French Dutch English German Spanish

Bruno barbey

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2015

© Bruno Barbey
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Deauville: 1966-2015, A crazy allure

In August 1966, Bruno Barbey was reporting to Deauville for Vogue. Fifteen images from this report, largely forgotten, are the starting point for a return to Deauville, 50 years later. A return to the scene to take a new look in fifteen new images, on a Deauville which is no longer the same by a photographer who remains himself.

This perspective was presented simultaneously to the great Bruno Barbey retrospective, in October 2015 by the MEP (European House of Photography) in Paris.

When Bruno Barbey arrived in 1966, Deauville, still in the spotlight, now revealed itself in a new face. A few months earlier, the film A man and a woman by Claude Lelouch wins the Palme d'Or at the Cannes festival. Bruno Barbey goes through and reproduces the rituals of the summer of 1966. He walks the beach and the boards, attends the races, photographs the owners, the players and the jockeys. He also photographs the final of the Polo tournament, where he observes from a distance the accomplices conversations of Jean-Claude Brialy, Régine and Marie Bell, or those of Maurice Chevalier with Lucien Barrière. It restores the atmosphere of Fur Night in a festive and elegant casino, mixes with his British colleagues for the arrival, at Deauville airport, of Prince Philip of Edinburgh, before attending the sales of yearlings.

With this same curiosity, sharpened by 50 years of reporting, Bruno Barbey returns to capture the Deauville of spring and summer 2015. For Planche (s) Contact 2015, Bruno Barbey exhibited this singular project illustrating 50 years of photographic practice. Planche (s) Contact thus continues its Magnum Photos cooperation, initiated in previous years with the reception of Lise Sarfati (2010) and then Harry Gruyaert (2013).

Bruno Barbey was born in Morocco. He studied photography at the School of Arts and Crafts in Vevey, Switzerland. From 1961 to 1964, he photographed Italians with the idea of ​​capturing the spirit of a nation and painting a portrait of a nation. In the 60s, "Editions Rencontres" commissioned him to produce a series of books on European and African countries. At that time, he regularly collaborated with Vogue magazine. In 1964, he joined the magnum Photos agency, of which he became a member in 1968. That year, he covered the demonstrations of May 1968 in Paris, as well as in Tokyo. Ten years later, between 1979 and 1981, he photographed Poland at a turning point in its history and published his work in a world-wide book. He was Magnum Vice President for Europe in 1978 and 1979 and President of Magnum International from 1992 to 1995.

For 50 years Bruno Barbey has covered many conflicts around the world. Although not strictly speaking a "war photographer", he covered the war in Nigeria, Vietnam, the Middle East, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Northern Ireland, Iraq and Kuwait.

Bruno Barbey is known for his particularly free and harmonious use of color. He has photographed a lot of Morocco, the country of his childhood. In 1999, the Musée du Petit Palais in Paris organized a large exhibition of his photos, taken over a period of thirty years. He has received numerous awards for his work, including the “Order of Merit”. His photos are exhibited all over the world and are part of numerous Museum collections, notably those of the George Pompidou Center, the National Library of Paris, the Institut du Monde Arabe, the Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Istanbul Modern and the Museum of Art in Seoul. His work has been published in major international magazines such as Life, Time, National Geographic, Stern, Paris Match ou The London Sunday Times.

Exhibitions 2015

Deauville 1966-2015: "A crazy allure", Deauville, France.
Morocco: A Scorching Beauty, The Empty Quarter Gallery, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
China since 1973, F11 Photographic Museum, Hong Kong.
Passages. Retrospective, European House of Photography, Paris, France.

In addition to Bruno Barbey's exhibition at Planche (s) Contact, the European House of Photography in Paris presents the exhibition "Bruno Barbey, Passages", from November 12, 2015 to January 17, 2016.

