Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel

Fashion designer (1883 -1971)

It was the Englishman Arthur Capel, nicknamed "Boy", who attracted Coco Chanel to Deauville. A wealthy businessman who had made his fortune in coal freighting, he owned a polo stable. Having become Boy Capel's companion, Coco Chanel developed her business with his help. In 1910, he lent her the funds to open a milliner's salon at 21 rue Cambon in Paris, under the name "Chanel Modes".

In the summer of 1913, while the couple were staying in Deauville, Boy Capel rented a boutique between the casino and the Hôtel Normandy. The sign mentioned her full name: "Gabrielle Chanel". She sells the hats she makes. Inspired by the marinières of fishermen and the deck pants of sailors, she invented a new summer fashion in Deauville, with a modern vision of women and androgynous clothing. The color of wet beach sand inspired Chanel beige. The jockeys' saddlecloths inspired the quilted seams of her handbags... In 1916, she used the beautiful and elegant Adrienne as a model in Deauville. She also took her own silhouette on the road, testing out her new outfits with their extreme simplicity and comfort on European aristocrats still cloaked in pomp and stiff corsets. The boutique is always busy.

The shortage of fabrics due to the First World War, and the relative scarcity of domestic labor, created new needs for women. Chanel, a free and active woman, perceived these needs. She bought whole pieces of jersey from Rodier, then used only for men's underwear. From then on, she imposed casual, practical and aesthetic clothing lines: short pleated skirts, pants or pyjamas to wear on the beach, polo shirts, jodhpurs, jerseys, marinières; an androgynous fashion that found its inspiration on the racecourse, golf course, tennis court, beach and yacht.
"I've given women's bodies back their freedom", said Coco Chanel. The woman who destroyed the fashion of corsets, parade dresses, lingerie and padding created a new silhouette: the woman of the 20th century.

It was also in Deauville in 1920 that she met the Wertheimer family, who supported her business development and financed her first perfumes. In 2010, at the invitation of the town of Deauville, Karl Lagerfeld designed a tribute plaque to be affixed in the immediate vicinity of his boutique, which was one of the cradles of the Chanel adventure. In 2018, Chanel launched its new fragrance Paris-Deauville from Deauville.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel

Créatrice de mode (1883 -1971)

C’est l’anglais Arthur Capel, surnommé "Boy" qui attire à Deauville Coco Chanel. Riche homme d’affaires qui a fait fortune dans les frets charbonniers, il possède une écurie de polo. Devenue la compagne de Boy Capel, Coco Chanel développe ses activités avec l’aide de ce dernier. En 1910, il lui prête les fonds nécessaires pour l'ouverture d'un salon de modiste au 21 rue Cambon à Paris, sous le nom de "Chanel Modes".

A l’été 1913, alors que le couple séjourne à Deauville, Boy Capel loue une boutique entre le casino et l’Hôtel Normandy. L’’enseigne mentionne son nom complet : "Gabrielle Chanel". Elle propose les chapeaux qu’elle réalise. Inspirée par les marinières des pécheurs et les pantalons à pont des marins, elle invente à Deauville une nouvelle mode estivale, avec une vision moderne de la femme et des vêtements androgynes. La couleur du sable mouillé de la plage lui inspire le beige Chanel. Les tapis de selle des jockeys lui inspireront les coutures matelassées de ses sacs à mains… En 1916, elle utilise la belle et élégante Adrienne comme mannequin à Deauville. Elle y promène aussi sa propre silhouette, en testant ses nouvelles tenues contrastant avec leur extrême simplicité et leur confort sous les yeux d'aristocrates européennes encore très couvertes d'apparat et maintenues dans des corsets rigides. La boutique ne désemplit pas.

La pénurie de tissus due à la Première Guerre mondiale, ainsi que la pénurie relative de main-d'œuvre domestique ont créé de nouveaux besoins pour les femmes. Chanel, femme libre et active, perçoit ces besoins. Elle achète à Rodier des pièces entières d'un jersey utilisé à l'époque uniquement pour les sous-vêtements masculins. Elle impose dès lors des lignes de vêtements décontractés, pratiques, esthétiques : des jupes plissées courtes, pantalons ou pyjamas à porter sur la plage, polos, jodhpurs, jerseys, marinières ; une mode androgyne qui trouve son inspiration sur les champs de course, au golf, au tennis, à la plage et sur les yachts.
 "J’ai rendu au corps des femmes sa liberté", dira Coco Chanel. Celle qui a détruit la mode des corsets, des habits de parade, des dessous et des rembourrages a créé une nouvelle silhouette : la femme du XXe siècle.

C’est aussi à Deauville qu’elle rencontre en 1920 la famille Wertheimer qui l’accompagne dans son développement économique et finance ses premiers parfums. En 2010, à l’invitation de la ville de Deauville, Karl Lagerfeld a dessiné une plaque-hommage, apposée à proximité immédiate de sa boutique qui fut l’un des berceaux de l’aventure Chanel. En 2018, Chanel a lancé, depuis Deauville son nouveau parfum : Paris-Deauville.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture