French Dutch English German Spanish

Emma Charrin

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out © Emma Charrin, for Planche (s) Contact 2017, Deauville
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out © Emma Charrin, for Planche (s) Contact 2017, Deauville

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

Emma Charrin is a plastic photographer born in 1987 in Avignon. For several years, Emma Charrin's photographic practice has been characterized by a fascination for the spectacle. This desire for theater, simulacrum, play, first took the form of narrative and cinematographic staging from its first works, then gradually narrowed towards a research around the notion of decor and potential narrative that it induces.

Inspired by the history and imagery of Deauville, and in the continuity of her previous works, Emma Charrin questions the irruption of fiction into reality through our relationship to space.

Youness Anzane, playwright, about the exhibition by Emma Charrin, There Is A Light That Never Goes Out :
"Eyes absent from ours, because the bodies are turned or well headed, fix another place. Towards what hidden horizon? They wait or listen.
The sound of the waves resounds everywhere in There Is A Light That Never Goes Out. It is the only possible noise. Emma Charrin captures the night life, that of dreams, improbable encounters. Confusion of materials, incongruity of tones (the green eye behind a drape) and attitudes (the face embedded in the fabric of a tent), circumstantial abstractions (blue surfaces, ghosts of a spa or chapel) , it all comes from a world of fringes, from what we neglect in passing, or by going to bed early. The shadow of itself, Deauville is reduced here to its fantasies of stucco and spray.
The only horizon line proposed by the artist dazzles, it seems to refuse to be contemplated, spreads out in mother-of-pearl, like an open, suffering shell. The presence of a single tag reminds us of human fragility, like a black pearl. We are few things.

At the bottom of the turbid sea, lies the esport of a miraculous fishing, sparkling with jewels of crustaceans, whose glares reflect on the city, shaking its eyelids of sleeping beauty. What obsesses us is hybridization, it is light in its artificiality, the embodiment of skin enhanced with brown algae, encrustations, transformations. The city of Emma Charrin is a casino submerged in a glass box, life is a theater."

My travel book

Emma Charrin

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out ©Emma Charrin, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017, Deauville
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out ©Emma Charrin, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017, Deauville

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

Emma Charrin est une photographe plasticienne née en 1987 à Avignon. Depuis plusieurs années, la pratique photographique d’Emma Charrin est caractérisée par une fascination pour le spectacle. Ce désir de théâtre, de simulacre, de jeu, a d’abord pris la forme de mises en scènes narratives et cinématographiques dès ses premiers travaux, puis s’est peu à peu resserré vers une recherche autour de la notion de décor et du potentiel narratif que celui-ci induit.

Inspirée par l’histoire et l’imagerie de Deauville, et dans la continuité de ses travaux précédents, Emma Charrin interroge l'irruption de la fiction dans la réalité à travers notre rapport à l‘espace.

Youness Anzane, dramaturge, à propos de l'exposition d'Emma Charrin, There Is A Light That Never Goes Out : 
"Des regards absents aux nôtres, car les corps sont tournés ou bien étêtés, fixent un ailleurs. Vers quel horizon masqué ? Ils attendent ou bien écoutent. 
Le bruit des vagues résonne partout dans There Is A Light That Never Goes Out. C'est le seul bruit possible. Emma Charrin capte la vie nocturne, celle des rêves, des rencontres improbables. Confusion des matières, incongruité des tons (l'oeil vert derrière un drapé) et des attitudes (le visage encastré dans le tissu d'une tente), abstractions circonstencielles (les surfaces bleues, fantômes d'un spa ou d'une chapelle), tout cela ensemble relève d'un monde des franges, de ce qu'on néglige en passant, ou en se couchant tôt. L'ombre d'elle-même, Deauville est réduite ici à ses fantasmes de stucs et d'embruns. 
La seule ligne d'horizon proposée par l'artiste éblouit, elle semble refuser de se laisser contempler, s'étale en nacres, tel un coquillage ouvert, en souffrance. La présence d'une balise seule rappelle l'humaine fragilité, comme une perle noire. Nous sommes peu de choses. 

Au fond de la mer turbide, gît l'esport d'une pêche miraculeuse, étincelante de joyaux de crustacés, dont les éclats rejaillissent sur la ville, agitant ses paupières de belle endormie. Ce qui nous obsède, c'est l'hybridation, c'est la lumière dans ses artificialités, l'incarnat d'une peau rehaussée d'algues brunes, inscrustations, transformations. La cité d'Emma Charrin est un casino englouti en une boîte de verre, la vie est un théâtre."

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture