French Dutch English German Spanish

Nicholas angelich

Musician

Born in the United States in 1970, Nicholas Angelich gave his first concert at the age of 7 and entered at the age of 13 at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris and studied with Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Béroff. He also works with Marie-Françoise Bucquet, Leon Fleischer, Dmitri Bashkirov and Maria Joao Pires. He won in Cleveland the 2nd Prize of the R.Casadesus International Competition, the 1st Prize of the Gina Bachauer International Competition. Under the sponsorship of Leon Fleischer, he received in Germany the prize for young talents from the "Klavierfestival Ruhr". At the Victoires de la Musique Classique 2013, he received the Victory of the “Instrumental Soloist of the Year. "

A great performer of the classical and romantic repertoire, he gives the complete Liszt Years of Pilgrimage. He is also interested in twentieth century music: Messiaen, Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, Eric Tanguy, Bruno Mantovani with which he creates Suonare, Pierre Henry with which he creates the Concerto without orchestra for piano as well as the concerto by Baptiste Trotignon, Different Spaces (CD at Naïve). In May 2003, he made his debut with the New York Philharmonic and Kurt Masur (Beethoven n ° 5). Still under his direction, but with the National Orchestra of France, he toured Japan (Brahms n ° 2). Vladimir Jurowski invited him in October 2007 to open the season in Moscow with the National Orchestra of Russia.

Nicholas Angelich has performed with the biggest orchestras in the world - Boston, Los Angeles, Montreal, Paris, London, Stockholm, Zurich, Mariinsky - under the direction of Kurt Masur, Myung-Whun Chung, Charles Dutoit, Tugan Sokhiev, Daniel Harding , Sir Colin Davis, Valery Gergiev, Yannick Nézet-Seguin, Paavo Järvi, Christian Zacharias and Michel Gielen.

Discography: Chez Erato, of which he is the exclusive artist: de Brahms the Quartets, the Trios with Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, the Sonatas for violin and piano with Renaud Capuçon (Diapason d'or, Choc / Monde de la Musique, Editor Choice / Gramophone ), two recitals (Choc du Monde de la Musique, BBC Music Choice), the Concertos with the Frankfurt Radio Orchestra and Paavo Järvi, chamber music by Gabriel Fauré and the Goldberg Variations by JS Bach, a Chopin recital , Schumann, Liszt (Classica Shock). Last publication: Beethoven's Triple Concerto with Gil Shaham, Anne Gastinel, the Frankfurt Radio Orchestra and Paavo Järvi (naïve.). Last publication in September 2018: a recording of Beethoven's concertos 4 & 5 with the Insula Orchestra and Laurence Equilbey.

It was in 1997 that Nicholas Angelich founded with Renaud Capuçon, Jérôme Ducros and Jérôme Pernoo the Deauville Easter festival to which he has always remained faithful.

My travel book

Nicholas Angelich

Musicien

Né aux États Unis en 1970, Nicholas Angelich donne son premier concert à 7 ans et entre à 13 ans au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris et étudie avec Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Béroff. Il travaille aussi avec Marie-Françoise Bucquet, Leon Fleischer, Dmitri Bashkirov et Maria Joao Pires. Il remporte à Cleveland le 2ème Prix du Concours International R.Casadesus, le 1er Prix du Concours International Gina Bachauer. Sous le parrainage de Leon Fleischer, il reçoit en Allemagne le prix des jeunes talents du « Klavierfestival Ruhr ». Aux Victoires de la Musique Classique 2013, il reçoit la Victoire du « Soliste Instrumental de l’Année. »

Grand interprète du répertoire classique et romantique, il donne l’intégrale des Années de Pèlerinage de Liszt. Il s’intéresse également à la musique du vingtième siècle : Messiaen, Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, Eric Tanguy, Bruno Mantovani dont il crée Suonare, Pierre Henry dont il crée le Concerto sans orchestre pour piano ainsi que le concerto de Baptiste Trotignon, Different Spaces (CD chez Naïve). En mai 2003, il fait ses débuts avec le New York Philharmonic et Kurt Masur (Beethoven n°5). Toujours sous sa direction, mais avec l’Orchestre National de France, il effectue une tournée au Japon (Brahms n°2). Vladimir Jurowski l’invite en octobre 2007 à faire l’ouverture de la saison à Moscou avec l’Orchestre National de Russie.

Nicholas Angelich s’est produit avec les plus grands orchestres mondiaux – Boston, Los Angeles, Montréal, Paris, Londres, Stockholm, Zurich, Mariinsky – sous la direction de Kurt Masur, Myung-Whun Chung, Charles Dutoit, Tugan Sokhiev, Daniel Harding, Sir Colin Davis, Valery Gergiev, Yannick Nézet-Seguin, Paavo Järvi, Christian Zacharias et Michel Gielen.

Discographie : Chez Erato, dont il est artiste exclusif : de Brahms les Quatuors, les Trios avec Renaud et Gautier Capuçon, les Sonates pour violon et piano avec Renaud Capuçon (Diapason d’or, Choc/Monde de la Musique, Editor Choice/Gramophone), deux récitals (Choc du Monde de la Musique, BBC Music Choice), les Concertos avec l’Orchestre de la Radio de Francfort et Paavo Järvi, la musique de chambre de Gabriel Fauré et les Variations Goldberg de J.S. Bach, un récital Chopin, Schumann, Liszt (Choc de Classica). Dernière parution : le Triple Concerto de Beethoven avec Gil Shaham, Anne Gastinel, l’Orchestre de la Radio de Francfort et Paavo Järvi (naïve.). Dernière parution en Septembre 2018 : un enregistrement des concertos 4&5 de Beethoven avec l’Insula Orchestra et Laurence Equilbey.

C’est en 1997 que Nicholas Angelich fonda avec Renaud Capuçon, Jérôme Ducros et Jérôme Pernoo le festival de Pâques de Deauville auquel il est toujours resté fidèle.