periods, such as "Smooth Criminal" by Michael Jackson, "Just the two of us" by Bill Withers or "Get Lucky" by Daft Punk. "Puzzle", his brand new opus, offers a dozen original tracks with vocals.

BALBAZAR
July 16 - French song / Tropical ball
After the success of the first show on the Chanson Réaliste, with more than 500 concerts, the trio Balbazar has taken the path of creation for a second part around the West Indian Ball. The "Bal électropical" continues to explore the spirit of the 20's and 30's in a concert-bal. The trio invites us to discover its new universe, highlighted with this originality, already so appreciated by thousands of spectators who came to meet them, between the voice, the accordion and the rhythmic beatbox.

WITH U2 NIGHT
July 19 - Tribute Pop-Rock
From the first album to the last one, With U2 Night makes us live the sound and the emotion of the incontounable Irish band U2 ("New year's day", "Sunday bloody sunday", "With or without you", "One", "Vertigo", "Ordinary love"...). More than a tribute, it is a real musical celebration that the four musicians share with the public.
 

CUT THE ALLIGATOR
July 23 - Soul / Funk
Every thousand years, a tiny group of individuals gather and take the name Cut The Alligator. A mission: to liberate captive energies, giving free rein to a music made of groove and emotions. Cut The Alligator shows today its new face with a first album. Nine musicians, sensual and powerful voices, unleashed horns and a wild rhythm section unite to create a unique sound universe, full of soul and funk. Let's fight the big reptile that's inside each of us!

Thomas Cendrier

SCRATCHOPHONE ORCHESTRA
July 26 - Electro swing
A group that holds in a simple equation: melodies cut in the raw material of the swing of the 30's, which cross the very current influences irrigating the electro-swing movement; beats replaying in this century the most dancing rhythms of the previous one; compositions with neat productions structured around the song; the energy of a quartet that electrifies in a systematic way the dance floor. The group released "Plaisir Moderne" its first album in 2018, followed by a tour that signals its musical maturity. Mixing samples and vintage sounds in a more contemporary format with Hip-Hop and House accents, the group has particularly taken care of the balance between instrumental music and electronic production.

TANKUS THE HENGE
July 30 - Rock
After a few thousand concerts throughout Europe, the English band Tankus the Henge is slowly building its legend with its supercharged stage performances. These six hard workers have created a unique style: Gonzo Rock n' Roll, an eclectic universe, a clever mix of rock, fed by Rag Time, New Orleans or Funk, all magnified by finely chiseled lyrics. Their universe draws its inspiration from the English wave of the 60s, but also from artists like Tom Waits or the Queen of the Stone age. Over the years, the band has become a real stage compressor, with a precision musical mechanism, relying on the groove of an impressive bass-drums duo, a powerful brass section, efficient riffs and the rocky voice of its singer.

TEKPAF
August 2 - Ska
For ten years now, the band Tekpaf has been travelling the roads to spread their brassy ska rock influenced universe. After having played in France and Switzerland, in numerous venues and festivals, the group is back with its album "On s'arrête pas! Always committed, Tekpaf who shared the stage with other groups, such as Dub Inc, Babylon Circus, Les Ogres de Barback, BB Brunes, Boulevard des Airs, Collectif 13, As de Trèfle, Les Sales Majestés... comes back more than ever in form and spreads all its energy during a concert as "at home". As they say so well "On stage we give everything"!

BALLUCHE SOUND SYSTEM
August 6 - French Song
On board their unusual machine, equipped with an extravagant arsenal of sound and light, the crew of the Balluche Sound System, under the unbridled command of Sacha de Kracov, takes us on a great rhythmic ritual. As if out of a Jules Verne novel, this modern day orpheon lays down its crazy mix of dub, tango, swing, dance floor, electro and rock for an irresistible sonic experience. Lovers of guinche, incravated teufeurs, gamblers of Saturday evening, prepare to ignite the place, because this evening all is allowed!

Eric Richet

GEMMA & THE TRAVELLERS
August 9 - Soul
There is in Gemma & the Travellers the spirit of "Motown" and "Stax", the raw and groovy sound of the early days of the label. Obviously, Gemma is also a voice, powerful and limpid that seems to come straight out of the basement of Detroit. The English duo writes and composes all the songs that rely on bass, drums, sax and guitar. On stage, the band is a real grooving machine. Their debut album "Too Many Rules & Games" was released in 2017, followed in 2019 by a second "True Love", which is a distinct evolution of the band's sound towards groove.
 

