French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

FIVE UNIVERSE THEMES

 

Anchored in the territory of the city, the Franciscans wants to be attached to its cultural heritage. Quite naturally, five dominant themes were chosen to structure the visitor's journey through the galleries located above the cloister and the temporary exhibition courtyard. They are all linked to the cultural identity of the city. These themes unfold in “universes”. In these galleries with enveloping decorations, runs a long library whose loops house spaces for reading, co-working, projection, listening, exchange. Each theme - five in total - has its own universe, signified in space by specific work on colors and scenographic characteristics. 

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERSE HORSE

 

Deauville is the kingdom of the horse. It can be found all over the city with its two racetracks, its training center, its yearling auction house and its Longines-Deauville International Horse Pole dedicated to equestrian sports. For Franciscans, horse lovers, curious and novices will be able to discover or deepen the horse culture. An incredible collection, recognized and labeled by the National Library of France, is now within reach. Whether they come to leaf through books and magazines, to immerse themselves in pedigrees or treatises on hippology, they can enjoy a cozy atmosphere where the leather that adorns the furniture recalls the magic of the stables, in the middle of the centerpieces of the equestrian art as well as an evocation of the horse in freedom.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERSE DEAUVILLE

 

High vacation resort, mythical seaside resort, Deauville owes its worldwide reputation to the beauty of its site, its beach, its architecture as well as to the rituals of its social life since the XNUMXth century. The Deauville heritage, embodied by its large hotels, its villas, its casino, its public buildings, its Boards, its swimming pool, its racetracks, is also linked to an intangible dimension. Here you can consult the rich memory of the City. The artists' Deauville is displayed on the walls. Snapshots captured, moments crunched, lying on the canvas resonate in the memory of the visitor long after having taken to the road.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERSE SHOWS

 

This universe celebrates artistic creation in all its forms. From time immemorial, dancers, musicians, singers, filmmakers, actors, photographers, painters, writers come to Deauville to discuss, inspire and create. The works staged in the space evoke these intimate links between the artists and the territory. The works of the collection evoke this creative spirit always in action, spontaneous or staged. They illustrate what the artists see, but also those that we come to see, in representation, for a festival or the time of a fashion shoot. At the bend of the course, the visitor can settle in an alcove fitted out as a private screening room. Among the thousands of DVDs in the media library, the teams have listed more than 160 films shot in Deauville and the surrounding area.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERSE ART OF LIVING

 

It is good to live in Deauville. Its exceptional site, its sports facilities, its shops, its hotels, its restaurants explain its power of attraction. Everyone finds pleasure there: strolling on the boards, horse races, polo matches, golf and tennis tournaments, regattas, shows and gala evenings. In Deauville, everyone can compose the menu for their stay. Well-being, relaxation and elegance are also part of a cultural heritage. The City of Deauville likes to cultivate it; this is its raison d'être. In a spirit of relaxation, deckchairs invite visitors to take the time to take advantage of the present moments, to soak up the Deauville spirit, to give themselves time to fully experience a cultural cure, both relaxing and energizing at the same time.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERSE JEUNESSE

 

Deauville measures the importance of youth. The values ​​of transmission and support for young audiences are at the heart of its cultural policy. These values ​​define the Youth Universe. Culture and creativity are the cornerstones of a space that supports emancipation. For Franciscans, we learn by creating, making, exchanging, making our own choices. Access to books is facilitated by a clear identification of themes through iconographic codes. These same codes make it possible to quickly decipher to which audience these books are addressed. We settle here to read, learn, play, drawing on the vast resources of the game library.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

CINQ UNIVERS THEMATIQUES

 

Ancré dans le territoire de la ville, les Franciscaines se veut rattachée à son patrimoine culturel. Assez naturellement, cinq thèmes dominants ont été retenus pour structurer le parcours du visiteur dans les galeries situées au dessus du cloître et de la cour des expositions temporaires. Ils sont tous liés à l’identité culturelle de la ville. Ces thématiques se déploient dans  des « univers ». Dans ces galeries aux décors enveloppants, court une longue bibliothèque dont les boucles abritent des espaces de lecture, de co-working, de projection, d’écoute, d’échange. A chaque thème - cinq au total - s’ajuste un univers propre, signifié dans l’espace par un travail spécifique sur les couleurs et les caractéristiques scénographiques. 

