French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Le
June 12, 2020

Horse: 5 family activities

In 1863, on the beach reconverted into a galloping track for the time of a tide, the start of the very first Deauville horse race was sounded. Today, Deauville is naturally considered to be the equestrian capital of France. Many champions have taken up residence inDeauville, like Kevin Staut, Olympic champion, and Jean-Claude Rouget, one of the best French coaches. He describes the city as the “Silicon Valley of the horse”. All the champions train inDeauville, why not you?

1. Discovery of the horse and family riding lessons

____________________

Enjoy a special moment together! The Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville offers an activity to live with the family to learn the basics of horse riding. To participate, no level is required: the route is 100% on foot and is for people who have never ridden. For an hour, parents and children will take part in a fun handling course with the equine in hand and succeed in small challenges. Furthermore, this animation provides an introductory polo test with maneuvers taught to handle the mallet.

 

 Book the discovery session here 

 

Intended for families passionate about horses and with a first riding experience, specific lessons allow them to ride in complete privacy. On the program, we find the traditional preparation of the horse in the boxes. Once in the saddle, riders will learn to stop the horse, move it forward and turn. Whether you are a beginner or an expert, the instructor adapts to the level of the participants.

 

 Book the course here 

2. Make a pony baptism

____________________

The initiation to the baby pony is much more than a simple baptism. Accessible from 2 years, it is a whole familiarization with the universe of the horse: specific vocabulary, grooming material, learning of rider reflexes ... The inDeauville equestrian centers offer baptisms adapted to each child and all taught with teaching methods and fun! Depending on your length of stay and your child's wishes, you can choose between a quick 5-minute baptism (at least Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville and Horse Club Feeder) and a more in-depth course of 30 minutes to 1 hour (at Manoir stud farm in Blonville-sur-Mer Equestrian Center and Bellifontaines stables).

 

 All pony baptisms here 

3. Take part in a pony treasure hunt

____________________

Unique experience: a treasure hunt Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville ! Accompanied by his parents, the child becomes a budding detective on a pony's back. Clues to find, puzzles to solve and objects to recover, the little agility course allows the youngest to learn while having fun and parents to accompany them in their first steps as riders. At the end of the course, the child is awarded a "PICdétective" diploma.

 

 Book here 

4. Learn to polo with your family

____________________

Unique in Normandy, the polo school offers private initiations for families. The course is open to everyone, adults and children, beginners as well as experienced riders and people who have never ridden. Within the great arena of Longines International Horse Center - Deauville, Evrard de Spa, founder of the polo school, teaches the techniques of this renowned Argentine sport inDeauville: handling the mallet, approaching the ball, gestures and actions of playing on foot. The first phase of the initiation is done on a wooden horse, in order to assimilate the basic rules of polo and its safety, then on a horse or a polo pony.

 

 Book here 

5. Visit and tasting at Haras d'Ecajeul

____________________

Take the road to Haras d'Ecajeul for a guided tour of the heart of its facilities and meet Jean-Luc and Isabelle, the owners. It all starts in the courtyard, with a presentation of the Pays d'Auge and the quality of its terroir for breeding. During the visit, the entire life cycle of the horse is explained (mating, birth in spring, training, racing) as well as the riding trades. But what is most appealing is the original and famous method used by Jean-Luc for cleaning: the method of whisperers, revealed in the film "The man who whispered in the ears of horses". The visit ends with a taste of local products and pastries concocted by Isabelle.

 

 Read more 

Enlarge
Lower

Eat near horses

____________________

Between La Mangeoire Club Hippique and mini-golf, the restaurant The terrace faces the Etablissement des Bains, a stone's throw from the famous Planches de Deauville. Located on a large sheltered terrace surrounded by horses, this brasserie offers a traditional menu. Closed for the moment

At the brewery The Grand Manège du Longines International Horse Center - Deauville, lunch is taken by the slopes, with a panoramic view of horse training. You can taste simple and homemade dishes such as the goat omelette and the Fish and Chips. Closed for the moment

inDeauville, it is also possible to picnic next to the horses! Tables arranged on theMarais picnic area face the meadow of the Blonville-sur-Mer Equestrian Center.

Sleeping in a stud farm

____________________

You can also spend a night at Haras d'Ecajeul, which has 3 bedrooms that can accommodate 2 to 8 people: a unique opportunity to sleep surrounded by horses. On the ground floor, a large stone fireplace brings a warm touch to the living room. In fine weather, visitors take advantage of the terrace and garden furniture to have breakfast with a view of the horses.

Leo Lemasson

All addresses

Indeauville horse

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Cheval : 5 activités à faire en famille

En 1863, sur la plage reconvertie en piste de galop le temps d’une marée, on sonnait le départ de la toute première course hippique deauvillaise. Aujourd’hui, Deauville est naturellement considérée comme la capitale équestre de l’hexagone. De nombreux champions ont élu domicile inDeauville, à l’instar de Kevin Staut, champion olympique, et Jean-Claude Rouget, l’un des meilleurs entraîneurs français. Il décrit la ville comme la « Silicon Valley du cheval ». Tous les champions s’entraînent inDeauville, pourquoi pas vous ?

1. Parcours à pied en famille

____________________

Profitez d’un moment privilégié tous ensemble ! Le Pôle International du Cheval Longines – Deauville propose une activité à vivre en famille pour apprendre les bases de l’équitation. Pour participer, aucun niveau n’est requis : le parcours se fait 100% à pied et s’adresse aux personnes qui ne sont jamais montées à cheval. Pendant une heure, parents et enfants vont effectuer un parcours de maniabilité ludique avec l’équidé en main et réussir des petits défis. Plus encore, cette animation prévoit une épreuve d’initiation au polo avec des manœuvres enseignées pour manier le maillet.

2. Faire un baptême de poney

____________________

L’initiation au baby-poney est bien plus qu’un simple baptême. Accessible dès 2 ans, c’est toute une familiarisation avec l’univers du cheval : vocabulaire spécifique, matériel de pansage, apprentissage des réflexes de cavalier… Les centres équestres inDeauville proposent des baptêmes adaptés à chaque enfant et tous enseignés avec des méthodes pédagogiques et ludiques ! En fonction de votre durée de séjour et des envies de votre enfant, vous avez le choix entre un rapide baptême de 5 minutes (au Pôle International du Cheval Longines – Deauville et à la Mangeoire Club Hippique) et un cours plus approfondi de 30 minutes à 1h (au Haras du Manoir, au Centre Equestre de Blonville-sur-Mer et aux Ecuries Bellifontaines).

 

3. Participer à une chasse au trésor à poney

____________________

Expérience inédite : une chasse au trésor au Pôle International du Cheval Longines – Deauville ! Accompagné par ses parents, l’enfant s’improvise détective en herbe à dos de poney. Indices à trouver, énigmes à résoudre et objets à récupérer, le petit parcours d’agilité permet aux plus jeunes d’apprendre tout en s’amusant et aux parents de les accompagner dans leurs premiers pas en tant que cavaliers. A la fin du parcours, l’enfant se voit délivré un diplôme "PICdétective".

4. S'initier au polo en famille

____________________

Unique en Normandie, l'école de polo propose des initiations privatives à faire en famille. Le cours est ouvert à tous, adultes comme enfants, cavaliers débutants comme confirmés et aux personnes n’ayant jamais monté à cheval. Au sein du grand manège du Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville, Evrard de Spa, fondateur de l'école de polo, enseigne les techniques de ce sport argentin si réputé inDeauville : maniement du maillet, abords de la balle, gestes et actions de jeu à pied. La première phase de l’initiation se fait sur un cheval de bois, afin d’assimiler les règles de base du polo et sa sécurité, puis sur un cheval ou un poney de polo.

5. Visite et dégustation au Haras d'Ecajeul

____________________

Prenez la route direction le Haras d’Ecajeul pour une visite guidée au cœur de ses installations et rencontrez Jean-Luc et Isabelle, les propriétaires. Tout commence dans la cour, avec une présentation du Pays d’Auge et de la qualité de son terroir pour l'élevage. Au cours de la visite, tout le cycle de vie du cheval est expliqué (la saillie, la naissance au printemps, l’entraînement, les courses) ainsi que les métiers de l’équitation. Mais ce qui interpelle le plus, c’est la méthode originale et réputée utilisée par Jean-Luc pour le débourrage : la méthode des chuchoteurs, révélée dans le film "L’homme qui murmurait à l’oreille des chevaux". La visite se conclut avec un goûter à base de produits locaux et de pâtisseries concoctées par Isabelle.

 

 En savoir plus 

Agrandir
Réduire

Manger près des chevaux

____________________

Entre La Mangeoire Club Hippique et le mini-golf, le restaurant La Terrasse fait face à l’Etablissement des bains, à deux pas des célèbres Planches de Deauville. Installée sur une grande terrasse abritée entourée par des chevaux, cette brasserie propose une carte traditionnelle.

A la brasserie Le Grand Manège du Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville, le déjeuner se prend au bord des pistes, avec une vue panoramique sur l’entraînement des chevaux. On y déguste des plats simples et faits maison tels que l'omelette au chèvre et le Fish and Chips.

inDeauville, il est également possible de pique-niquer à côté des chevaux ! Les tables aménagées sur l’Aire de pique-nique du Marais font face au pré du Centre Equestre de Blonville-sur-Mer.

Dormir dans un haras

____________________

Vous pouvez également passer une nuit au Haras d’Ecajeul, qui dispose de 3 chambres permettant d’accueillir 2 à 8 personnes. Une opportunité unique de dormir entourés de chevaux et de les voir depuis la terrasse de la maison au petit-déjeuner.

Léo Lemasson

Toutes les adresses

Le cheval indeauville