Cinema: 10 mythical filming locations to visit

Main photo Road Trip cinema
Patrick Tourneboeuf

Numerous images come to mind when evoking the Côte Fleurie and the cinema. Silhouettes of legendary actors in settings and light that are naturally attractive to the cameras: filming and vacationing "professionals of the profession" have been intertwined since the 1920s. "A Monkey in Winter", "A Man and a Woman", "The Four Hundred Blows"... We have selected for you the ten filming locations in Deauville that have marked the 7th art, where you can replay your own version of the film. Motor, action!

1. In the footsteps ofUn Singe en hiver in Villerville

____________________

What more can be said about a film that has become a national monument through countless television reruns? .... A Monkey in Winter forever changed the modest seaside resort of Villerville when it welcomed, in the winter of 1961-1962, the film crew of Henri Verneuil with its two stars, Jean Gabin and Jean-Paul Belmondo. To be faithful to Antoine Blondin's novel, the town was renamed Tigreville. A great novel, two actors at the top, amazing dialogues, an efficient direction and an isolated town under the winter rain are the keys to the success of a film that has become part of our collective memory. The filming locations, still visible today and symbolized by totems in the center of Villervilleare to be discovered during a walking tour. The Cabaret Normand - the famous café where Jean-Paul Belmondo ordered a Picon-bière after his arrival in Tigreville - and the Hôtel Stella, held by Jean Gabin, are some of the places you can discover with this walk.

 

City of Villerville
villerville_-_cabaret_normand_-_dbl_721x500
Delphine Barré-Lerouxel
un_singe_en_hiver_c_jackson_721x500
Jackson

2. the cliffs Falaises des Vaches Noires

____________________

In 1955, it is in Villers-sur-Meron the beach at the foot of the cliffs of the Vaches noiresthat François Truffaut set up his camera to film the famous final scene of the film The Four Hundred Blows, which all film lovers around the world have in mind. The young Jean-Pierre Léaud takes advantage of a soccer match to escape from a center for delinquents. The tracking shot starts in the countryside, then the kid arrives on the beach, goes down a staircase and runs towards the sea, puts his feet in the water, turns around and gives a camera look that freezes on the word "End".

 

Forty years later, in 1995, Claude Lelouch chose the beach of Villers-sur-Mer as the setting for several sequences of his film Les Misérables. The filmed shots require the construction of a village where the Thénardier couple's inn is located. In a scene in which the inn is partially set on fire, the poorly controlled fire destroys it entirely. Claude Lelouch, frightened to see his set go up in smoke, still has the conscience to let the cameras roll and decides to integrate the fire into his film, which will give the sequence its realistic and dramatic aspect. The other piece of bravery of the shooting at Villers-sur-Mer was the beach reenactment of the June 6, 1944 D-Day landing on Omaha Beach, with hundreds of extras, amphibious tanks and paratroopers in the Norman sky. The sequence shot in one day is remembered by all Villersois.

 

Black Cows
Julien Boisard
Black Cows
Patrice Le Bris

3. The beach of Deauville and its famous boards

____________________

In 1965, Claude Lelouch escaped from Paris and arrived on the beach of Deauville. He sees a woman and her child walking early in the morning. He has his story... A Man and a Woman, released in 1966, became one of the most famous French films in the world and contributed greatly to the international reputation of Deauville. It is in front of the big square near the Pompeian baths that Jean-Louis Trintignant and Anouk Aimée meet. He calls out to her. She runs to him. Selected at the Cannes Film Festival the same year, the film received the Palme d'Or and the Oscar for best foreign film in Hollywood. Deauville became the eternal meeting place for romance. Since 2006, the main entrance to the Boards and the beach has been named after Claude Lelouch, because the two are forever inseparable.