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERS CHEVAL

 

Deauville est le royaume du cheval. On le retrouve aux quatre coins de la ville avec ses deux hippodromes, son centre d’entraînement, sa salle de ventes de yearlings et son Pôle International du Cheval Longines-Deauville dédié aux sports équestres. Aux Franciscaines, amateurs de chevaux, curieux et novices pourront découvrir ou approfondir la culture cheval. Une incroyable collection, reconnue et labellisée par la Bibliothèque nationale de France, est désormais à portée de main. Qu’ils viennent feuilleter ouvrages et revues, se plonger dans des pédigrées ou des traités d’hippologie, ils peuvent profiter d’une ambiance feutrée où le cuir qui orne les meubles rappelle la magie des écuries, au milieu des pièces maîtresses de l’art équestre ainsi qu'une évocation du cheval en liberté.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERS DEAUVILLE

 

Haut lieu de villégiature, station balnéaire mythique, Deauville doit sa réputation mondiale à la beauté de son site, de sa plage, de son architecture ainsi qu’aux rituels de sa vie sociale depuis le XIXe siècle. Le patrimoine Deauvillais, incarné par ses grands hôtels, ses villas, son casino, ses bâtiments publics, ses Planches, sa piscine, ses hippodromes, se rattache aussi à une dimension immatérielle. On pourra ici consulter le riche fonds mémoriel de la Ville. Le Deauville des artistes s’affiche sur les murs. Des clichés capturés, moments croqués, couchés sur la toile résonnent dans la mémoire du visiteur longtemps après avoir repris la route.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERS SPECTACLES

 

Cet univers célèbre la création artistique sous toutes ses formes. De tout temps, danseurs, musiciens, chanteurs, cinéastes, acteurs, photographes, peintres, écrivains viennent à Deauville pour échanger, s’inspirer et créer. Les œuvres mises en scène dans l’espace évoquent ces liens intimes entre les artistes et le territoire. Les œuvres de la collection évoquent cet esprit créatif toujours en action, spontané ou mis en scène. Elles illustrent ce que voient les artistes, mais aussi, ceux que l’on vient voir, en représentation, pour un festival ou le temps d’un shooting de mode. Au détour du parcours, le visiteur peut s’installer dans une alcôve aménagée en salle de projection privée. Parmi les milliers de DVD de la médiathèque, les équipes ont répertorié plus de 160 films tournés à Deauville et sur le territoire alentour.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERS ART DE VIVRE

 

Il fait bon vivre à Deauville. Son site exceptionnel, ses équipements sportifs, ses boutiques, ses hôtels, ses restaurants expliquent sa puissance d'attraction. Chacun y trouve plaisir : flânerie sur les Planches, courses de chevaux, matches de polo, tournois de golf et de tennis, régates, spectacles et soirées de gala. A Deauville, chacun peut composer le menu de son séjour. Le bien-être, la détente et l’élégance font aussi partie d’un patrimoine culturel. La Ville de Deauville aime le cultiver ; c’est sa raison d’être. Dans un esprit de détente, des chaises longues invitent les visiteurs à prendre le temps de profiter des instants présents, s’imprégner de l’esprit Deauville, se donner le temps de vivre pleinement une cure de culture, reposante et énergisante à la fois.

© Naïade Plante

UNIVERS JEUNESSE

 

Deauville mesure l’importance de la jeunesse. Les valeurs de transmissions et d’accompagnement du jeune public sont au cœur de sa politique culturelle. Ces valeurs définissent l’Univers Jeunesse. Culture et créativité sont les pierres angulaires d’un espace qui accompagne l’émancipation. Aux Franciscaines, on apprend en créant, en fabriquant, en échangeant, en faisant ses propres choix. L’accès aux livres est facilité par une identification claire des thématiques à travers des codes iconographiques. Ces mêmes codes permettent de décrypter rapidement à quel public ces livres s’adressent. On s’installe ici pour lire, apprendre, jouer puisant dans les vastes ressources de la ludothèque.