Calvados Time

Experience unforgettable moments with Norman Calvados producers

Over 60 events are scheduled from May to December 2019

The unprecedented Calvados Time activities are designed to promote spiritourism (tourist activities in regions where spirits are produced) around Calvados, famous Norman spirit. The professionals who worked on this project have let their imagination run wild to organize unique activities in the secret world of spirit cellars and stills: a snack under flowered apple trees, a cocktail-making workshop, a brunch in the fruit orchards or next to the still, a session to create your own Calvados or a night tour with background music. Over 60 events are scheduled at the estate of ten Calvados producers and at Calvados Experience from May to December. In this period, the visitors can follow apple maturation from Spring, when apple trees turn pink in the Norman countryside, to Autumn, when the high number of apples makes fruit orchards turn red and gold.

Meeting Calvados producers, all of them our partners

Calvados Christian Drouin

Calvados Drouin

Guillaume Drouin perpetuates his family traditions and innovates at the same time. In his estate, you can find apple trees, manors, half-timbered outhouses and much more. Pomme prisonnière, about 30 vintage Calvados, Calvados aged in Xérès, Porto or Rivesaltes barrels result from a great passion, awarded with 154 gold medals within 3 generations!

PLAY AND DISCOVER THE ESTATE – CALVADOS QUIZ
Come and discover the estate with your family. While wandering in the fruit orchards and cellars, answer a quiz and become a champion about distillery. A prize is awarded at the end of the game.
On Thursdays, May 2nd and October 24th.

BREAD-MAKING WORKSHOP: MAKE A DOUGH, SHAPE IT AND BAKE IT
An old bread oven has been put back into operation at the estate. Come and make your own bread with cider. Fermentation and cooking will leave you some free time to discover the fruit orchards. Then, come back and taste your own bread.
On Wednesday, July 10th, 17th, 24th and 31st and August 7th, 14th, 21st, 28th from 2 pm to 5:30 pm.

COCKTAIL WORKSHOP
Experience the art of mixology and discover delicious Calvados-based cocktails. Guided by a professional barman, you’ll learn how to blend, shake, mix Calvados with other ingredients, and then taste, of course! Alcohol-free cocktails for the under 18.
On Thursdays, July 11th, August 1st and 22nd at 3 pm and 5 pm

STORYTELLING VISIT AND BUFFET DINNER
The sunset sheds a new light on the fruit orchards and the distillery becomes a mysterious place: the time has come to listen to the apple story. The visit ends with a buffet dinner.
On Thursdays, July 18th and 25th, August 8th and 15th from 6:30 pm to 9 pm.

Prices and booking: www.calvados-drouin.com

Manoir d'Apreval

Manoir d'Apreval

This estate, situated on the heights of Honfleur, was bought by the grandfather of Agathe Letellier at the beginning of the 20th century. Delicious apple juices, ciders and Calvados are obtained from 17 different varieties of organic apples.

CALVADOS, THE SECRET OF THE ANGELS
Once you’ve learned everything about distillation, you can participate to a smelling and tasting workshop to stimulate your senses. Take a seat inside or outside if the weather is nice and taste other spirits produced at the estate like cider or pommeau.
On Thursday, July 11th, on Monday, August 5th, on Tuesday, September 10 and on Friday, October 25th at 11 am.

CALVADOS TAKES CENTRE STAGE
After visiting the half-timbered cellars dating to the 18th century and discovering the Calvados fabrication process, listen to the suggestions of your guide and show your talent as a barman by creating your own cocktail (it must contain Calvados, of course!).
On Thursday, July 4th, on Monday, July 22nd, August 26th, October 28th at 11 am

Prices and booking: www.apreval.com

Château du Breuil

Château du Breuil

This half-timbering castle with pink tiles and varnished bricks was property of noble families. The Château du Breuil company was founded in 1954 by Philippe Bizouard who comes from a family of Calvados distillers. This society, transforming every year about 37 million apples, is now directed by Didier Bédu.

CHATEAU DU BREUIL CELEBRATES SUMMER
Summer is here! Discover the Château du Breuil and the “5 senses” visit. Walk around in the park after the closing time, smell the perfumes of summertime and discover the fabrication secrets of the Calvados AOC Pays d’Auge. The visit ends with a tasting of cocktails served with tapas in the private hall of the Orangerie.
On Friday, June 21st at 7 pm.

LAND AND SEA PAIRINGS
Visit the estate and discover the fabrication secrets of the Calvados Château du Breuil AOC Pays d’Auge. Then find out the best Calvados / seafood pairings by tasting a plate of seafood -directly coming from the Côte Fleurie- in a park with centenary trees.
On Thursday, July 18 at 11 am

PICNIC UNDER THE APPLE TREES
At the end of the guided visit of the distillery, reach the beautiful orchards and receive the picnic you’ll enjoy there. Enjoy this enchanting setting in the countryside.
On Thursday, August 1st at 11 am

BRUNCH AT THE CELLAR
The Château du Breuil organizes a brunch in the hall of the Orangerie, at the heart of the ageing cellars, together with the experts of the Maison. As a drink, taste the most unusual Calvados!
On Sunday, August 25th at 12 pm

Prices and booking: https://chateau-breuil.info

Calvados Expérience

Calvados Expérience

Set in Pont l’Evêque, on the site of the former cellars of Père Magloire Calvados, the Calvados Experience is a world-class attraction for both adults and children. Discover and understand the Calvados fabrication process with a unique, fun and surprising journey available in 8 different languages.