 

In We'll go to DeauvilleLouis de Funès shows Deauville as a vacation spot for modest people, in the early 1960s, at a time when middle-class French people were discovering the joys of vacations by the sea. The rental house was a bit old-fashioned, people travelled by bicycle or scooter, and enjoyed the beach, the racetrack and the walks on the boards. The Planches, we also see them in The Baron of the lockwhere Jean Gabin is installed on the terrace of the Bar du Soleil to listen to a concert of hunting horns. Today, it is in the program of theracecourse of Deauville-Clairefontaine every summer, during the big race weekends. In I am shy but I take care of myselfPierre Richard falls in love with a woman and follows her around France. The clumsy Tall Blond Guy visits Nice, Vichy and Deauville. One of the most hilarious scenes is shot on the boards. From the beach, the actor tries to control his sailboat and crosses the boards, passing not without difficulty in front of The Normandy***** before ending up on the road. Another famous film, Assassins and Thievesin which the famous Jean Poiret tells in the first scene how he saved Madeleine Ferrand from drowning, on the beach of Deauville in the middle of the famous parasols.

Deauville Beach
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Sea Front
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Les Planches
Beatrice Augier

4. The beach of Blonville-sur-Mer

____________________

Many films have their sequence on the Normandy coast, often experienced as a parenthesis of calm, fresh air and reflection in the scenario. This is the case in Je reste, a film by Diane Kurys, which is inspired by a genre very popular in the golden age of Hollywood: the comedy of remarriage. It brings together a charming trio of Sophie Marceau, Vincent Perez and Charles Berling. Nestled between Deauville and Villers-sur-Merthe beach of Blonville-sur-Mer is the scene of the famous kite scene between Sophie Marceau and Charles Berling. There is also a villa with direct access to the beach where scenes were shot inside and outside. It was Diane Kurys who wanted to shoot in this house that she had spotted during her walks between Deauville and Villers-sur-Mer. This building, with its white facade and columns, stands out from the Anglo-Norman style villas of the Côte Fleurie. It is also possible to rent the beautiful house for vacations.

 

Home of the film "Je Remte
Villa where the movie "I Stay" was shotJust Because
Blonville Beach
Delphine Barré-Lerouxel

5. The flying club of Saint-Gatien

____________________

This filming location may seem surprising at first, and yet. The credits of the film The Baron of the Lock are a long overview of Deauville on board a plane piloted by Jean Gabin, a flying instructor. Still today, theflying club of Deauville Saint-Gatien offers you the opportunity to take a first flight or to get your pilot's license. If you are a big fan of Gabin, don't hesitate to pass by the Villa "La Malmaison", at the corner of rue Hunebelle and rue Victor Hugo, which he bought in 1961. He renamed it "La Grande Villa" and lived there for thirteen years, from 1961 to 1974. A plaque has been placed in front of the actor's house.

 

Aero Club Saint-Gatien
Naïade Plante

6. The Deauville-Trouville train station

____________________

Introductory scene of the film We will go to Deauvillethe stationThe train station, crowded with cars and blurred by a multitude of horns, represents the beginning of Louis de Funès and Michel Serrault's eventful vacation. This family comedy by Francis Rigaud should be seen today as a documentary on Deauville in the early 1960s at a time when middle-class French people were discovering the joys of vacations by the sea.

Légitime Violencea very dark political thriller starring Claude Brasseur, shot its most famous scene in the concourse of the Deauville-Trouville train station, where a gunfight wreaks havoc with passengers waiting for their train. The scene ends with the headline of the next day's Figaro: Massacre à Deauville. Among the killers is Christophe Lambert in one of his first roles.

Station
Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Station 2
DR

7. The Manors of Tourgéville****

____________________

A psychological thriller that brings together Jalil Lespert, Romain Duris and Charlotte Le Bon, Iris was mostly shot in Paris but the finale takes place in Normandy. The scene that unveils the enigma was shot on the domain of Manoirs de Tourgéville**** created by Claude Lelouch. We see a man digging the basement at night. We won't say more for all those who want to discover this suspenseful film.

Manors of Tourgéville 2
Alexandre Chaplier
Manors of Tourgéville 3
Alexandre Chaplier
Manors of Tourgéville 4
Les Manoirs de Tourgéville

8. Coco Chanel's boutique

____________________

Gabrielle Chanelknown as Coco, is a key figure who has greatly contributed to the international reputation of Deauville. She opened her first fashion boutique in the summer of 1913, on rue Gontaut-Biron, between the casino and theHôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****. The designer found her inspiration on the racetrack, at the tennis courts and on the port. The film Chanel Solitaire by Hungarian director George Kaczender recounts this episode in great detail. Hundreds of extras were hired to recreate the Belle-Epoque atmosphere in Deauville itself, with scenes shot on the seafront and on theracecourse of Deauville-La Touques. But the most impressive is the reconstruction of the rue Gontaut-Biron, whose asphalt was covered with earth over several hundred meters. Never before has Deauville's history with the cinema been so transformed for a film. Adopt the Chanel style and pass in front of the boutique (today La Villa Homme); a plaque designed by Karl Lagerfeld has been placed in memory of the woman who revolutionized fashion.

 

Chanel plate
Chanel plateAlan Aubry

9. Saint-Pierre-Azif

____________________

In 2009, in Saint-Pierre-sur-AzifBrad Pitt shot a commercial for a Japanese phone brand. Well, it's not really cinema, even if the commercial was shot by Wes Anderson(The Grand Budapest Hotel). The director pays homage to Jacques Tati and his film Vacances de Monsieur Hulot with a 2CV, a bicycle race and a topless young woman on a picnic, all set to France Gall's song Poupée de cire, poupée de son. For the anecdote, the young woman is Camille Cottin who later turned with Brad Pitt in Allies by Robert Zemeckis.

 

 

Saint-Pierre-Azif City Hall
Saint-Pierre-Azif City HallCity of Saint-Pierre-Azif
Church of St. Peter Azif
Church of Saint-Pierre-AzifThierry Beaucap

10. The Casino Barrière and its Italian-style theater

____________________

The casino is a must in Deauville and many directors have used it in mythical scenes in their works. Jean-Pierre Melville devoted the hold-up scenes of his film Bob le Flambeur in 1955. The casino did not take offense, since the director at the time, François André, Lucien Barrière's uncle, played his own role. One can recognize the Place Mornythe big hall of the casino and especially the street where the main entrance of the establishment was located at the time, where the final shooting takes place.

In the film Do you like Brahms...we see Montand's young blonde mistress at the casino in Deauville wondering what number she should play. A wink to the famous story that will anchor Françoise Sagan in Normandy. On August 8, 1959, the novelist, visiting the casino, bets on 8 and collects 8 million francs, with which she buys the house she was renting in Equemauville.

More recently, in 2018, Mathieu Kassovitz became the sparring partner of a young boxing champion in the film Sparringwhere the boxing scenes take place mainly in the casino theater. Its Italian decor offers a striking contrast with the darkness of the subject matter.

Casino
Patrice Le Bris
Casino Theater
Patrick Tourneboeuf

Where to eat?

____________________

In the canteen of the entertainment world

At the bistro Les 4 chatsred dominates: it is found on the armchairs - often cinema armchairs found on flea markets -, the benches, the walls and even in the evening lighting. With a musical background of rock and jazz, the decor flirts with the 30s and 50s in a brocante chic spirit. The menu changes daily, depending on the mood and the market, but always offers its traditional bistro dishes.

In the atmosphere of the American Film Festival

It can be seen as an island in the middle of the casino's slot machines. The Plaza Café is the Casino's restaurant, located just across from the Centre International de Deauville, where the American Film Festival takes place every year. To help you blend in and live the American dream, portraits of actors such as Charlize Theron, Jeff Goldblum and Salma Hayek adorn its glass walls. Amidst the slot machines, the Plaza Café has the intimacy of a real brasserie, where meats, grilled fish, original club sandwiches and gourmet salads are on the menu.

On the boards

The Ciro's is a renowned seafood and fish restaurant that appears in all the reference gastronomic guides. But the restaurant stands out just as much with its countless photos of celebrities hanging on the wall. You can enjoy platters, plates of the sea, bouillabaisses and other shellfish surrounded by the biggest movie stars.

