French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Philippe Chancel

Photographer

Philippe Chancel
Philippe Chancel

Guest at the 2020 Contact Plates Festival

Philippe Chancel, particularly noted for his work on North Korea and his large Data Zone exhibition presented at the Rencontres d'Arles in 2019, offers a reflection on the question of sustainability; through the analysis of key places, the scene of issues, wars or natural disasters (the new silk route, Fukushima, Kabul, the Niger Delta, etc.). In residence in Deauville, he worked on the city as a city / film set, "ideal city".

Born in 1959 in Issy les Moulineaux, Philippe Chancel lives in Paris. For more than twenty years, he has been pursuing a photographic experience in the complex, changing and fertile field, between art, documentary and journalism. A work in constant evolution on the status of images when they confront themselves with what makes "images" in the contemporary world. Introduced to photography at a very young age, Philippe Chancel pursued studies in economics at the University of Nanterre and journalism at the CFPJ in Paris. Successive reports in the former Eastern countries will mark his beginnings in photojournalism. His work has been widely shown and published in France and abroad in the biggest magazines around the world. He gradually affirmed a new approach to documentary photography.
DPRK, his vision of North Korea, was shown for the first time at the Rencontres d'Arles (2006) and it was the subject of a book by Thames & Hudson, which earned him the start of a international recognition. Emirates project was presented for the first time at the 53e Venice Biennale (Abu Dhabi Pavilion), then at the Dreamlands exhibition at the Pompidou Center.

Among his works: Dubaï, by Be-Pôles, Desert Spirit, by Xavier Barral, Emirates Workers, by Bernard Chauveau, as well as Kim Happiness and Drive thru Flint by L'Artiere.

Philippe Chancel is currently working on a new documentary field called Datazone, which seeks to show territories that are overexposed or, on the contrary, unknown to media radars. Finalist of the Prix Pictet 2012 for his work Fukushima: The Irresistible Power of Nature, he exhibited at the Rencontres d'Arles 2013, he was nominated for the first Prix Elysée and winner of the endowment of the Festival Photoreporter in Baie de St Brieuc. In 2017, for its second edition, it received the Fidal Prize for documentary photography. In 2019, he presented Datazone at the Rencontres d'Arles.

IF DEAUVILLE

The Duke of Morny, nephew of Napoleon III, a colorful character and an astute businessman, celebrated the empire in his own way by creating Deauville from scratch. The legend of the prodigious seaside resort is built around this founding myth which has become reality and which gives the impression of an almost too perfect city, of a cinema city, which we still know today; I intend to make an intramural photographic inventory of it as on all the territory which surrounds it. Blonville sur mer, Tourgéville, Saint Arnoult, Vauville, Villers sur mer, Touques, Villerville and others. All along this Norman coast, The events are incessant, the numerous activities, the leisures erected in true art of living: hotels, beaches, casino, horse, well being, architecture and heritage, water sports, tennis, golf and mini-golf , etc. By working on the rigorous framework, at the right distance from the subject so that the images are composed like living and contemporary paintings, allowing the breaks in scales, with a bias of decisive choices, I will try to grasp in any hypothesis than ; if Deauville was shown to me, I would like to see it like that and not otherwise.

Philippe Chancel

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exhibition from October 17 to January 3, 2020
Lucien Barrière walk. Along the Deauville International Center. Access from Boulevard Cornuché.
Olympic swimming pool, Boulevard de la Mer.

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Philippe Chancel

Philippe Chancel, particulièrement remarqué pour son travail sur la Corée du Nord et sa grande exposition Data Zone présentée aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2019, propose une réflexion sur la question de la durabilité ; à travers l’analyse de lieux clés, théâtre d’enjeux, de guerres ou de catastrophes naturelles (la nouvelle route de la soie, Fukushima, Kaboul, le Delta du Niger…). En résidence à Deauville, il a travaillé sur la ville en tant que ville/décor de cinéma, «ville idéale». 

Né en 1959 à Issy les Moulineaux, Philippe Chancel vit à Paris. Depuis plus de vingt ans, il poursuit une expérience photographique dans le champ complexe, mouvant et fécond, entre art, documentaire et journalisme. Un travail en constante évolution sur le statut des images quand elles se confrontent elles-mêmes à ce qui fait "images" dans le monde contemporain. Initié très jeune à la photographie, Philippe Chancel poursuit des études de sciences économiques à l'université de Nanterre et de journalisme au CFPJ de Paris. Des reportages successifs dans les ex-pays de l'Est marqueront ses débuts dans le photojournalisme. Son travail a été largement montré et publié en France et à l'étranger dans les plus grands magazines du monde entier. Il a affirmé progressivement une nouvelle approche de la photographie documentaire.
DPRK, sa vision de la Corée du Nord, a été montré pour la première fois aux Rencontres d'Arles (2006) et il a fait l'objet d'un livre aux éditions Thames&Hudson, ce qui lui a valu le début d'une reconnaissance internationale. Emirates project a été présenté pour la première fois à la 53e Biennale de Venise (Pavillon d'Abou Dhabi), puis à l'exposition Dreamlands au Centre Pompidou.

Parmi ses ouvrages : Dubaï, aux éditions Be-pôles, Desert Spirit, aux éditions Xavier Barral, Emirates Workers, aux éditions Bernard Chauveau, ainsi que Kim Happiness et Drive thru Flint aux éditions l’Artiere.

Philippe Chancel travaille actuellement sur un nouveau terrain documentaire intitulé Datazone, qui cherche à montrer des territoires surexposés ou, au contraire, inconnus des radars médiatiques. Finaliste du Prix Pictet 2012 pour son travail Fukushima : The Irresistible Power of Nature, il expose aux Rencontres d’Arles 2013, il est nominé pour le premier Prix Elysée et lauréat de la dotation du Festival Photoreporter en Baie de St Brieuc. En 2017, pour sa deuxième édition, il reçoit le Prix Fidal de la photographie documentaire. En 2019, il présente Datazone aux Rencontres d’Arles.

Si Deauville m’était montré
Le Duc de Morny, neveu de napoléon III, personnage haut en couleur et homme d’affaire avisé, célébra l’empire à sa manière en créant Deauville de toutes pièces. La légende de la prodigieuse station balnéaire s’est bâtie autour de ce mythe fondateur devenu réalité et qui donne cette impression de ville presque trop parfaite, de ville cinéma, qu’on lui connaît toujours aujourd’hui ; J’ai l’intention d’en faire l’inventaire photographique intramuros comme sur tout le territoire qui l’entoure. Blonville sur mer, Tourgéville, Saint Arnoult, Vauville, Villers sur mer, Touques, Villerville et d’autres. Tout le long de ce littoral normand, Les évènements sont incessants, les activités nombreuses, les loisirs érigés en véritable art de vivre : hôtels, plages, casino, cheval, bien être, architecture et patrimoine, nautisme, tennis, golf et mini-golf, etc. Par un travail sur le cadre rigoureux, à la bonne distance du sujet pour que les images soient composées comme des tableaux vivants et contemporains, autorisant les ruptures d’échelles, avec un parti pris de choix décisifs, je vais chercher à saisir en toute hypothèse que ; si Deauville m’était montré, j’aimerais la voir comme ça et pas autrement.