French Dutch English German Spanish

BOOK LIST - 2020 CITY OF DEAUVILLE PRIZE
The six books in competition for the Prix de la Ville de Deauville 2020. The winner will be awarded on Saturday April 4 during the Festival.

AKIRA MIZUBAYASHI
Broken Soul - Gallimard Editions

Tokyo, 1938. Four amateur musicians passionate about Western classical music meet regularly at the Cultural Center to rehearse. Around Japanese Yu, an English teacher, three Chinese students, Yanfen, Cheng and Kang, remained in Japan, despite the war in which the expansionist policy of the Empire is plunging Asia.
One day, the rehearsal is brutally interrupted by the arrival of soldiers. Yu's violin is broken by a soldier, the Sino-Japanese quartet is on board, suspected of plotting against the country. Concealed in a wardrobe, Rei, the eleven-year-old son of Yu, attended the scene. He will never see his father again ... The child escapes the violence of the soldiers thanks to Lieutenant Kurokami who, far from denouncing him when he discovers him in his hiding place, entrusts him with the destroyed violin. This event constitutes for Rei the first injury that will mark her whole life ...
In this novel with delicate charm, Akira Mizubayashi explores the question of memory, uprooting and impossible mourning. We find there the themes dear to the author of a language from elsewhere: literature and music, two forms of art which, deepening over time until becoming the very substance of life , defy death. 

LOLA GRUBER
Three concerts - Editions Phébus

As a closed and silent child, Clarisse seems to hear sounds a second early. Could music save her from isolation? At seven, she provokes chance by becoming a pupil of Viktor Sobolevitz. And shares with this famous and misanthropic master the same uncompromising love of art. But to make a career in music, you need more than talent. Unprepared for competition, the young cellist will soon learn it ... When she meets Rémy Nevel, a music, media and ambitious critic, her destiny could change. Even if it means losing a few illusions in passing, Lola Gruber, mixing the scores of these three characters, offers us an extraordinary initiation novel, which is also a reflection on our thirst for purity and recognition.

JULIEN DECOIN
Turntables - Threshold Editions

Jean, an elderly writer, lives in a former convent, not far from Paris. One evening, returned by train, he stops in the PMU bar in the village. To take a drink. To be alone among others. The vision of a young blonde woman, singer of an amateur group, will awaken the past.
It was in 1976. The young novelist was then in writing residency in the United States and sought to slag. In the corridor of a bar, he meets Platinum, crazy rock star of the New York underground. From this furtive encounter, he drew a book which appeared in 1978 and won the Goncourt Prize. A few months later, she agrees, against all odds, to play her own role in adapting the novel that he has to produce himself. It is the beginning of their adventure, but he remains the little "Frenchie" in the dizziness of Manhattan. And love stories often come to an end. This will smash him.
To accept to see Marie, the young singer without great talent, with the same platinum blondness, is to run the risk of stirring up painful memories whose isolation is supposed to protect him. It also opens up a chance: that of writing again.
Julien Decoin signs a novel that is both nostalgic and extremely contemporary, in a punk and romantic spirit, on a sustained rhythm, and inspired by the extravagant character of Debbie Harry, from the group Blondie.

ERIC FAYE
Chopin's telegraph operator - Threshold Editions

Prague, autumn 1995: a resident pretends to "receive" at her home the visit of an illustrious composer, of whom she has the privilege to bring to the attention of the greatest number the scores he dictates to her over the course of their meetings. To the point of seducing a record company. Except that the great man in question is called Frédéric Chopin, and that he died in Paris, a century and a half earlier ...
Deception? Mystification? Such, in any case, is the very natural feeling of Ludvík Slaný, journalist, when he is about to investigate this story on behalf of the television of a state which has recently emerged from the communist era.
Then begins a ghost hunt, between obtuse materialism and beliefs of all kinds, spies converted into private investigators, supporters of an old order metamorphosed into young wolves of the new regime, where a peaceful retired canteen reveals to an upset world the share of shadow and madness on which he reinvents himself.


KAROL BEFFA, GUILLAUME METAYER & ALEKSI CAVAILLEZ
Ravel, a musical imagination - Delcourt Editions

1936. Ravel sets out to tell his story to his faithful friend and disciple Roland-Manuel. We are witnessing the creation of Gaspard de la nuit, Daphnis and Chloé, the Concerto for the left hand and the Boléro. The musician embarks on a
variegated evocation of his life, woven of unwavering friendships and musical brilliance, where we meet Debussy, Fauré, Ida Rubinstein or Colette. And his most famous and numerous compositions are located in the context (references, tribute, influences, etc.) of their creation.

ALEXIS RAGOUGNEAU
Opus 77 - Editions Viviane Hamy

“One day, in a thousand years, an archaeologist will explore your refuge. He will understand that the military work has been recycled as a hermitage. And if he has the idea of ​​scratching under paint or lime, he will unearth colorful frescoes entitled The Life of David Claessens in seven paintings. I know them by heart, they are forever engraved in my poor memory, I can describe them to you, if you want to make your imagination work:
The child prodigy chooses his way.
It arouses hopes and ambitions.
The son stumbles, moves away, rehashes.
In his exile, the child becomes a man.
The prodigal son, trying to return to his home, goes astray.
Wounded, he wasted away in his concrete prison.
But unlike New York tapestries, your story is ongoing; we have a few pictures left to write, you and me, and I don't despair of getting you out of the bunker one day. The key to your enclosure, cell 77, I have it, David. Me, Ariane, your sister. "

Menu

BOOK LIST - PRIX DE LA VILLE DE DEAUVILLE 2020
Les six livres en compétition pour le Prix de la Ville de Deauville 2020. Le lauréat sera remis samedi 4 avril pendant le Festival.

AKIRA MIZUBAYASHI​
Ame Brisée – Editions Gallimard

Tokyo, 1938. Quatre musiciens amateurs passionnés de musique classique occidentale se réunissent régulièrement au Centre culturel pour répéter. Autour du Japonais Yu, professeur d’anglais, trois étudiants chinois, Yanfen, Cheng et Kang, restés au Japon, malgré la guerre dans laquelle la politique expansionniste de l’Empire est en train de plonger l’Asie.
Un jour, la répétition est brutalement interrompue par l’irruption de soldats. Le violon de Yu est brisé par un militaire, le quatuor sino-japonais est embarqué, soupçonné de comploter contre le pays. Dissimulé dans une armoire, Rei, le fils de Yu, onze ans, a assisté à la scène. Il ne reverra jamais plus son père... L’enfant échappe à la violence des militaires grâce au lieutenant Kurokami qui, loin de le dénoncer lorsqu’il le découvre dans sa cachette, lui confie le violon détruit. Cet événement constitue pour Rei la blessure première qui marquera toute sa vie...
Dans ce roman au charme délicat, Akira Mizubayashi explore la question du souvenir, du déracinement et du deuil impossible. On y retrouve les thèmes chers à l’auteur d’une langue venue d’ailleurs : la littérature et la musique, deux formes de l’art qui, s’approfondissant au fil du temps jusqu’à devenir la matière même de la vie, défient la mort. 

LOLA GRUBER
Trois concerts - Editions Phébus

Enfant fermée et silencieuse, Clarisse semble entendre les sons avec une seconde d'avance. La musique pourrait-elle la sauver de l'isolement ? À sept ans, elle provoque le hasard en devenant l'élève de Viktor Sobolevitz. Et partage avec ce maître célèbre et misanthrope le même amour intransigeant de l'art. Mais pour faire carrière dans la musique, il faut que plus que du talent. Peu préparée à la compétition, la jeune violoncelliste va bientôt l'apprendre... Lorsqu'elle rencontre Rémy Nevel, un critique musical, médiatique et ambitieux, son destin pourrait basculer. Quitte à perdre, au passage, quelques illusions.Entremêlant les partitions de ces trois personnages, Lola Gruber nous offre un roman d'initiation hors-normes, qui est aussi une réflexion sur notre soif de pureté et de reconnaissance.

JULIEN DECOIN
Platines – Editions Seuil

Jean, un écrivain âgé, vit retiré dans un ancien couvent, pas très loin de Paris. Un soir, revenu par le train, il s'arrête dans le bar PMU du village. Pour boire un verre. Pour être seul au milieu des autres. La vision d'une jeune femme blonde, chanteuse d'un groupe amateur, va réveiller le passé.
C'était en 1976. Le jeune romancier est alors en résidence d'écriture aux États-Unis et cherche à s'encanailler. Dans le couloir d'un bar, il croise Platine, rock star déjantée du New York underground. De cette furtive rencontre, il tire un livre qui paraît en 1978 et remporte le prix Goncourt. Quelques mois plus tard, elle accepte, contre toute attente, de jouer son propre rôle dans l'adaptation du roman qu'il doit réaliser lui-même. C'est le début de leur aventure, mais il demeure le petit " Frenchie " dans les vertiges de Manhattan. Et les histoires d'amour ont souvent une fin. Celle-ci le fracassera.
Accepter de voir Marie, la jeune chanteuse sans grand talent, à la même blondeur platinée, c'est courir le risque de remuer des souvenirs douloureux dont l'isolement est censé le protéger. C'est aussi s'ouvrir une chance : celle d'écrire à nouveau.
Sur un rythme soutenu, et inspiré par le personnage extravagant de Debbie Harry, du groupe Blondie, Julien Decoin signe un roman à la fois nostalgique et extrêmement contemporain, dans un esprit punk et romantique.

ERIC FAYE
Le télégraphiste de Chopin – Editions Seuil

Prague, automne 1995 : une habitante prétend " recevoir " chez elle la visite d'un compositeur illustre dont elle a le privilège de porter à l'attention du plus grand nombre les partitions qu'il lui dicte au fil de leurs rencontres. Au point de séduire une maison de disques. Sauf que le grand homme en question s'appelle Frédéric Chopin, et qu'il est mort à Paris, un siècle et demi plus tôt...
Supercherie ? Mystification ? Tel est, en tout cas, le sentiment bien naturel de Ludvík Slaný, journaliste, au moment où il s'apprête à enquêter sur cette histoire pour le compte de la télévision d'un État sorti depuis peu de l'ère communiste.
Commence alors une chasse au fantôme, entre matérialisme obtus et croyances en tout genre, espions reconvertis en enquêteurs privés, tenants d'un ordre ancien métamorphosés en jeunes loups du nouveau régime, où une paisible cantinière à la retraite révèle à un monde bouleversé la part d'ombre et de folie sur lequel il se réinvente.


KAROL BEFFA, GUILLAUME METAYER & ALEKSI CAVAILLEZ
Ravel, un imaginaire musical – Editions Delcourt

1936. Ravel entreprend de conter son histoire à son fidèle ami et disciple Roland-Manuel. On assiste à la création de Gaspard de la nuit, de Daphnis et Chloé,du Concerto pour la main gauche et du Boléro. Le musicien se lance dans une
évocation bigarrée de sa vie, tissée d’amitiés indéfectibles et de fulgurances musicales, où l’on croise Debussy, Fauré, Ida Rubinstein ou Colette. Et ses plus célèbres et nombreuses compositions sont resituées dans le contexte (références, hommage, influences, etc.) de leur création.

ALEXIS RAGOUGNEAU
Opus 77 -  Editions Viviane Hamy

« Un jour, dans mille ans, un archéologue explorera ton refuge. Il comprendra que l’ouvrage militaire a été recyclé en ermitage. Et s’il lui vient l’idée de gratter sous la peinture ou la chaux, il exhumera des fresques colorées intitulées La Vie de David Claessens en sept tableaux. Je les connais par cœur, ils sont gravés à tout jamais dans ma médiocre mémoire, je peux vous les décrire, si vous voulez faire travailler votre imaginaire :
L’enfant prodige choisit sa voie.
Il suscite espoirs et ambitions.
Le fils trébuche, s’éloigne, ressasse.
Dans son exil, l’enfant devient un homme.
Le fils prodigue, tentant de regagner son foyer, s’égare.
Blessé, il dépérit dans sa prison de béton.
Mais à la différence des tapisseries de New York, ton histoire est en cours ; il nous reste quelques tableaux à écrire, toi et moi, et je ne désespère pas de te faire sortir un jour du bunker. La clé de ton enclos, de ta cellule 77, c’est moi qui l’ai, David. Moi, Ariane, ta sœur. »