The 4 Cats
The 4 CatsBistrot les 4 Chats
Plaza café
The Plaza CaféNaïade Plante
Le Ciro's
Le Ciro'sFabrice Rambert

Where to sleep?
Three places to sleep near the stars

____________________

 

The Barrière hotels in Deauville have been the location of numerous films and have cultivated their history with the cinema. At theHôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****relive the love story between Anouk Aimée and Jean-Louis Trintignant! With the "Un Homme et une Femme" suite, enter the film's decor, where large black and white photos from the most famous scenes blend in with the famous "toile de Jouy" and its motif "the delight of the 4 seasons". 100 meters from the Normandy, Yves Montand shoots the film Aimez-vous Brahms... at theHôtel Barrière Le Royal*****.

Innovative concept, the hotel You Are Deauville breaks the codes of the traditional hotel industry. You will find modular spaces, a coworking room, a sports center and a screening room that you can even privatize! Whether you're solo or with a partner, family or friends, You Are Deauville offers five types of rooms, from the double room "Welcome" to the shared room "Together" that can accommodate up to 12 people.

Ten years after the filming ofUn homme et une femme, Claude Lelouch had a vast friends' house built a few kilometers from Deauville, complete with tennis courts and indoor swimming pool. After a few years, he transformed the property into a hotel and sold it to the Floirat Group. The hotel Les Manoirs de Tourgéville**** is composed of a main building in half-timbering and four charming round manors, offering a total of 57 rooms including 35 suites. Its 50-seat cinema is available to watch the film of your choice.

The Normandy
Suite "A Man and a Woman" at the Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy *****Fabrice Rambert
Manors of Tourgéville
Les Manoirs de Tourgéville****DR
Hotel You
You Are Deauville HotelDR
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Cinéma : 10 lieux de tournage mythiques à visiter

Photo principale Road Trip cinéma
Patrick Tourneboeuf

De nombreuses images surgissent à l’évocation de la Côte Fleurie et du cinéma. Silhouettes d’acteurs de légende dans des décors et une lumière naturellement séduisante pour les caméras : tournages et villégiature "des professionnels de la profession" se confondent depuis les années 1920. "Un singe en hiver", "Un homme et une femme", "Les quatre cents coups"… A l’occasion de la 46e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville, nous avons sélectionné pour vous les dix lieux de tournage inDeauville qui ont marqué le 7e art, où vous pourrez rejouer votre propre version du film. Moteur, action !

1. Sur les pas d'Un Singe en hiver à Villerville

____________________

Que dire de plus sur un film qui s’est transformé en monument national au fil de ses innombrables rediffusions à la télévision.... Un Singe en hiver a bouleversé à jamais la modeste station balnéaire de Villerville quand elle a accueilli, à l’hiver 1961-1962, l’équipe de tournage de Henri Verneuil avec ses deux stars, Jean Gabin et Jean-Paul Belmondo. Pour être fidèle au roman d’Antoine Blondin, la commune est renommée Tigreville. Un grand roman, deux acteurs au sommet, des dialogues époustouflants, une mise en scène efficace et une ville isolée sous la pluie d’hiver sont les clefs du succès d’un film qui s’est inscrit dans la mémoire collective. Les lieux du tournage, encore visibles aujourd'hui et symbolisés par des totems dans le centre de Villerville, sont à découvrir au cours d’un circuit pédestre. Le Cabaret Normand – célèbre café où Jean-Paul Belmondo commande un Picon-bière après son arrivée à Tigreville – et l'Hôtel Stella, tenu par Jean Gabin, sont quelques-uns des lieux que vous pouvez découvrir avec cette balade.

 

 

 Le circuit complet du film ici 

Ville de Villerville
villerville_-_cabaret_normand_-_dbl_721x500
Delphine Barré-Lerouxel
un_singe_en_hiver_c_jackson_721x500
Jackson

2. Les Falaises des Vaches Noires

____________________

En 1955, c’est à Villers-sur-Mer, sur la plage au pied des falaises des Vaches noires, que François Truffaut pose sa caméra pour filmer la fameuse scène finale du film Les Quatre Cent Coups, que tous les cinéphiles du monde entier ont en tête. Le jeune Jean-Pierre Léaud profite d’un match de football pour s’évader du centre pour délinquants et court vers la mer. Le travelling démarre dans la campagne, puis le gamin arrive sur la plage, descend un escalier et court vers la mer, met les pieds dans l’eau, se retourne et lance un regard caméra qui se fige sur le mot "Fin".

 

 Voir la scène finale du film "Les Quatre Cents Coups" ici 

 

Quarante ans plus tard, en 1995, Claude Lelouch choisit la plage de Villers-sur-Mer comme décor pour plusieurs séquences de son film Les Misérables. Les plans filmés nécessitent la construction d’un village où se situe l’auberge des époux Thénardier qui vont accueillir Cosette. Dans une scène où l’auberge doit partiellement prendre feu, l’incendie mal maîtrisé la détruit entièrement. Claude Lelouch, effaré de voir son décor partir en fumée, a encore la conscience de laisser tourner les caméras et décide d’intégrer l’incendie dans son film, ce qui donnera à la séquence son aspect réaliste et dramatique. L’autre morceau de bravoure du tournage à Villers-sur-Mer est la reconstitution sur la plage du Débarquement du 6 juin 1944 à Omaha Beach, avec des centaines de figurants, des blindés amphibies et des parachutistes dans le ciel normand. La séquence tournée en une journée est restée dans la mémoire de tous les Villersois.

 

 Voir la bande-annonce des "Misérables" ici 

Vaches Noires
Julien Boisard
Vaches Noires
Patrice Le Bris

3. La plage de Deauville et ses célèbres Planches

____________________

En 1965, Claude Lelouch s’échappe de Paris et arrive sur la plage de Deauville. Il y voit une femme et son enfant se promenant tôt le matin. Il a son histoire… Un homme et une femme, sorti en 1966, devient l’un des films français les plus connus au monde et a participé grandement à la notoriété internationale de Deauville. C’est face à la grande place près des bains pompéiens que Jean-Louis Trintignant et Anouk Aimée se retrouvent. Il lui fait des appels de phare. Elle court vers lui. Sélectionné au Festival de Cannes la même année, le film reçoit entre autres la Palme d’Or et l’Oscar du meilleur film étranger à Hollywood. Deauville devient l’éternel rendez-vous du romantisme. Depuis 2006, la principale place d'accès aux Planches et à la plage porte le nom de Claude Lelouch, car les deux sont à jamais inséparables.

 

 Voir la scène de la plage du film "Un homme et une femme" ici 

 

Dans Nous irons à Deauville, Louis de Funès montre Deauville comme lieu de vacances pour des gens modestes, au début des années 60, à cette époque où les Français de la classe moyenne découvrent les joies des vacances au bord de la mer. La location est une maison un peu vieillotte, on se déplace en vélo ou en scooter, on profite de la plage, du champ de courses et des promenades sur les Planches. Les Planches, on les aperçoit aussi dans Le Baron de l'écluse, où Jean Gabin est installé sur la terrasse du Bar du Soleil pour écouter un concert de trompes de chasse. Aujourd'hui, c'est au programme de l'hippodrome de Deauville-Clairefontaine chaque été, lors des grands week-ends de courses. Dans Je suis timide mais je me soigne, Pierre Richard tombe amoureux d’une femme et la suit à travers la France. Le Grand Blond maladroit visite ainsi Nice, Vichy et Deauville. L'une des scènes les plus hilarantes est tournée sur les Planches. Depuis la plage, l’acteur tente de maîtriser son char à voile et traverse les Planches, passe non sans mal devant Le Normandy***** avant de terminer sur la route. Autre film célèbre, Assassins et voleurs, dans lequel l’illustre Jean Poiret raconte dans la première scène comment il a sauvé Madeleine Ferrand de la noyade, sur la plage de Deauville au milieu des célèbres parasols.

Plage Deauville
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Front de Mer
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Les Planches
Béatrice Augier

4. La plage de Blonville-sur-Mer

____________________

De nombreux films ont leur séquence sur la côte normande, souvent vécue comme une parenthèse de calme, de plein air et de réflexion dans le scénario. C’est le cas dans Je reste, un film de Diane Kurys qui s’inspire d’un genre très prisé à l’âge d’or hollywoodien : la comédie du remariage. Elle réunit un trio de charme composé de Sophie Marceau, Vincent Perez et Charles Berling. Lovée entre Deauville et Villers-sur-Mer, la plage de Blonville-sur-Mer est le théâtre de la fameuse scène de cerf-volant sur la plage entre Sophie Marceau et Charles Berling. On y remarque aussi une villa avec accès direct à la plage où fut tournées des scènes en intérieur et en extérieur. C’est Diane Kurys qui tenait à tourner dans cette maison qu’elle avait repérée lors de ses promenades à pied entre Deauville et Villers-sur-Mer. Cette bâtisse, avec sa façade blanche et ses colonnes, se distingue des villas de style anglo-normand de la Côte Fleurie. Il est d’ailleurs possible de louer la jolie maison pour des vacances.

 

 Voir la bande-annonce du film "Je reste" ici 

Maison du film "Je Reste"
Villa dans laquelle a été tourné le film "Je Reste"Just Because
Plage Blonville
Delphine Barré-Lerouxel

5. L'aéro-club de Saint-Gatien

____________________

Ce lieu de tournage peut paraître surprenant au premier abord, et pourtant. Le générique du film Le Baron de l’écluse est un long survol de Deauville à bord d'un avion piloté par Jean Gabin, moniteur de pilotage. Encore aujourd’hui, l'aéro-club de Deauville Saint-Gatien vous propose de faire un baptême de l'air ou de passer votre brevet de pilote. Si vous êtes grand fan de Gabin, n’hésitez pas à passer devant la Villa "La Malmaison", à l’angle de la rue Hunebelle et de la rue Victor Hugo, qu’il achète en 1961. Il la rebaptise "La Grande Villa" et l’habitera treize ans durant, de 1961 à 1974. Une plaque a été posée devant la maison de l’acteur.

 

 Regarder "Le Baron de l'écluse" ici 

Aéroclub Saint-Gatien
Naïade Plante

6. La gare de Deauville-Trouville

____________________

Scène introductive du film Nous irons à Deauville, la gare, encombrée de voitures et brouillée par une multitude de klaxons, représente significativement le début des vacances mouvementées de Louis de Funès et Michel Serrault. Cette comédie familiale de Francis Rigaud doit se voir aujourd’hui comme un documentaire sur Deauville au début des années 60 à une époque où les Français de la classe moyenne découvrent les joies des vacances au bord de la mer.

Légitime Violence, thriller politique très sombre dont l’acteur principal est Claude Brasseur, a tourné sa plus célèbre scène dans le hall de la gare de Deauville-Trouville, où une fusillade fait un carnage parmi les voyageurs en attente de leur train. La scène se termine par la une du Figaro du lendemain avec ce titre en gros : Massacre à Deauville. Parmi les tueurs, on reconnaît Christophe Lambert dans l’un de ses premiers rôles.

Gare
Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Gare 2
DR

7. Les Manoirs de Tourgéville****

____________________

Thriller psychologique qui réunit Jalil Lespert, Romain Duris et Charlotte Le Bon, Iris a été majoritairement tourné à Paris mais le final se déroule en Normandie. La scène qui dévoile l’énigme a été tournée sur le domaine des Manoirs de Tourgéville**** créé par Claude Lelouch. On y voit un homme creuser le sous-sol de nuit. On n’en dira pas plus pour tous ceux qui veulent découvrir ce film à suspense.

