Visit
April 19, 2024

Café Court goes to the net!

Renovated and redesigned, the Tennis Club de Deauville's restaurant is a favorite with players... and others.

The Café Court restaurant in Deauville ©Lucas Thirion-Tournois
Lucas Thirion-Tournois

Between two matches or two swims, all appetites are catered for!

On the courts of the Deauville tennis club, sets are hard-fought. But not at Café Courtthe on-site restaurant, as the tables are devoid of them. But that hasn't stopped people from flocking here since the restaurant was renovated. Warmly decorated in the Norman spirit (half-timbered walls, terracotta floor tiles), the club house (posters, rackets) is enhanced by a beautiful fireplace: all the furniture has been changed and the paintwork redone to give customers a warm welcome. Ideally situated between the beach, Les Planches and the Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****, it's a welcome refuge for hungry athletes and thirsty holidaymakers alike. On the sunny terrace or by the fireplace, the gourmet tea-time is perfect for waiting out the lessons of budding young tennis players, or simply taking a break from a day at the beach. Lunchtime is perfect for all types of racket, with a quality menu packed with variety.

At Café Courtthe culinary exchange is always a winner, and the quality of service ensures an ace every time!

 

Le Café Court, a new restaurant at Deauville tennis ©Lucas Thirion-Tournois / Leajournalist
©Lucas Thirion-Tournois / Leajournalist

Top seed: a tennis pro from Deauville

frédéric_torres_730x440

The owner is anything but an unknown to aficionados. At 61 years of age, he wears a dashing hat, Frédéric Torres has just added another string to his sieve, as he was already in charge of teaching tennis and padel at the club.

"When the owner of the restaurant decided to hang up, I decided to take up the gauntlet, because it's an important place for the club," comments this former top player, who knows all too well the importance of comfort after the effort.

Originally from the Paris region, Frédéric Torres has been deeply attached to Deauville since his earliest childhood. "Deauville is the town of my heart, the one I'm so proud to have become an economic player in," he says, unable to count the thousands of hours he spent on the courts pounding the yellow felt in his youth. Reminiscing nostalgically about the Montana Cup in the 70s, which brought together the crème de la crème of pro tennis, Frédéric Torres is delighted to be staging an ITF Future tournament in Deauville for the first time. ITF Future tournament tournament with $25,000 in prize money from May 20 to 26, 2024. Taking part will be the world's top juniors as well as players ranked between the 200ᵉ and 400ᵉ place on the ATP. 

A smash card!

A lively atmosphere guaranteed at Café Court. As on the adjacent clay court, the first returns of service were positive. The master of the house gives all the credit to his new doubles partner, chef Stan. The 35-year-old from Rouen is no stranger to the Côte Fleurie either. After making a name for himself as a caterer in Trouville-sur-Mer, he worked at MB Primeur on the peninsula and then at Villa Joséphine, on the edge of Tourgéville. The menu is based on simple, healthy proposals in thespirit of snacking. Like this plate of red label salmon flanked by roasted eggplant, fennel and cauliflower (€26), or this pasta with homemade tomato sauce (€12, like the cheeseburger). The meat comes from the Éleveurs de Charentonne group, a guarantee of nobility. And mouth-watering salads are set to be a hit with the arrival of fine weather. As for desserts - with the exception of ice cream from local celebrity Martine Lambert - they're all made on site, from orange blossom cake to seasonal fruit tarts and Greek yoghurts.

In short, as you can see, sports enthusiasts (and others) are safe from a setback - sliced or otherwise - at Café Court. Even those who prefer their coffees long!

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Le
19 avril 2024

Café court monte au filet !

Refait à neuf et repensé, le restaurant du Tennis Club de Deauville est plébiscité par les joueurs… et les autres.

Le restaurant Café Court à Deauville ©Lucas Thirion-Tournois
©Lucas Thirion-Tournois

Entre deux matchs ou entre deux baignades, tous les appétits y sont accueillis !

