Abdoulaye Barry

Young Talent Springboard 2019

© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019

Between men and the sea

Abdoulaye Barry, born in 1980 in N’Djamena in Chad, fell in love with photography in 1996. On that year, his uncle made him the most beautiful gift ever: a camera. Since then, Abdoulaye Barry has been working as a professional photographer during ceremonies: baptisms, weddings, funerals... Later on, he had the chance to attend photographic workshops held in Africa and in Europe. It was the start of a new beginning.
Today, he collaborates with ONGs, international newspapers and magazines like Jeune Afrique, Afrique Magazine, Africa 24 Magazine etc. In the 5 latest years, he has been focusing on his personal work and made several series including Enfants de rue à N’Djamena that was awarded with the Jury Prize at the African Photography Encounters, a biennial exhibition held in Mali.
His works promote a citizen dynamics and offer a new perspective on certain social phenomena. He invites the observer to open up to men and women - in their life context and the battles they face the best they can - reminding us that fate does not exist, that we can get out of bad situations and build a better future.
 
In Deauville, he focuses on the links existing between men and the sea, as he comes from a Sahelien country without any access to the sea.

Open every day from October 19th to November 3rd, and from December 21st to January 5th.
Open on Saturday and Sunday from November 4th to December 20th.
Opening hours: 10:30 am > 1 pm – 2:30 pm > 6:30 pm.

Menu

Abdoulaye Barry

Tremplin Jeune Talent 2019

© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Abdoulaye Barry pour Planche(s) Contact 2019

Entre les hommes et la mer

Né en 1980 à N’Djamena au Tchad, Abdoulaye Barry se passionne pour la photographie en 1996, année au cours de laquelle son oncle lui fit le plus beau des cadeaux : un appareil photo. Depuis ce moment-là, Abdoulaye Barry a réalisé de nombreux reportages pour des cérémonies : baptêmes, mariages, funérailles… Il a ensuite eu la chance de bénéficier de formations lors d’ateliers de photographie en Afrique et en Europe, qui lui ont donné une nouvelle ouverture et un virage à son parcours.
Aujourd’hui, il collabore avec des ONG, des journaux et des magazines internationaux, comme Jeune Afrique, Afrique Magazine, Africa 24 Magazine etc. Ces cinq dernières années, il s’est concentré sur son travail personnel et a réalisé plusieurs séries, dont Enfants de rue à N’Djamena ayant remporté le Prix du jury à la biennale africaine de la photographie, Les Rencontres de Bamako au Mali.
Ses travaux s’efforcent d’insuffler une dynamique citoyenne, en invitant à regarder autrement certains phénomènes sociaux. Il essaie aussi de donner envie d’aller à la rencontre des hommes et des femmes qui - dans leur cadre de vie et dans les combats qu’ils mènent avec les moyens qui sont les leurs -  nous rappellent qu’il n’y a pas de fatalité, que l’on peut se sortir des mauvaises situations et bâtir un avenir meilleur.
 
A Deauville, il a porté son attention sur les liens qu’entretiennent les hommes avec la mer, lui qui vient d'un pays sahélien dépourvu de tout accès à la mer.

Ouvert tous les jours du 19 octobre au 03 novembre, et du 21 decembre au 5 janvier.
Du 4 novembre au 20 décembre : ouvert les samedis et dimanches.
Horaires : 10h30 > 13h – 14h30 > 18h30.