French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Edith Cresson

Speaker at the Women & Challenges Forum 2019

First and only female Prime Minister in France

A graduate of the Haut commercial education for young girls (HEC-JF), Edith Cresson also holds a doctorate in demography.
She works in several consulting companies as an economic engineer. In 1966, she joined the Convention of Republican Institutions created by François Mitterrand then after the Epinay congress which saw François Mitterrand accede to the post of 1st Secretary of the Socialist Party, she was a member of the National Secretariat, in charge of youth and students . Elected Member of the European Parliament (1979-1981) and Mayor of a rural town in Vienne (1977), she was elected Member of Parliament for Vienne in 1981 and General Councilor in 1982.
In 1981, she was appointed Minister of Agriculture, then Foreign Trade and Tourism (1983-1984) and finally Industrial Redeployment and Foreign Trade (1984-1988). She was elected Mayor of Châtellerault (1983-1997) and Member of Parliament for Vienne (1986-1988) and appointed member of the national secretariat of the Socialist Party. She was Minister of European Affairs (1988-1990) and resigned from the government to occupy the post of Chairman and CEO of Schneider Industries, international service (1990-1991) which aims to help French companies in the countries of the is European.
Appointed Prime Minister by President François Mitterrand (1991-1992), she joined the Service, Industries, Strategies, International and Environment Society (SISIE) from 1992 to 1994 while holding the presidency of the Institute of European Studies.
Appointed European Commissioner (1994-1999), she is in charge of Research, Education and Training. In 2001, she created the Schools of the 2nd Chance for “dropouts” from 18 to 25 years old and chaired the Foundation associated with the Network of Schools (15 young people per year) to allow better social integration. She is also a consultant (since 500) to the Agency for the dissemination of technological information (ADIT), an economic intelligence company which she had created as Prime Minister.

My travel book

Edith Cresson

Intervenante au Forum Femmes & Challenges 2019

Première et unique femme Premier Ministre en France

Diplômée du Haut enseignement commercial pour les jeunes filles (HEC-JF), Edith Cresson est également titulaire d’un doctorat en démographie.
Elle travaille dans plusieurs entreprises de conseil en tant qu’ingénieure économique. En 1966, elle entre à la Convention des Institutions Républicaines créée par François Mitterrand puis après le congrès d’Epinay qui voit François Mitterrand accéder au poste de 1er Secrétaire du Parti Socialiste, elle est membre du Secrétariat national, chargée de la jeunesse et des étudiants. Élue députée au Parlement européen (1979-1981) et Maire d’une commune rurale de la Vienne (1977), elle est élue Députée de la Vienne en 1981 et Conseiller général en 1982.
En 1981, elle est nommée Ministre de l’Agriculture puis du Commerce Extérieur et du Tourisme (1983-1984) et enfin de Redéploiement industriel et du Commerce Extérieur (1984-1988). Elle est élue Maire de Châtellerault (1983-1997) et Députée de la Vienne (1986-1988) et nommée membre du secrétariat national du Parti Socialiste. Elle est Ministre des Affaires européennes (1988-1990) et démissionne du gouvernement pour occuper le poste de Président directeur général de Schneider Industries, service international (1990-1991) qui a pour but d’aider les entreprises françaises dans les pays de l’est européen.
Nommée Premier Ministre par le Président François Mitterrand (1991-1992), elle rejoint la Société Service, industries, stratégies, International et Environnement (SISIE) de 1992 à 1994 tout en assurant la présidence de l’Institut d’Etudes européennes.
Nommée Commissaire européen (1994-1999), elle a en charge la Recherche, l’Education et la Formation. En 2001, elle crée les Écoles de la 2e Chance pour les « décrocheurs » de 18 à 25 ans et préside la Fondation associée au Réseau des Écoles (15 500 jeunes par an) pour permettre une meilleure intégration sociale. Elle est, de plus, consultante (depuis 2008) auprès de l’Agence pour la diffusion de l’information technologique (ADIT), société d’intelligence économique dont elle avait assuré la création en tant que Premier Ministre.