Thierry Grillet, member of the 2015 jury and director of cultural action at the BnF on Deauville: 1966-2015, A crazy allure

"Bruno Barbey was 25 in Deauville in 1966. Fifty years later Planche (s) Contact offers him the opportunity to come back. by putting his steps as a world-renowned photographer back into those of the unknown he was then, he turns on himself. The photos date and the things and the look. So all these photos are first of all the story of that gaze, which sees and surprises itself in the mirror, fifty years apart. But they also date with Deauville. Because this report questions the concordance of times. Has Deauville remained the same? Is it this essence that crosses time, unalterable with its shopping, its beach, its casino? Or is it this substance which changes, corrupts and renews itself? From this dialectical turnstile, Bruno Barbey leaves by showing a lot of permanence, and a few novelties. Sign that this eye knows how to distinguish between deep changes and others. 
What has changed in the city? First the condition of the body: the cult of elegance was added the cult of performance - with these images of thousands of triathlon athletes. Dresses and suits against wetsuits in neoprene. Then, the emergence of a new world: here is Asia, attractive, which walks in the races, on the boards and in the evenings ... Deauville is, in its way, globalized. However, beyond the documentary glance, these shots have another dimension, that of mediation over time. Who better besides than a photographer, master of the instant and the duration, could thus, could thus better than anyone who measure the passing of time? Photography cannot deny it. It is by nature nostaligic and never ceases, by recording the fleeting, to nourish the search for lost time ...
"

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Bruno Barbey

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

© Bruno Barbey
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Deauville : 1966-2015, Une allure folle

En août 1966, Bruno Barbey est en reportage à Deauville pour Vogue. Quinze images de ce reportage, en grande partie oublié, sont le point de départ d'un retour sur Deauville, 50 ans après. Un retour sur les lieux pour porter un nouveau regard en quinze nouvelles images, sur un Deauville qui n'est plus le même par un photographe qui reste lui-même.

Cette mise en perspective était présentée simultanément à la grande rétrospective Bruno Barbey, en octobre 2015 par la MEP (Maison Européenne de la Photographie) à Paris.

Lorsque Bruno Barbey arrive en 1966, Deauville, encore sous les feux des projecteurs, se révèle désormais sous un nouveau visage. Quelques mois auparavant, le film Un homme et une femme de Claude Lelouch remporte la Palme d'or du festival de Cannes. Bruno Barbey parcourt et restitue les rituels de l'été 1966. Il arpente la plage et les Planches, assiste aux courses, photographie les propriétaires, les joueurs et les jockeys. Il photographie aussi la finale du tournoi de Polo, où il observe à distance les conversations complices de Jean-Claude Brialy, Régine et Marie Bell, ou celles de Maurice Chevalier avec Lucien Barrière. Il restitue l'ambiance de La Nuit de la fourrure dans un casino festif et élégant, se mêle à ses confrères britanniques pour l'arrivée, sur l'aéroport de Deauville, du Prince Philip d'Edimbourg, avant d'assister aux ventes de yearlings.

Avec cette même curiosité, affutée par 50 ans de reportages, Bruno Barbey revient saisir le Deauville du printemps et de l'été 2015. Pour Planche(s) Contact 2015, Bruno Barbey a exposé ce projet singulier illustrant 50 ans de pratique photographique. Planche(s) Contact poursuit ainsi sa coopération Magnum Photos, amorcée les années précédentes avec l'accueil de Lise Sarfati (2010) puis d'Harry Gruyaert (2013).

Bruno Barbey est né au Maroc. Il a étudié la photographie à l'Ecole des Arts et Métiers de Vevey, en Suisse. De 1961 à 1964, il photographie les Italiens avec l'idée de capter l'esprit d'une nation et de dresser par l'image le portrait d'une nation. Dans les années 60, les « Editions Rencontres » lui commandent une série de livres sur les pays Européens et Africains. A cette époque, il collabore régulièrement au magazine Vogue. En 1964, il rentre à l'agence magnum Photos, dont il devient membre en 1968. Cette année-là, il couvre les manifestations de mai 1968 à Paris, ainsi qu'à Tokyo. Dix ans plus tard, entre 1979 et 1981, il photographie la Pologne à un tournant de son histoire et publie son travail dans un livre mondialement diffusé. Il a été vice-président de Magnum pour l'Europe en 1978 et 1979 et président de Magnum International de 1992 à 1995.