TRUCK GRAVES
August 13 - French song
TomBés du Camion is above all French song, words and musical diversity. The muffled color of the acoustic instruments (trombone, acoustic guitar, violin) is associated with the rock rhythm of the rhythmic instruments (electric guitar, bass and drums)
to propose an explosive sound mixture. Sometimes Swing/Jazz, sometimes Reggae, sometimes Rock N' Roll, they make us travel through the different themes that they approach and that they try to share. One thing is sure, it's a 100% organic song, without pesticides or preservatives.

SOLAR PROJECT
August 16 - Soul / Funk
Enter the heart of Solar Project's sunny soul/funk universe: a clever mix of sounds and a beautiful part given to rhythmic and brassy parts. The group, driven by the compositions and the soulful voice of the singer, was formed in 2016 and finds its inspiration in the greats of soul and funk such as Esther Philips, Aretha Franklin, Maceo Parker, Souljazz Orchestra... Over the course of three years of concerts and several studio experiences, the project has built a real identity and singularity. The six musicians are truly committed to sharing their pleasure of the stage in a sonic and visual journey. Their recipe? A good dose of colors in the ears and the promise of an energetic and generous show!

LA CAMELOTE
August 20 - French song
Come closer ladies and gentlemen ! Come and discover our extraordinary collection of real treasures that belonged to the greatest artists of French Song. On our stall you will find the legendary canotier of Charles Trenet, the flowers held by Jacques Brel while waiting for Madeleine, the authentic bicycle of Yves Montand, the bedside lamp of Charles Aznavour's Mamma or the only painting by Barbara... a landscape of Göttingen. And for just a smile, treat yourself to priceless songs and anecdotes!

JESSE COOL
August 23 - Reggae / Latino
From reggae to salsa, this cover band rocks some good music. Based in the southwest, Jesse Cool has been playing regularly for years at festivals and venues. Lya-Dia has played for artistic personalities such as Steve Wonder and Percy Sledge. Considered as the African Bobby Mcferrin, he is an exceptional vocal virtuoso, guitarist and percussionist, and excels in the art of improvisation and melodies. Jesse Cool is the singer of the mythical Sun Djata Sound (Raggasonic) and the group Yorou. He has played at the Francofolies, the MCM Café, the Printemps de Bourges among others and has opened for many artists: Dennis Brown, Culture, Ijahman... Jivali, chorister and instrumentalist, has been sending the groove and the sequences since the creation of Covers Time.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

31e SABLE SHOW - LE PROGRAMME

THE SUGAR FAMILY
12 juillet - Country-Folk
Héritiers transatlantiques de la Carter Family et des Kossoy Sisters, The Sugar Family porte avec fierté et fraîcheur les grandes et belles couleurs de la folk song américaine traditionnelle. Puisant jusque dans les racines du gospel pour aller se promener sur les rives de l'Ohio autour de ballades old-time tantôt envoûtantes, tantôt jubilatoires, la musique portée par ces cinq chanteurs et musiciens nous emporte dans l'Amérique des années trente, au carrefour du folk limpide et du bluegrass le plus rauque, là où le blues n'est jamais loin.

ILLONA
16 juillet (1ère partie) - Fingerstyle
Illona  est une jeune guitariste fingerstyle et compositrice. Elle utilise sa guitare comme un multi-instrument, percussions, basse, objet de chorégraphie… Son talent est très rapidement révélé : elle a été l’invitée spéciale du guitariste Coréen Sungha Jung au Café de la Danse, a ouvert le concert de Biréli Lagrène au Trianon de Paris, a participé à "Guitar Night" à Paris, au "Musikmesse" de Francfort et au festival "Solidays", et a joué à plusieurs reprises en Italie, Autriche, Allemagne et Corée du Sud. En 2013, Illona enregistre "The Guitar Power" son premier album, véritable appropriation acoustique de chansons de différentes périodes, telles que "Smooth Criminal"  de Michael Jackson, "Just the two of us" de Bill Withers ou "Get Lucky" de Daft Punk. "Puzzle", son tout nouvel opus, propoe une dizaine de morceaux originaux avec du chant.

BALBAZAR
16 juillet - Chanson française / Bal tropical
Après le succès du premier spectacle sur la Chanson Réaliste, avec plus de 500 concerts, le trio Balbazar a repris le chemin de la création pour un deuxième volet autour du Bal antillais. Le "Bal électropical" continue à explorer l’esprit des années 20 et 30 lors d'un concert-bal. Le trio nous invite à découvrir son nouvel univers, mis en valeur avec cette originalité, déjà tant appréciée par des milliers de spectateurs venus à leur rencontre, entre la voix, l'accordéon et la rythmique du beatbox.

WITH U2 NIGHT
19 juillet - Tribute Pop-Rock
Du premier album au dernier opus, With U2 Night nous fait vivre le son et l’émotion de l'incontounable groupe irlandais U2 ("New year's day", "Sunday bloody sunday", "With or without you", "One", "Vertigo", "Ordinary love"...). Plus qu’un hommage, c’est une véritable célébration musicale que les quatre musiciens partagent avec le public.
 

CUT THE ALLIGATOR
23 juillet - Soul / Funk
Tous les mille ans, un groupuscule d'individus se rassemble et prend pour nom Cut The Alligator. Une mission : libérer les énergies captives, en laissant libre cours à une musique faite de groove et d’émotions. Cut The Alligator montre aujourd’hui son nouveau visage avec un premier album. Neuf musiciens, des voix sensuelles et puissantes, des cuivres déchaînés et une section rythmique sauvage s’unissent pour crée un univers sonore unique, gorgé de soul et de funk. Combattons le grand reptile qui est au fond de chacun de nous !

© Thomas Cendrier

SCRATCHOPHONE ORCHESTRA
26 juillet - Electro swing
Un groupe qui tient en une équation simple : des mélodies taillées dans la matière brute du swing des années 30, qui croisent les influences très actuelles irriguant le mouvement électro-swing ; des beats rejouant dans ce siècle-ci les rythmiques les plus dansantes du précédent ; des compositions aux productions soignées structurées autour du chant ; l'énergie d'un quartet qui électrise de façon systématique la piste de danse. Le groupe sort "Plaisir Moderne" son premier album en 2018, suivi d'une tournée signant sa maturité musical. Mixant samples et sonorités vintages dans un format plus contemporain aux accents Hip-Hop et House, le groupe a tout particulièrement soigné l'équilibre entre musique instrumentale et production électronique.

TANKUS THE HENGE
30 juillet - Rock
Après un petit millier de concerts à travers l’Europe, les anglais de Tankus the Henge bâtissent petit à petit leur légende à coups de prestations scéniques survitaminées. Ces six bosseurs acharnés ont créé un style unique : le Gonzo Rock n’Roll, un univers éclectique, savant mélange de rock, nourri au Rag Time, au New Orleans ou au Funk, le tout magnifié par des textes finement ciselés. Leur univers puise son inspiration par la vague anglaise des années 60, mais aussi des artistes comme Tom Waits ou les Queen of the Stone age. La formation s’est transformée au fil de son histoire en véritable rouleau-compresseur scénique, doublée d’une mécanique musicale de précision, s’appuyant notamment sur le groove d’un duo basse-batterie impressionnant, d’une section cuivre surpuissante, de riffs efficaces et sur la voix rocailleuse de son chanteur.

TEKPAF
2 août - Ska
Depuis maintenant dix ans, le groupe Tekpaf parcourt les routes pour propager son univers aux influences ska rock cuivré. Après avoir écumé, en France et en Suisse, de nombreuses salles et festivals, le groupe est de retour avec son album "On s’arrête pas !". Toujours engagé, Tekpaf qui a partagé la scène avec d'autres groupes, tels que Dub Inc, Babylon Circus, Les Ogres de Barback, BB Brunes, Boulevard des Airs, Collectif 13, As de Trèfle, Les Sales Majestés... revient plus que jamais en forme et diffuse à chaque fois toute son énergie lors d’un concert comme "à la maison". Comme ils le disent si bien "Sur scène on donne tout" !