 

 Voir la bande annonce du film "Iris" ici 

Manoirs de Tourgéville 2
Alexandre Chaplier
Manoirs de Tourgéville 3
Alexandre Chaplier
Manoirs de Tourgéville 4
Les Manoirs de Tourgéville

8. La boutique de Coco Chanel

____________________

Gabrielle Chanel, dite Coco, est une figure incontournable qui a grandement participé à la notoriété internationale de Deauville. Elle y a ouvert sa première boutique de mode au cœur de l’été 1913, rue Gontaut-Biron, entre le casino et l’Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****. La créatrice trouve son inspiration sur les champs de courses, au tennis et sur le port. Le film Chanel Solitaire du réalisateur hongrois George Kaczender raconte cet épisode avec un luxe de détails. Des centaines de figurants sont engagés pour reconstituer à Deauville même l’atmosphère Belle-Epoque avec des scènes tournées sur le front de mer et sur l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques. Mais le plus impressionnant reste la reconstitution de la rue Gontaut-Biron, dont le bitume a été recouvert de terre sur plusieurs centaines de mètres. Jamais Deauville dans son histoire avec le cinéma n’aura été autant transformée pour un film. Adoptez le style Chanel et passez devant la boutique (aujourd'hui La Villa Homme) ; une plaque dessinée par Karl Lagerfeld a été posée en mémoire de celle qui a révolutionné la mode.

 

 Regarder "Chanel Solitaire" ici 

Plaque Chanel
Plaque ChanelAlan Aubry

9. Saint-Pierre-Azif

____________________

En 2009, à Saint-Pierre-sur-Azif, Brad Pitt a tourné un spot publicitaire pour une marque de téléphonie japonaise. Bon, ce n’est pas vraiment du cinéma, même si la publicité a été tournée par Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hôtel). Le réalisateur y rend hommage à Jacques Tati et son film Vacances de Monsieur Hulot avec 2CV, course cycliste et jeune femme topless en pique-nique, le tout sur la chanson de France Gall Poupée de cire, poupée de son. Pour l’anecdote, la jeune femme, c’est Camille Cottin qui a tourné plus tard avec Brad Pitt dans Alliés de Robert Zemeckis.

 

 Voir la publicité avec Brad Pitt ici 

Mairie de Saint-Pierre-Azif
Mairie de Saint-Pierre-AzifVille de Saint-Pierre-Azif
Eglise Saint-Pierre-Azif
Eglise de Saint-Pierre-AzifThierry Beaucap

10. Le Casino Barrière et son théâtre à l'italienne

____________________

Le casino est un incontournable des lieux de tournage inDeauville et les réalisateurs sont nombreux à lui accorder des scènes mythiques de leurs œuvres. Jean-Pierre Melville lui consacre les scènes de hold-up de son film Bob le Flambeur en 1955. Le casino n’en prend pas ombrage puisque le directeur de l’époque, François André, l’oncle de Lucien Barrière, joue son propre rôle. On reconnaît la place Morny, le grand hall du casino et surtout la rue où se trouvait à l’époque l’entrée principale de l’établissement où se déroule la fusillade finale.

Dans le film Aimez-vous Brahms..., on voit la jeune maîtresse blonde de Montand au casino de Deauville se demander quel numéro doit-elle jouer. Un clin d’oeil à la célèbre histoire qui va ancrer Françoise Sagan en Normandie. Le 8 août 1959, la romancière, de passage au casino, mise sur le 8 et rafle 8 millions de francs, somme avec laquelle elle achète la maison qu’elle louait à Equemauville.

Plus récemment, en 2018, Mathieu Kassovitz devient le sparring-partner d’un jeune champion de boxe dans le film Sparring, où les scènes de boxe se déroulent principalement dans le théâtre du casino. Son décor à l’italienne offre un contraste saisissant avec la noirceur du sujet traité.

Casino
Patrice Le Bris
Théatre Casino
Patrick Tourneboeuf

Réservez votre pass pour le Festival du Cinéma Américain

____________________

En 2020, les films en compétition au Festival du Cinéma Américain sont soumis à un jury présidé par Vanessa Paradis pour le jury Palmarès et Rebecca Zlotowski pour le jury de la révélation, ainsi qu'aux festivaliers qui votent pour le Prix du Public de la Ville de Deauville. Ce 46e Festival rendra hommage à Kirk Douglas, légende du cinéma, avec la projection de magnifiques films. Il honorera également Bar­bet Schroe­der, Prix du 46e Festival, non pas pour un film, mais pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre amé­ri­caine, et le personnel soignant, à la manière d’un festival, dans une section "American doctors / French doctors". Les projections sont ouvertes au public, vous pourrez y assister munis d’un des pass proposés, à la journée ou pour toute la durée du festival. Rendez-vous le 13 septembre pour connaître le palmarès !

 

 Réservez votre pass ici 


Où manger ?

____________________

Dans la cantine du monde du spectacle

Au bistrot Les 4 chats, le rouge domine : on le retrouve sur les fauteuils - souvent des fauteuils de cinéma chinés sur les brocante -, les banquettes, les murs et même dans l’éclairage du soir. Sur un fond musical de rock et de jazz, la déco flirte avec les années 30 et 50 dans un esprit brocante chic. L’ardoise change quotidiennement, au gré de l’humeur et du marché, mais propose continuellement ses traditionnels plats de bistrot.

Dans l’ambiance du Festival du Cinéma Américain

On le repère comme un îlot au cœur des machines à sous du Casino. Le Plaza Café est le restaurant du Casino, situé juste en face du Centre International de Deauville, où se déroule chaque année le Festival du Cinéma Américain. Pour vous fondre dans le décor et vivre vous aussi le rêve américain, des portraits d’acteurs comme Charlize Theron, Jeff Goldblum et Salma Hayek ornent ses murs vitrés. Au milieu des machines à sous, le Plaza Café bénéficie pourtant de l’intimité d’une vraie brasserie, où viandes, poissons grillés, club-sandwiches originaux et salades gourmandes sont au menu.

Sur les Planches

Le Ciro’s est une adresse réputée dans les fruits de mer et poissons qui figure dans tous les guides gastronomiques de référence. Mais le restaurant se démarque tout autant avec ses innombrables photos de célébrités accrochées au mur. Vous y dégustez des plateaux, assiettes de la mer, bouillabaisse et autres crustacés entourés des plus grandes stars de cinéma.

Les 4 Chats
Les 4 ChatsBistrot les 4 Chats
Plaza café
Le Plaza CaféNaïade Plante
Le Ciro's
Le Ciro'sFabrice Rambert

Où dormir ?
Trois adresses pour dormir près des étoiles

____________________

 

Lieux de tournage de nombreux films, les hôtels Barrière inDeauville cultivent leur histoire avec le cinéma. A l’Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****, revivez l’histoire d’amour entre Anouk Aimée et Jean-Louis Trintignant ! Avec la suite "Un Homme et une Femme", entrez dans le décor du film, où de grandes photos en noir et blanc tirées des scènes les plus célèbres se fondent dans la fameuse toile de Jouy et son motif « le délice des 4 saisons ». A 100 mètres du Normandy, Yves Montand tourne le film Aimez-vous Brahms… à l’Hôtel Barrière Le Royal*****. Les deux hôtels proposent aussi des escapades pendant le Festival du Cinéma Américain avec un programme et un accueil particuliers : cocktail, accès aux séances de projection, accès au tapis rouge et hébergement. Réservations ici.

Concept novateur, l’hôtel You Are Deauville casse les codes de l’hôtellerie traditionnelle. Vous y trouverez des espaces modulables, une salle de coworking, un centre de sport mais aussi une salle de projection, que vous pouvez même privatiser ! En solo ou en duo, en famille ou entre amis, You Are vous propose cinq types de chambres, allant de la chambre double "Welcome" à la chambre partagée "Together" pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 12 personnes.

Dix ans après le tournage d'Un homme et une femme, Claude Lelouch fait construire, à quelques kilomètres de Deauville, une vaste maison de copains avec courts de tennis et piscine couverte. Au bout de quelques années, il transforme l’ensemble en hôtel puis le cède au Groupe Floirat. L’hôtel Les Manoirs de Tourgéville est composé d’une bâtisse principale en colombages et de quatre charmants manoirs de forme ronde, offrant au total 57 chambres dont 35 suites. Sa salle de cinéma de 50 places est à votre disposition pour visionner le film de votre choix.

Le Normandy
Suite "Un homme et une femme" à l’Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy*****Fabrice Rambert
Manoirs de Tourgéville
Les Manoirs de Tourgéville****DR
Hotel You
Hôtel You Are DeauvilleDR

Toutes les adresses