Pendant 50 ans Bruno Barbey a couvert de nombreux conflits dans le monde. Bien qu'il ne soit pas à proprement parler un « photographe de guerre », il a couvert la guerre au Nigéria, au Vietnam, au Moyen-Orient, au Bangladesh, au Cambodge, en Irlande du Nord, en Irak et au Koweït.

Bruno Barbey est connu pour son usage particulièrement libre et harmonieux de la couleur. Il a beaucoup photographié le Maroc, pays de son enfance. En 1999, le Musée du Petit Palais à Paris a organisé une grande exposition de ses photos, réalisées sur une période de trente ans. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail, dont « l'Ordre du mérite ». Ses photos sont exposées partout dans le monde et font parties de nombreuses collections de Musées, notamment celles du Centre George Pompidou, de la Bibliothèque Nationale de Paris, de l'Institut du Monde Arabe, du Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, de l'Istanbul Modern et du Museum of Art de Seoul. Son travail a été publié dans les plus grands magazines internationaux tels que Life, Time, National Geographic, Stern, Paris Match ou The London Sunday Times.

Expositions 2015

Deauville 1966-2015 : « Une allure folle », Deauville, France.
Morocco : A Scorching Beauty, The Empty Quarter Gallery, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
China since 1973, F11 Photographic Museum, Hong Kong.
Passages. Rétrospective, Maison européenne de la photographie, Paris, France.

En parallèle à l'exposition de Bruno Barbey à Planche(s) Contact, la Maison Européenne de la Photographie à Paris présente l'exposition "Bruno Barbey, Passages", du 12 novembre 2015 au 17 janvier 2016.

Thierry Grillet, membre du jury 2015 et directeur de l'action culturelle de la B.n.F. à propos de Deauville : 1966-2015, Une allure folle

"Bruno Barbey avait 25 ans à Deauville en 1966. Cinquante ans après Planche(s) Contact lui offre la possibilité de revenir. en remettant ses pas de photographe mondialement reconnu dans ceux de l'inconnu qu'il était alors, il fait un tour sur lui-même. Les photos datent et les choses et le regard. Aussi toutes ces photos sont-elles d'abord l'histoire de ce regard, qui voit et se surprend dans le miroir, à cinquante ans de distance. Mais elles prennent date aussi avec Deauville. Car ce reportage interroge la concordance des temps. Deauville est-elle demeurée la même ? Est-ce cette essence qui traverse la durée, inaltérable avec ses courses, sa plage, son casino ? Ou bien est-elle cette substance qui s'altère, se corrompt et se renouvelle ? De ce tourniquet dialectique, Bruno Barbey sort en donnant à voir beaucoup de permanences, et un peu de nouveautés. Signe que cet oeil sait distinguer entre les changements profonds et les autres. 
Qu'est-ce qui a changé dans la ville ? D'abord la condition des corps : au culte de l'élégance s'est ajouté le culte de la performance - avec ces images de milliers d'athlètes du triathlon. Robes et costumes contre combinaisons en néoprène. Ensuite, l'irruption d'un monde nouveau : voici l'Asie, séduisante, qui se promène aux courses, sur les planches et dans les soirées... Deauville s'est, à sa manière, mondialisée. Toutefois, au-delà du coup d'oeil documentaire, ces clichés ont une autre dimension, celle d'une médiation dans le temps. Qui mieux d'ailleurs qu'un photographe, maître de l'instant et de la durée, pouvait ainsi, pouvait ainsi mieux que quiconque mesurer le temps qui passe ? La photographie ne peut s'en défendre. Elle est par nature nostaligique et ne cesse, en enregistrant la fugace, de nourir la recherche du temps perdu...
"