COCKTAIL TIME
After visiting Calvados Expérience and discovering all the secrets of Calvados, you can approach mixology -the art of making cocktails- and prepare Calvados-based cocktails, of course. In partnership with Antoine Garrel, founder of the Cocktail Box.
On Saturday, May 4th and 8th, June 1st and 15th, July 6th and 20, August 10th, 24th and 31st from 4 pm to 6 pm.

COCKTAIL AND CONCERT
After the Calvados Expérience private visit, you can attend a harpsichord and percussion concert, a link between the past and the present, and taste cocktails and Calvados. Consume with moderation. In partnership with the Hameau Fleuri’s concerts.
On Saturday, August 3rd at 8 pm.

Prices and booking: www.calvados-experience.com

How to get there

GOOD TO KNOW

Most visits must be booked in advance. The detailed program is available in the tourism offices of the Calvados region. The “Calvados Time” events can be downloaded from the dedicated page: www.calvadostime.fr.
Calvados Time is coordinated by the local Calvados Attractivité agency to promote spiritourism in Calvados, the French department that gave the name to the famous Norman elixir.
The 2019 edition is launched in collaboration with the tourism offices of Pont l’Evêque Terre d’Auge and Normandie Cabourg Pays d’Auge, and the 11 participating sites.

 

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Consume with moderation.

Menu

Calvados Time

Vivez des moments privilégiés au plus près des producteurs de Calvados normands

De mai à décembre 2019, plus de 60 rendez-vous

Avec Calvados Time, le spiritourisme autour du célébre alcool normand prend de multiples expréiences inédites. Les professionnels ont débordé d’imagination pour faire vivre des moments uniques à leurs visiteurs et leur offrir une immersion dans le monde secret des chais et des alambics : un goûter sous les pommiers en fleurs, un atelier cocktail, un brunch dans les vergers ou près de l’alambic, la création de son propre calvados ou encore une visite nocturne ou en musique... Plus de 60 rendez-vous chez dix producteurs de Calvados et à Calvados Experience sont proposés de mai à décembre, un temps qui permet aussi de suivre le cycle de la pomme depuis le printemps, quand les pommiers rosissent dans la campagne normande, jusqu’à l’automne, quand les tas de pommes colorent les vergers de rouge et d’or.

Les rendez-vous de nos partenaires producteurs

Calvados Christian Drouin

Calvados Drouin

Pommiers, manoirs, dépendances à pans de bois … c’est ici que Guillaume Drouin perpétue les traditions tout en innovant. Pomme prisonnière, quelques 30 Calvados millésimés, des Calvados vieillis en fûts de Xérès, de Porto ou de Rivesaltes sont le fruit d’une passion récompensée en trois générations par 154 médailles d'Or !

DECOUVRIR LE DOMAINE EN JOUANT – QUIZZ’ CALVADOS
Venez découvrir le domaine en famille ; répondez à un quizz tout en parcourant le domaine : dans les vergers, dans les chais … et devenez un champion de la distillerie. Une récompense attend les joueurs à la fin du jeu.
Jeudis 2 mai et 24 octobre

ATELIER PAIN : BOULER, FAÇONNER ET ENFOURNER
Un ancien four à pain a été remis en service sur la propriété : venez fabriquer vous-même votre pain au cidre… levage de la pâte, temps de cuisson… vous laissent le temps de découvrir les vergers et la distillerie avant de déguster votre production.
Les mercredis 10, 17, 24, et 31 juillet et 7, 14, 21 et 28 août de 14h à 17h30

ATELIER COCKTAILS
Initiez-vous à l’art de la mixologie et découvrez qu’il est possible de créer de délicieux cocktails à base de Calvados. Guidé par un barman professionnel, vous apprendrez à blender, shaker, mélanger Calvados et autres ingrédients, avant de déguster votre production ! Cocktails sans alcool pour les moins de 18 ans.
Jeudis 11 juillet, 1er et 22 août à 15h et à 17h

VISITE CONTEE ET DINER BUFFET
En fin de journée, quand la lumière diminue, les vergers ne sont plus les mêmes et la distillerie devient un endroit plus mystérieux : il est l’heure d’écouter l’histoire de la pomme. Un dîner buffet clôturera la visite.
Jeudis 18 et 25 juillet, 8 et 15 août de 18h30 à 21h

Conditions tarifaires et réservation : www.calvados-drouin.com

Manoir d'Apreval

Manoir d'Apreval

Ce domaine, situé sur les hauteurs d’Honfleur, a été acheté par le grand-père d’Agathe Letellier au début du 20e siècle. 17 variétés de pommes cultivées en agriculture biologique permettent l’élaboration de délicieux jus de pomme, cidres et Calvados.