Sur les terrains du tennis club de Deauville, les sets sont disputés. Mais pas au Café Court, le restaurant des lieux, puisque les tables en sont dépourvues. Ce qui n’empêche pas qu'on s'y bouscule déjà depuis sa rénovation. Décoration chaleureuse dans l’esprit normand (colombages au mur, tomettes au sol) et club house (affiches, raquettes), renforcée par une belle cheminée : tout le mobilier a été changé et les peintures refaites pour accueillir en fanfare les clients. Idéalement situé entre la plage, les Planches et l'Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****, c'est un refuge opportun pour les sportifs affamés comme pour les vacanciers assoiffés. Sur la terrasse ensoleillée ou près de la cheminée, le tea-time gourmand est parfait pour patienter pendant les leçons des jeunes tennismen en herbe, ou simplement pour faire une pause lors d'une journée à la plage. La pause déjeuner s'adapte à toutes les raquettes avec une carte de qualité, garnie de diversité.

Ainsi, au Café Court, l'échange culinaire est toujours gagnant et la qualité du service assure un ace à tous les coups !

 

Le Café Court, nouveau restaurant au tennis de Deauville ©Lucas Thirion-Tournois / Leajournalist
©Lucas Thirion-Tournois / Leajournalist

En tête de série : un pro des tennis deauvillais

frédéric_torres_730x440

Le maître des lieux est tout sauf un inconnu pour les aficionados. À 61 ans, qu’il porte fringants, Frédéric Torres vient d’ajouter une corde à son tamis puisqu’il chapeautait déjà l’enseignement du tennis et du padel au club.

Quand le concessionnaire du restaurant a choisi de raccrocher, j’ai décidé de relever le gant, car c’est un lieu de vie important pour le club” commente cet ancien très bon joueur qui connaît trop bien l’importance du réconfort après l’effort.

D’origine francilienne, Frédéric Torres nourrit un profond attachement à Deauville depuis sa plus tendre enfance. “Deauville, c’est la ville de mon cœur, celle dont je suis si fier d’être devenu un acteur économique” s’épanche-t-il, incapable de comptabiliser les milliers d’heures passées sur les courts à martyriser la feutrine jaune dans sa jeunesse. Se remémorant avec nostalgie les grandes heures de la Coupe Montana qui convoquait le gratin du tennis pro dans les années 70, Frédéric Torres se réjouit d’organiser à Deauville pour la première fois un tournoi Futur ITF doté de 25 000 dollars de prix du 20 au 26 mai 2024. Y participeront les meilleurs juniors mondiaux ainsi que des joueurs classés entre la 200ᵉ et la 400ᵉ place à l’ATP. 

Une carte qui smash !

Ambiance survoltée garantie à Café Court. Comme sur la terre battue adjacente, les premiers retours de service claquent positivement. Le maître de céans en attribue tout le mérite à son nouveau partenaire de double, le cuisinier Stan. Ce Rouennais de 35 ans n’est pas non plus un inconnu sur la Côte Fleurie. Après s’être fait apprécier comme traiteur à Trouville-sur-Mer, il a œuvré chez MB Primeur sur la presqu'île puis à la Villa Joséphine, en lisière de Tourgéville. L’option retenue pour la carte est celle de propositions simples et saines dans l'esprit snacking. Comme cette assiette de saumon label rouge flanqué d’aubergine, de fenouil et de chou-fleur rôtis (26€) ou ces pâtes à la sauce tomate maison (12€, comme le cheeseburger). La viande provient du groupement des Éleveurs de Charentonne, gage de noblesse. Et d’alléchantes salades s’apprêtent à faire l’unanimité avec l’arrivée des beaux jours. Quant aux desserts — hormis les glaces de la gloire locale Martine Lambert —  ils sont tous faits sur place, que ce soit le cake à la fleur d’oranger, la tarte aux fruits de saison ou les yaourts à la grecque.

Bref, comme on le constate, les sportifs gourmands (et les autres) sont à l’abri d’un revers — slicé ou non — à Café Court. Même ceux qui préfèrent les cafés allongés !

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture