French Dutch English German Spanish

BOOKING LIST - 2018 CITY OF DEAUVILLE PRIZE
The six books in competition for the 2018 Prix de la Ville de Deauville. The winner will be known on March 24 and the prize will be awarded on Saturday April 14 during the Festival.

CÉCILE BALAVOINE
Maestro - Mercure de France
"It is so much joy, these first three chords which make my whole room resonate, the phrasing which flies away, the triplets which slide and which take me with them beyond the garden, the score bordered by a border green, baroque. Above, we read the name of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. This name, I repeat in my head, it only makes one and very long word, hard to say, like Azay-le-Rideau. Volfgangamadéoussemozare, Volfgangamadéoussemozare. "
At nine, Cécile discovers the music of Mozart, and it is a revelation. Some children invent imaginary friends, others worship fictional characters. For little Cécile, the greatest hero is called Mozart! She loves him without sharing and like a god.
Become a journalist, Cécile's passion remains intact. She now has an intimate knowledge of Mozart's work. The day she has to interview a renowned conductor, she does not know that her life will change. At the end of the line, the voice of the maestro disturbs him as had disturbed and bewitched the music of Mozart years before ... But do we fall in love with a voice, even that of a great maestro?
Maestro is the first novel by Cécile Balavoine.

STEPHANIE KALFON
Erik Satie's umbrellas - Joëlle Losfeld Editions
In 1901, Erik Satie was thirty-four years old. Without resources and without professional future, he abandons Montmartre and the Auberge du Chat Noir for a sordid suburban room where, wedged between two out of tune pianos and fourteen identical umbrellas, he drinks as much, or more, than he composes. Critical observer of his contemporaries, the man portrayed by Stéphanie Kalfon is also a brilliant and whimsical creator: he condemns the lack of originality of the musical society of the time, and his refusal of the rules earned him the incomprehension and the rejection of his teachers at the Conservatory.

AKIRA MIZUBAYASHI
A love of a Thousand Years - Gallimard
Sen-nen - Japanese first name whose meaning will not be revealed until late - is married to Mathilde, a Frenchwoman. A former professor of French literature at a university in Tokyo, Sen-nen now lives in Paris with his wife, suffering from a serious illness which forces him to keep the room. Both music lovers, they got to know each other during a music workshop in France. Long before that, in Paris, Sen-nen had met the capital of a singer, Clémence, who sang Suzanne in Les Noces de Figaro. Dazzled, he had attended all the performances and had become friends with her. Years later, when he lost sight of her, he received a message from Clémence: Les Noces are given back to the Opera, in the original staging which she is responsible for supervising. Mathilde lets her husband meet the past, for a long conversation in which music and love will take center stage.

PASCAL QUIGNARD
In this garden we loved - Grasset
The Reverend Simeon Pease Cheney is the first modern composer to have noted all the songs of the birds which he had heard, during his ministry, come and chirp in the garden of his cure, during the years 1860-1880.
He noted down to the drops of the poorly closed water supply in the watering can on the pavement of his yard.
He transcribed to the peculiar sound made by the coat rack in the corridor when the wind rushed into the trench coats and the pilgrims in winter.
I was bewitched by this strange presbytery suddenly become audible, and I began to be happy in this garden obsessed with the love that this man had for his disappeared wife.

ERIC REINHARDT
The spouses' room - Gallimard
Nicolas, in his forties, is a music composer. One day, his wife Mathilde learns that she has a serious breast cancer that requires intense chemotherapy. As Nicolas prepares to leave his work behind to take care of her, Mathilde urges her to finish the symphony he has started. She tells him that she needs to enroll her forces in a joint fight. Nicolas, transfigured by this vital issue, plays Mathilde every evening, on the piano, in their bedroom, the husband's room, the symphony he writes to help him heal.
Inspired by what he himself experienced with his wife while he was writing his novel Cinderella ten years ago, Éric Reinhardt delivers here a striking meditation on the power of beauty, art and love, which can literally save lives.

ALEXANDRE THARAUD
Show me your hands - Grasset
"My hands, I'm willing to show them to you. White, venous, nothing extraordinary. "
It is with the modesty of great artists that Alexandre Tharaud, flagship pianist of his generation, tells us about his profession. Memory after memory, he gives us his doubts, his deep convictions, his most intimate habits.
What are the differences between Bach and Ravel, in contact with the public? Between the box of the Symphony Hall in Boston and that of the Musikverein in Vienna? Between the public of Tokyo and that of Paris? What is the feeling of the keys under the fingers?
Over the answers appears a man who devotes every measure of the score of his life - each note, each silence, each sigh - to music.

My travel book

BOOK LIST - PRIX DE LA VILLE DE DEAUVILLE 2018
Les six livres en compétition pour le Prix de la Ville de Deauville 2018. Le lauréat sera connu le 24 mars et le prix remis samedi 14 avril pendant le Festival.

CÉCILE BALAVOINE
Maestro - Mercure de France
« C'est tant de joie, ces trois premiers accords qui font résonner toute ma chambre, les phrasés qui s'envolent, les triolets qui glissent et qui m'emportent avec eux au-delà du jardin, la partition bordée d'un liseré vert, baroque. Dessus, on lit le nom de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Ce nom-là, je le répète dans ma tête, ça ne fait plus qu'un seul et très long mot, dur à dire, pareil qu'Azay-le-Rideau. Volfgangamadéoussemozare, Volfgangamadéoussemozare. »
À neuf ans, Cécile découvre la musique de Mozart, et c’est une révélation. Certains enfants s’inventent des amis imaginaires, d’autres vouent un culte à des personnages de fiction. Pour la petite Cécile, le plus grand des héros s’appelle Mozart ! Elle l’aime sans partage et comme un dieu.
Devenue journaliste, la passion de Cécile demeure intacte. Elle a désormais une connaissance intime de l’œuvre de Mozart. Le jour où elle doit interviewer un chef d’orchestre de renom, elle ne sait pas que sa vie va basculer. Au bout du fil, la voix du maestro la trouble comme l’avait troublée et envoûtée la musique de Mozart des années auparavant… Mais tombe-t-on amoureuse d’une voix, fût-elle celle d’un grand maestro ?
Maestro est le premier roman de Cécile Balavoine.

STÉPHANIE KALFON
Les parapluies d’Erik Satie - Joëlle Losfeld Editions
En 1901, Erik Satie a trente-quatre ans. Sans ressources et sans avenir professionnel, il délaisse Montmartre et l'auberge du Chat Noir pour une chambre de banlieue sordide où, coincé entre deux pianos désaccordés et quatorze parapluies identiques, il boit autant, ou plus, qu'il compose. Observateur critique de ses contemporains, l'homme dépeint par Stéphanie Kalfon est aussi un créateur brillant et fantaisiste : il condamne l'absence d'originalité de la société musicale de l'époque, et son refus des règles lui vaut l'incompréhension et le rejet de ses professeurs au Conservatoire.

AKIRA MIZUBAYASHI
Un amour de Mille-Ans - Gallimard
Sen-nen – prénom japonais dont la signification ne se révélera que tardivement – est marié à Mathilde, une Française. Ancien professeur de littérature française dans une université à Tokyo, Sen-nen vit désormais à Paris avec sa femme, atteinte d’une grave maladie qui l'oblige à garder la chambre. Tous deux mélomanes, ils se sont connus lors d’un stage de musique en France. Bien avant cela, à Paris, Sen-nen avait fait la rencontre capitale d’une cantatrice, Clémence, qui chantait Suzanne dans Les Noces de Figaro. Ébloui, il avait assisté à toutes les représentations et s’était lié d’amitié avec elle. Des années plus tard, alors qu’il l’a perdue de vue, il reçoit un message de Clémence : Les Noces sont redonnées à l’Opéra, dans la mise en scène originelle qu’elle est chargée de superviser. Mathilde laisse son mari aller à la rencontre du passé, pour une longue conversation dans laquelle la musique et l’amour tiendront une place centrale.

PASCAL QUIGNARD
Dans ce jardin qu’on aimait - Grasset
Le révérend Simeon Pease Cheney est le premier compositeur moderne à avoir noté tous les chants des oiseaux qu’il avait entendus, au cours de son ministère, venir pépier dans le jardin de sa cure, au cours des années 1860-1880.
Il nota jusqu’aux gouttes de l’arrivée d’eau mal fermée dans l’arrosoir sur le pavé de sa cour.
Il transcrivit jusqu’au son particulier que faisait le portemanteau du corridor quand le vent s’engouffrait dans les trench-coats et les pèlerines l’hiver.
J’ai été ensorcelé par cet étrange presbytère tout à coup devenu sonore, et je me suis mis à être heureux dans ce jardin obsédé par l’amour que cet homme portait à sa femme disparue.

ÉRIC REINHARDT
La chambre des époux - Gallimard
Nicolas, une quarantaine d’années, est compositeur de musique. Un jour, sa femme Mathilde apprend qu’elle est atteinte d’un grave cancer du sein qui nécessite une intense chimiothérapie. Alors que Nicolas s’apprête à laisser son travail en plan pour s’occuper d’elle, Mathilde l’exhorte à terminer la symphonie qu’il a commencée. Elle lui dit qu’elle a besoin d’inscrire ses forces dans un combat conjoint. Nicolas, transfiguré par cet enjeu vital, joue chaque soir à Mathilde, au piano, dans leur chambre à coucher, la chambre des époux, la symphonie qu’il écrit pour l’aider à guérir.
S’inspirant de ce qu’il a lui-même vécu avec son épouse pendant qu’il écrivait son roman Cendrillon voilà dix ans, Éric Reinhardt livre ici une saisissante méditation sur la puissance de la beauté, de l’art et de l'amour, qui peuvent littéralement sauver des vies.

ALEXANDRE THARAUD
Montrez-moi vos mains - Grasset
« Mes mains, je veux bien vous les montrer. Blanches, veineuses, rien d’extraordinaire. »
C’est avec la modestie des grands artistes qu’Alexandre Tharaud, pianiste phare de sa génération, nous parle de son métier. Souvenir après souvenir, il nous livre ses doutes, ses convictions profondes, ses habitudes les plus intimes.
Quelles sont les différences entre Bach et Ravel, au contact du public ? Entre la loge du Symphony Hall de Boston et celle du Musikverein de Vienne ? Entre le public de Tokyo et celui de Paris ? Quelle est la sensation des touches sous les doigts ?
Au fil des réponses apparaît un homme qui consacre chaque mesure de la partition de sa vie – chaque note, chaque silence, chaque soupir – à la musique.