BALLUCHE SOUND SYSTEM
6 août - Chanson Française
A bord de leur engin insolite, doté d'un arsenal sonore et lumineux extravagant, l'équipage du Balluche Sound System, sous le commandement débridé de Sacha de Kracov, nous embarque pour un grand rituel rythmique. Comme sorti d'un roman de Jules Verne, cet orphéon des temps modernes pose son mix saugrenu où se côtoie dub, tango, swing, dance floor, electro et rock pour une expérience sonique irrésistible. Amateurs de guinche, teufeurs encravatés, gambilleurs du samedi soir, préparez-vous à enflammer la place, car ce soir tout est permis !

© Eric Richet

GEMMA & THE TRAVELLERS
9 août - Soul
Il y a dans Gemma & the Travellers l’esprit de la "Motown" et "Stax", le son brut et groove des débuts du label. A l’évidence, Gemma c’est aussi une voix, puissante et limpide qui semble sortir tout droit de la cave en terre battue de Detroit. Le duo anglais écrit et compose tous les chansons qui repose sur la basse, batterie, sax et guitare. Sur scène, le groupe est une vrai machine à groover. Leur premier album "Too Many Rules & Games" est sortie en 2017, suivi en 2019 d'un deuxième "True Love", qui est une évolution distincte du son du groupe vers du groove.
 

TOMBES DU CAMION
13 août - Chanson française
TomBés du Camion, c’est avant tout de la chanson française, des mots et de la diversité musicale. La couleur feutrée des instruments acoustiques (trombone, guitare sèche, violon) s’associe à la cadence rock des instruments rythmiques (guitare électrique, basse et batterie)
pour proposer un mélange sonore détonant. Tantôt Swing /Jazz, tantôt Reggae, tantôt Rock N’Roule, ils nous font voyager à travers les différents thèmes qu’ils abordent et qu’ils cherchent à partager. Une chose est sûre, c’est de la chanson à Textes 100 % garantie BIO, sans pesticide, ni conservateur.

SOLAR PROJECT
16 août - Soul / Funk
Entrez au coeur de l’univers soul/funk ensoleillé de Solar Project : un savant mélange de sonorités et une part belle accordée aux parties rythmiques et cuivrées. Le groupe, porté par les compositions et la voix soul de la chanteuse, s’est formé en 2016 et trouve son inspiration auprès des grands de la soul et du funk tels qu’Esther Philips, Aretha Franklin, Maceo Parker, Souljazz Orchestra… Au fil de trois années de concerts et plusieurs expériences studios, le projet s’est construit une réelle identité et singularité. Les six musiciens ont véritablement à coeur de partager leur plaisir de la scène dans un voyage sonore et visuel. Leur recette ? Une bonne dose de couleurs dans les oreilles et la promesse d’un show énergique et généreux !

LA CAMELOTE
20 août - Chanson française
Approchez mesdames et messieurs ! Venez découvrir notre extraordinaire collection de véritables trésors ayant appartenu aux plus grands artistes de la Chanson Française. Sur notre étal vous trouverez le légendaire canotier de Charles Trenet, les fleurs que tenait Jacques brel en attendant Madeleine, l’authentique bicyclette d’Yves Montand, la lampe de chevet de la Mamma de Charles Aznavour ou encore le seul tableau peint par Barbara... un paysage de Göttingen. Et contre seulement un sourire, offrez-vous chansons et anecdotes inestimables !

JESSE COOL
23 août - Reggae / Latino
Du reggae à la salsa, ce groupe de reprise balance de la Bonne Musique. Basé dans le sud-ouest, le groupe Jesse Cool joue régulièrement depuis des années dans des festivals et différentes salles. Lya-Dia a joué pour des personnalités artistiques telles que Steve Wonder et Percy Sledge. Considéré comme le bobby Mcferrin africain, virtuose vocal, guitariste et percussionniste d’exception, il excelle dans l’art de l’improvisation et des mélodies. Jesse Cool est le chanteur du mythique Sun Djata Sound (Raggasonic) et du groupe Yorou. Il est passé par les Francofolies, le MCM Café, le Printemps de Bourges entre autres et a fait de nombreuses premières parties : Dennis Brown, Culture, Ijahman... Jivali choriste et instrumentiste envoie le groove et les séquences depuis la création de Covers Time.