French Dutch English German Spanish

5 major architectural styles

The seaside architecture is inventive and constantly renews itself according to the dreams of each owner. The styles come together, mix, while adapting to changes, to the lifestyle of seaside tourism. Five major movements are nonetheless identifiable.

The Second Empire current: bricks and working with materials

These are the oldest and most sober buildings, often in monochrome or polychrome bricks. Very elaborate relief ornaments enliven the facades: cut stones, niches, pilasters or busts. The effects are created by the types of roofing (additional roofs, ridges, penetrations, gables, etc.) and the materials used (natural or glazed terracotta, limestone and brick, colored earthenware, plaster and hexagonal rubble, etc.).

Villa Le Cercle, Deauville
Tourist Office, Villers-sur-Mer

Historicism and Eclecticism: Historical knowledge

The builders of the XNUMXth century had a passion for history and the desire to enhance it, sometimes mixing eras and architectural styles. Say "historicists" when they are of a single old style, these villas become "eclectic" when they are a clever mix of influences, borrowed from classical, Italian, Flemish, medieval, renaissance styles ...

Villa Madrené, Blonville-sur-MerDelphine Barré Lerouxel
Villa Mors, Tourgéville Laurie Lopez

Norman style: Wood panels, checkerboards and colors

The Norman style is essential on the territory inDeauville. It integrates several centuries of rural constructions of the Pays d'Auge: half-timbered, checkerboard brickwork, use of painted wood and subtle interplay of roofs ... From the 1920s, the regionalist faux wood panel and "normandization" follow the wood decor. The facades are clad in false bricks, stones or half-timbered fittings simulated in a concrete plaster with painting of the extra thicknesses. To the motifs, which were simple at first, were later added oblique or more decorative shapes.

Post office, Villers-sur-MerEtienne Chognard
Laurie Lopez
Deauville Town Hall

Why red roofs?

In the past, roofing was treated with beef blood, which would have sanitizing properties and kept certain insects away. The color remained for some homes for aesthetic and heritage reasons.

 

The Chalet: Finely chiseled wooden balconies and large openings

The use of the term "chalet" appears from the creation of seaside resorts. These architectural references draw their origin from a hygienist movement of the mid-nineteenth century (set of political and social theories whose principle is to design architecture and town planning by applying the rules of preservation of hygiene). The importance of nature, clean air, the sea or the forest, then establish a new relationship to the living environment, in harmony with the surrounding elements, and to the organization of the house around large openings to enjoy both the inside and the outside: deployment of balconies, loggias, old wooden porches ...

Villa CamelliaSandrine Walnut engel
Blonville-sur-Mer town hallLeo Lemasson

Villers-sur-Mer, the showroom for Universal Exhibitions

Universal exhibitions are the object of discoveries and experiments, where builders present prefabricated buildings that can be dismantled in timber. Certain models are then sold and assembled in the regions in order to present their know-how. Four pavilions were reassembled in Villers-sur-Mer: the Chalet Haret or Villa Miramar, a pavilion of the Haret joinery from the Universal Exhibition of 1867, and three chalets of the Universal Exhibition of 1878, the chalet Koechlin, formerly pavilion of Alsace, Villa Madagascar or Les Foulans and the Chalet des Oiseaux, former Austrian pavilion.

 

Art Nouveau and Art Deco: raw concrete, curves and mosaics

At the start of the XNUMXth century, architects did not like right angles and managed to round off angles. The Art Nouveau and Art Deco currents will then come up against the Anglo-Norman register. These styles find on the territory inDeauville some masterful achievements with deliberately modern writing which advocates the simplicity of forms and sobriety. Rough concrete is preferred in this type of construction and we often find mosaic, enamelled lava and ceramic on the detail and ornamental elements of the facades.

Enlarge

The point of view

Pompeii Baths

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Water Villa

Etienne Chognard
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Lower

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Etienne Chognard

Sandrine Boyer Engel

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

5 grands styles architecturaux

L’architecture balnéaire est inventive et se renouvelle sans cesseau gré des rêves de chaque propriétaire. Les styles se côtoient, se mélangent, tout en s’adaptant aux évolutions, aux façons de vivre du tourisme balnéaire. Cinq grands mouvements sont néanmoins repérables.

Le courant Second Empire : briques et travail des matériaux

Ce sont les édifices les plus anciens et les plus sobres, souvent en briques monochromes ou polychromes. Des ornements en relief et très élaborées animent les façades : pierres taillées, niches, pilastres ou bustes. Les effets sont créés par les modes de couverture (combles à surcroît, croupes, pénétrations, pignons…) et les matériaux employés (terre cuite naturelle ou vernissée, pierre calcaire et brique, faïences colorées, enduits et moellons hexagonaux…).

Villa Le Cercle, Deauville
Office du Tourisme, Villers-sur-Mer

Historicisme et Eclectisme : La connaissance historique

Les bâtisseurs du XIXe siècle ont la passion de l’histoire et l’envie de le remettre en valeur, en y mêlant parfois les époques et les styles architecturaux. Dites "historicistes" lorsqu’elles sont d’un seul style ancien, ces villas deviennent "éclectiques" lorsqu’elles sont un savant mélange d’influences, empruntées aux styles classique, italien, flamand, médiéval, renaissance…

Villa Madrené, Blonville-sur-MerDelphine Barré Lerouxel
Villa Mors, Tourgéville Laurie Lopez

Le style normand : Pans de bois, damiers et couleurs

Le style normand s’impose sur le territoire inDeauville. Il intègre plusieurs siècles de constructions rurales du Pays d’Auge : pans de bois, appareillages de briques en damier, utilisation du bois peint et jeux subtils de toitures… A partir des années 1920, le faux pan de bois régionaliste et la "normandisation" succèdent au décor bois. Les façades sont habillées en faux appareillages de briques, pierres ou de pans de bois simulés en un enduit en béton avec peinture des surépaisseurs. Aux motifs, simples dans un premier temps, sont ajoutés par la suite des formes obliques ou plus décoratives.

La poste, Villers-sur-MerEtienne Chognard
Laurie Lopez
Mairie Deauville

Pourquoi des sous-toitures rouges ?

Autrefois on traitait les sous-toitures avec du sang de bœuf, qui aurait des propriétés assainissantes et permettait d’éloigner certains insectes. La couleur est restée pour certaines demeures pour des raisons esthétiques et patrimoniales.

 

Le Chalet : Balcons de bois finement ciselés et grandes ouvertures

L’utilisation du terme "chalet" apparaît dès la création des stations balnéaires. Ces références architecturales puisent leur origine dans un mouvement hygiéniste du milieu du XIXe siècle (ensemble de théories politiques et sociales dont le principe est de concevoir l'architecture et l'urbanisme en appliquant les règles de préservation de l'hygiène). L’importance de la nature, de l’air pur, de la mer ou de la forêt, fondent alors un nouveau rapport au cadre de vie, en harmonie avec les éléments environnants, et à l’organisation de la maison autour de grandes ouvertures pour profiter autant de l’intérieur que de l’extérieur : déploiement de balcons, loggias, porches anciens en bois…

Villa CaméliaSandrine Noyer engel
Mairie Blonville-sur-MerLéo Lemasson

Villers-sur-Mer, le show room des Expositions universelles

Les expositions universelles sont l’objet de découvertes et d’expérimentations, où les constructeurs présentent des bâtiments préfabriqués et démontables en pan de bois. Certains modèles sont ensuite vendus et montés en région afin de présenter leur savoir-faire. Quatre pavillons ont été remontés à Villers-sur-Mer : le Chalet Haret ou Villa Miramar, pavillon de la menuiserie Haret provenant de l’Exposition universelle de 1867, et trois chalets de l'Exposition universelle de 1878, le chalet Koechlin, ex-pavillon de l’Alsace, la Villa Madagascar ou Les Foulans et le Chalet des Oiseaux, ex-pavillon autrichien.

 

Art nouveau et Art deco : beton brut, courbes et mosaïques

Au début du XXe siècle, les architectes n’aiment pas les angles droits et s’arrangent pour arrondir les angles. Les courants Art Nouveau et Art Déco vont alors se confronter avec le registre anglo-normand. Ces styles trouvent sur le territoire inDeauville quelques réalisations magistrales à l'écriture délibérément moderne qui prône la simplicité des formes et la sobriété. Le béton brut est privilégié dans ce type de construction et on retrouve souvent de la mosaïque, de la lave émaillée et de la céramique sur les éléments de détail et d’ornementation des façades.

Agrandir

Le point de Vue

Bains Pompéïens

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Villa d'Eaux

Etienne Chognard
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Réduire

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Etienne Chognard

Sandrine Boyer Engel