French Dutch English German Spanish

Charlotte bovy

Photographer

Charlotte bovy

Guest of the Photo4Food Foundation at the 2020 Contact Plates festival

After studying literature and theater in New York, Charlotte Bovy turned to photography. His first exhibitions immediately reveal his attraction for black and white and question our relationship to time and oblivion. She manipulates her images and uses them as a material in the search for other images. Cut out, recomposed, reassembled, fragmented, his photographic images are often used in order to draw a new image, this one being the work itself. In 2018, she exhibited in Paris the Fragment (s) series, a farewell ceremony to the century-old pines of the Villa Medici which were felled. This series marks the beginning of his reflection on the memorial power of trees, both intimate and collective.

Normandy is home to some of the oldest trees in France. These old gentlemen are the guardians of our history, the symbols of our municipalities. They are centuries old, sometimes millennia, and have been marked by the life in their flesh. They are symbols of wisdom, longevity, boldness and serenity.
Standing at the foot of the tree, observing it, imposes silence, forces us to think about what opposes the ephemeral and the lasting, to confront a temporality that is not that of man. To paint their portrait is to tame their mysteries and our past.

Charlotte bovy

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Photo4Food Foundation's mission is to finance meals for the most disadvantaged through the sale of art photos taken by young artists, and the reception of donations from the public. These artists donated some of their works for the benefit of the foundation. The foundation, to thank and encourage them, also promotes their work to a large community of enthusiasts and buyers, in particular by organizing exhibitions of the main works. www.fondationphoto4food.com

Auction: October 23, 2020 - Salle des Fêtes - 118 ter, Avenue de la République. 

Exhibition from October 17 to January 3, 2020 - On Deauville beach, in front of the Point de vue. 

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Charlotte Bovy

Photographe

Charlotte Bovy

Invitée de la Fondation Photo4Food au festival planches contact 2020

Après des études de littérature et de théâtre à New York, Charlotte Bovy se tourne vers la photographie. Ses premières expositions révèlent tout de suite son attrait pour le noir et blanc et questionnent notre rapport au temps et à l’oubli. Elle manipule ses images et les utilise comme un matériau dans la recherche d’autres images. Découpées, recomposées, rassemblées, fragmentées, ses images photographiques sont souvent exploitées afin d’en tirer une nouvelle image, celle-ci étant l’oeuvre elle-même. En 2018 elle expose à Paris la série Fragment(s), une cérémonie d’adieux aux pins centenaires de la Villa Médicis qui furent abattus. Cette série marque le début de sa réflexion quant au pouvoir mémoriel des arbres, tant intime que collectif.

La Normandie abrite certains des plus vieux arbres de France. Ces vieux messieurs sont les gardiens de notre Histoire, les symboles de nos communes. Ils sont centenaires, parfois millénaires et ont été marqués par la vie dans leur chair. Ils sont symboles de sagesse, de longévité, d’hardiesse et de sérénité.
Se tenir au pied de l’arbre, l’observer, impose de faire silence, oblige à penser à ce qui oppose l’éphémère et le durable, à se confronter à une temporalité qui n’est pas celle de l’homme. Faire leur portrait c’est apprivoiser leurs mystères  et notre passé.

Charlotte Bovy

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

La Fondation Photo4Food a pour mission de financer des repas pour les plus démunis grâce à la vente de photos d'art réalisées par de jeunes artistes, et à la réceptio de dons du public. Ces artistes ont fait don de quelques unes de leurs oeuvres au profit de la fondation. La fondation, pour les remercier et les encourager, promeut, par ailleurs leur travail auprès d'une large communauté de passionnés et d'acheteurs, notamment en organisant des expositions des principales oeuvres. www.fondationphoto4food.com

Vente aux enchères : 23 octobre 2020 - Salle des fêtes - 118 ter, Avenue de la République. 

Exposition du 17 octobre au 3 janvier 2020 - Sur la plage de Deauville, en face du Point de vue.