CALVADOS, SECRET DES ANGES
La visite terminée, une fois que la distillation n’aura plus de secret pour vous, vous participerez à un atelier olfactif et gustatif qui vous permettra de titiller vos sens. Selon la météo, sur la terrasse ou en intérieur, vous pourrez prolonger cette halte gourmande en dégustant les autres produits du domaine : cidre, pommeau.
Jeudi 11 juillet et lundi 5 août, mardi 10 septembre et vendredi 25 octobre à 11h

LE CALVADOS FAIT SON SHOW
Après avoir visité les chais à colombages du 18e siècle et découvert le processus de fabrication du Calvados, vous mettrez en pratique vos talets de barman en créant un cocktail selon votre inspiration (mais toujours à base de Calvados !), en suivant les conseils de votre guide.
Jeudi 4 juillet, lundis 22 juillet, 26 août, 28 octobre à 11h

Conditions tarifaires et réservation : www.apreval.com

Château du Breuil

Château du Breuil

Tuiles roses, briques vernissées, colombages… ce château fut au fil des siècles la propriété de nobles familles. La société Château du Breuil a été fondée en 1954 par Philippe Bizouard, dont la famille a distillé du Calvados depuis toujours. Elle est aujourd’hui dirigée par Didier Bédu qui voit 37 millions de pommes passer dans la distillerie tous les ans.

CHATEAU DU BREUIL FETE L’ETE
C’est l’été ! Venez découvrir le Château du Breuil et sa visite "5 sens" autrement. Déambulez dans le parc après sa fermeture, humez les douces odeurs de l’été et découvrez les secrets de fabrication du Calvados AOC Pays d’Auge. A l’issue de la visite,dégustation de cocktails accompagnés de tapas dans le salon privé de l’Orangerie.
Vendredi 21 juin à 19h

ACCORDS TERRE ET MER
Partez à la découverte des secrets de fabrication des Calvados Château du Breuil AOC Pays d’Auge en visitant le domaine et découvrez les accords Calvados / fruits de mer en dégustant dans le parc aux arbres centenaires, un plateau de fruits de mer en provenance directe de la côte Fleurie.
Jeudi 18 juillet à 11h

PIQUE-NIQUE SOUS LES POMMIERS
Après votre visite guidée de la distillerie, vous serez conduits dans les magnifiques vergers où votre pique-nique vous sera livré directement. Un instant de partage dans un cadre enchanteur et champêtre.
Jeudi 1er août à 11h

BRUN’CHAIS
Le Château du Breuil vous propose de prolonger votre visite du domaine par un brunch dans le salon de l’Orangerie, au coeur des chais de vieillissement et en présence des experts de la maison. En guise d’apéritif, dégustation des calvados les plus insolites du château !
Dimanche 25 août à 11h

Conditions tarifaires et réservation : https://chateau-breuil.info

Calvados Expérience

Calvados Expérience

Situé à l’entrée de Pont l’Evêque, sur les anciens chais du Calvados "Père Magloire", Calvados Experience est la visite incontournable qui s’adresse à tous, aux grands comme aux plus jeunes. Un parcours unique, ludique, et étonnant qui permet de découvrir et comprendre la fabrication du Calvados, en 8 langues différentes.

COCKTAIL TIME
Après avoir visité Calvados Expérience et découvert tous les secrets du calvados, vous pourrez découvrir les subtilités de la mixologie, ou l’art de réaliser des cocktails, à base de Calvados, bien sûr. En partenariat avec Antoine Garrel, fondateur de la Cocktail Box.
Samedis 4 et 8 mai, 1er et 15 juin, 6 et 20 juillet, 10, 24 et 31 août de 16h à 18h

COCKTAIL ET CONCERT
Après la visite privée de Calvados Expérience, vous pourrez assistez à un concert pour clavecin et percussion, lien entre le passé et le présent, et déguster cocktails et Calvados. A consommer avec modération ! En partenariat avec les concerts du Hameau Fleuri.
Samedi 3 août à 20h

Conditions tarifaires et réservation : www.calvados-experience.com

Y aller

A SAVOIR...

La plupart des visites se font sur réservation. Le programme détaillé est disponible dans les offices du tourisme du Calvados. L’intégralité des moments "Calvados Time" est téléchargeable sur la page dédiée : www.calvadostime.fr.
Calvados Time est coordonné par l’agence départementale Calvados Attractivité dans le but de promouvoir le spiritourisme dans le Calvados, le département qui a donné son nom au fameux élixir normand.
L’édition 2019 est réalisée en partenariat avec les offices de tourisme Pont l’Evêque Terre d’Auge et Normandie Cabourg Pays d’Auge, et les onze sites participants.

 

L’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.