Fred Bernard

Guest of the 2018 Books & Music Festival

Fred Bernard published in 1996 his first youth albums: Mon ami crocodile with Albin Michel Jeunesse (author-illustrator), Warf, le pirate with PH Turin by Seuil (illustrator) and La reine des fourmis a disparu (writer) by Albin Michel, in collaboration with François Roca, awarded with several prizes (Goncourt jeunesse 1997, prix Sorcières 1996, prix Jérôme Main). Then, he made one or two albums per year with François Roca and L’Arche de Nino with his friend Nino Ferrer.
In May 2001, coming back from a journey in Africa, he explored the world of comics with La Tendresse des crocodiles. These works were followed by L’Ivresse du poulpe, Lily Love Peacock, La Paresse du panda… and many more. He got inspiration from the anecdotes of his grandfather, a former wine-grower, to publish at the end of 2013 Chroniques de la vigne with Glénat.

In 2016, his love for the Comté department – and good things in general - made him publish Chroniques de la fruitière, with the same publisher. Tireless and curious storyteller, he loves experimenting different types of writing and uses real-life models to re-invent them.
He lives in Paris and in the Bourgogne department.

Menu

Fred Bernard

Invité au Festival Livres & Musiques 2018

Fred Bernard publie en 1996 ses premiers albums jeunesse : Mon ami crocodile, chez Albin Michel Jeunesse comme auteur-illustrateur, dessine Warf, le pirate avec PH Turin au Seuil et écrit La reine des fourmis a disparu chez Albin Michel avec François Roca, qui remporte plusieurs prix (Goncourt jeunesse 1997, prix Sorcières 1996, prix Jérôme Main). Puis il réalise un ou deux albums par an avec François Roca, ainsi que L’Arche de Nino avec son ami Nino Ferrer.
En mai 2001, c’est en rentrant d’Afrique qu’il se lance dans la bande dessinée avec La Tendresse des crocodiles. Suivront entre autres L’Ivresse du poulpe, Lily Love Peacock, La Paresse du panda… Il s’inspire des anecdotes de son grand-père vigneron pour publier fin 2013 Chroniques de la vigne chez Glénat.

En 2016, son amour du Comté – et des bonnes choses en général – le pousse à récidiver avec Chroniques de la fruitière, chez le même éditeur. Infatigable conteur et curieux, il adore essayer tous les types d’écrits et joue de ses modèles pour mieux les réinventer.
Il partage son temps entre Paris et la Bourgogne.