French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Isabelle Chapuis

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2018

© Isabelle Chapuis, for Planche (s) Contact 2018, Deauville
© Isabelle Chapuis, for Planche (s) Contact 2018, Deauville

Anitya

Isabelle Chapuis graduated from ESAG-Penninghen in graphic arts (2005). While she resolutely opted for photography, her gaze turned to creations combining art and fashion. Back in Paris after 2 years of traveling in Asia and the Middle East, Isabelle Chapuis won in 2010 the Picto Prize for Fashion Photography.

In 2012, his series Barbapapa, awarded by the Bourse du Talent Mode, is exhibited at the National Library of France François Mitterrand who integrates it into his photographic collection. She then began to collaborate with different magazines, such as Le Monde Magazine, Citizen K, Paulette, OOB, etc.

Since December 2016, his series ritual entered the permanent collection of the Grand Musée du Parfum in Paris.

About the exhibition of Isabelle Chapuis, Anitya :
While many shores are stripped of their cover of sand, a commodity that has become scarce, the waves of Deauville, they bring this coat back to the shore, making the emblematic beach of this seaside town grow day after day. This sand becomes an icon. Its characteristic wet color is even used as a chromatic reference in Chanel or Pantone shades.
Isabelle Chapuis looks at this sand, an eternal traveler and symbol of all possibilities ...
From the infinitely large to the infinitely small, it evokes human individuality; all alike, but all unique. In its heaps, it becomes abundance; in its lightness it flows, fluid, on the skin like an unbreakable rain; purifier, it is abrasive like fire.

Skin and sand.

Isabelle Chapuis brings them together. One threshold of the physical body, the other edge between land and sea, they respond to each other in metaphors. These two borders then become areas of contact, meetings, ephemeral and sensual dialogues that the photographer captures.
Isabelle Chapuis gives us her vision of time, cyclical and spiral, far from a linear relationship. It is moving. These cycles invoke the myth of the Phoenix: hatching, transformation, passage, dissolution then rebirth.
By turns magical tower of the sandman in the eyes of childhood, material of the alchemist, instrument of creation of the builders of utopia and their castles, collapsing in the narrow passage of the hourglass freemason, is a metaphor for the path from the profane to the initiated ... The sand carries with it the promise of a change, impermanent it images an endless horozon. To resist by Anitya, impermanence in Sanskrit, is according to Buddhism cause of suffering.
Poetic narration marked by an absence of relation to time, giving the sand a taste of eternity.

My travel book

Isabelle Chapuis

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2018

© Isabelle Chapuis, pour Planche(s) Contact 2018, Deauville
© Isabelle Chapuis, pour Planche(s) Contact 2018, Deauville

Anitya

Isabelle Chapuis est diplômée de l’ESAG-Penninghen en arts graphiques (2005). Tandis qu’elle optait résolument pour la photographie, son regard s’est orienté vers des créations conjuguant l’art et la mode. De retour à Paris après 2 ans de voyages en Asie et au Moyen Orient,  Isabelle Chapuis remporte en 2010 le Prix Picto pour la Photographie de Mode. 

En 2012, sa série Barbapapa, primée par la Bourse du Talent Mode, est exposée à la Bibliothèque nationale de France François Mitterrand qui l’intègre dans son fonds photographique. Elle commence alors à collaborer avec différents magazines, tels que Le Monde Magazine, Citizen K, Paulette, OOB, etc. 

Depuis décembre 2016, sa série Rituels est entrée dans la collection permanente du Grand Musée du Parfum à Paris.

A propos de l'exposition d'Isabelle Chapuis, Anitya
Tandis que de nombreuses rives se dénudent de leur couverture de sable, denrée devenue rare, les vagues de Deauville, elles, ramènent ce manteau sur le rivage, faisant croître jour après jour la plage emblématique de cette ville balnéaire. Ce sable en devient une icône. Sa couleur, lorsqu'il est humide, caractéristique, est même utilisée comme référence chromatique en teintes Chanel ou Pantone. 
Isabelle Chapuis porte son regard sur ce sable, éternel voyageur et symbole de tous les possibles...
De l'infiniment grand à l'infiniment petit, il évoque l'individualité humaine ; tous semblables, mais tous uniques. En ses amas, il devient abondance ; en sa légèreté il coule, fluide, sur la peau telle une pluie insasissable ; purificateur, il est abrasif comme le feu. 

La peau et le sable. 

Isabelle Chapuis les rapproche. L'un seuil du corps physique, l'autre lisière entre terre et mer, ils se répondent en métaphores. Ces deux frontières deviennent alors zones de contact, de rencontres, dialogues éphémères et sensuels que la photographe capture. 
Isabelle Chapuis nous livre ainsi sa vision du temps, cyclique et en spirale, loin d'un rapport linéaire. Il est mouvant. Ces cycles invoquent le mythe du Phénix : éclosion, transformation, passage, dissolution puis renaissance. 
Tour à tour atour magique du marchand de sable aux yeux de l'enfance, matière de l'alchimiste, instrument de création des bâtisseurs d'utopie et de leurs châteaux, s'écroulant dans l'étroit passage du sablier franc-maçonnique, ils est métaphore du chemin de l'état de profane à celui d'initié... Le sable porte en lui la promesse d'un changement, impermanent il image un horozon sans fin. Résister par Anitya, l'impermanence en sanskrit, est selon le bouddhisme cause de souffrance. 
Narration poétique marquée d'une absence de rapport au temps, donnant au sable un goût d'éternité.