French Dutch English German Spanish

Côte Fleurie - August 18> 25, 2019

75st LANDING ANNIVERSARY AND THE BATTLE OF NORMANDY

The liberation commemorations of the Côte Fleurie take on a particular dimension in 2019 with the presence of a detachment of the Belgian armed forces, the French Army, the ambassadors of Belgium and Peru, but also the last veterans of the "PIRON Brigade" »Including Jorge Sanjinez, 102, volunteered in the PIRON brigade in 1943. He will come from Peru where he resides. The commemorations will take place in many municipalities of the Côte Fleurie. In addition, at Villers-sur-Mer, fireworks and a ball will mark the anniversary. Visitors will also be able to discover the images of the liberation of Deauville during an exhibition and a conference.

THE STORY

In August 1944, the Côte Fleurie was liberated during "Operation Paddle". Conducted by the 1st British Corps including the troops of the 6th airborne division of Major-General Richard GALE, this operation aimed to free the Normandy coast between Ouistreham and Honfleur, in order to position itself facing the harbor of Le Havre, which is still occupied.
Two units will largely contribute to the success of the Allied troops:
- A brigade composed of Belgian and Luxembourg soldiers in British uniforms and commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel Jean-Baptiste PIRON.
- A Dutch brigade "Princess Irene", under the orders of Lieutenant-Colonel De RUYTER.
These two units will be engaged along the coast, supported by elements of the Oxford & Bukinghamshire Regiment (the "Ox & Bucks of" Pegasus Bridge ") and the Uster Riffles Regiment which will cross the Touques a little to the East of the device while further inland will advance the troops of the 49th West Riding, and those of the 51st Scottish Division.

My travel book

Menu

Côte Fleurie - 18 > 25 août 2019

75ème ANNIVERSAIRE DU DEBARQUEMENT ET DE LA BATAILLE DE NORMANDIE

Les commémorations de libération de la Côte Fleurie prennent une ampleur particulière en 2019 avec la présence d’un détachement des forces armées belges, de l’Armée Française, des ambassadeurs de Belgique et du Pérou, mais aussi des derniers vétérans de la « Brigade PIRON » dont Jorge Sanjinez, 102 ans, engagé volontaire dans la brigade PIRON en 1943. Il viendra du Pérou où il réside. Les commémorations vont se dérouler dans de nombreuses communes de la Côte Fleurie. En outre, à Villers-sur-Mer,  feu d'artifice et bal marqueront l'anniversaire. Les visiteurs pourront aussi découvrir les images de la libération de Deauville dans le cadre d'une exposition et d'une conférence.

L'HISTOIRE

En août 1944, la Côte Fleurie est libérée lors de l’ « opération Paddle ». Menée par 1er Corps britannique dont les troupes de la 6° division aéroportée du major-general Richard GALE, cette opération avait pour objectif de libérer la côte normande entre Ouistreham et Honfleur, afin de se positionner face au port du Havre encore occupé.
Deux unités vont largement contribuer au sucés des troupes alliées :
- Une brigade composée de soldats belges et luxembourgeois sous uniformes britanniques et commandés par le lieutenant-colonel Jean-Baptiste PIRON.
- Une brigade néerlandaise « Princesse Irène », sous les ordres du lieutenant-colonel De RUYTER.
Ces deux unités vont être engagées le long de la côte, appuyées par des éléments du Oxford & Bukinghamshire Regiment ( les « Ox & Bucks de « Pegasus Bridge » ) et de l’ Uster Riffles Regiment qui franchiront la Touques un peu à l’Est du dispositif tandis que plus à l’intérieur des terres progresseront les troupes de la 49e West Riding, et celles de la 51e division écossaise.