French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Antoine d'Agata

Photographer

Guest photographer for the 2021 Planches Contact festival

Antoine D'Agata

A striking and unique figure in contemporary photography, Antoine d'Agata, born in Marseille in 1961, is a member of the Magnum Photos agency and represented by the Les filles du calvaire gallery. He lives and works in Paris and Marseille.

At the age of seventeen, Antoine d'Agata interrupted his studies to live in the night world. For twelve years, he travels through ten countries in which he lives. While staying in New York in 1991, without photographic experience, he enrolled at the ICP (International Center of Photography) and studied with Larry Clark and Nan Goldin. Since 2005, without a home port, he has been photographing around the world.

Antoine d'Agata does not try to show the world and its state. On the contrary, he gives us his own, the one he explores. Internationally renowned, his work has been the subject of numerous personal and group exhibitions. In 2018 he participated in the Eyes Wild Open exhibition at the Botanique de Bruxelles, bringing together nearly thirty major photographers, and in the exhibition Quel Amour !? presented at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Marseille, alongside international artists. In 2017, he presented Codex at the Centro de Imagen de Mexico. He is represented by numerous galleries in Lisbon, Amsterdam, Barcelona and at the Les filles du calvaire gallery in Paris, where he exhibited his Atlas series in 2016. In 2015 his work was presented during a solo exhibition at La Termica in Malaga in Spain. He has published numerous books, including Antibody (ed. Xavier Barral), in 2013, coinciding with his major exhibition at BAL, in Paris. The same year the Odysseia exhibition is presented at the MuCEM in Marseille. Several of his works have entered public and private collections such as the CNAP (National Center for Plastic Arts) and the FNAC (National Contemporary Art Fund) in Paris, the National Library of France, the European House of Photography, the collection Fnac or the Forum für Fotografie in Cologne. In touch with the health crisis caused by Covid-19, its social and political resonances, Antoine d'Agata exhibited VIRUS at the Brownstone Foundation, an installation of one thousand photographs out of the thirteen thousand taken between March 11 and May 11, 2020 and thus prefigured the release, on October 29, 2020, of his new book published by Studio Vortex.

Antoine d'Agata in Normandy - Front lines 

Antoine d'Agata, between two trips to Mexico, came several times last winter to discover Normandy under curfew and thus traced his cartography of the region based on significant historical facts and on his experience of the territory.


Installation and projection

Les Franciscaines, 145b Avenue de la République - Tuesday to Sunday 10:30 am to 18:30 pm

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Antoine d'Agata

Photographe

Photographe invité pour le festival Planches Contact 2021

Antoine D'Agata

Figure marquante et unique de la photographie contemporaine, Antoine d’Agata, né à Marseille en 1961, est membre de l’agence Magnum Photos et représenté par la galerie Les filles du calvaire. Il vit et travaille à Paris et Marseille.

Dès l’âge de dix-sept ans, Antoine d’Agata interrompt ses études pour vivre dans l’univers de la nuit. Durant douze ans, il voyage à travers une dizaine de pays dans lesquels il vit. Alors qu’il séjourne à New York en 1991, sans expérience photographique, il s’inscrit à l’ICP (International Center of Photography) et étudie notamment avec Larry Clark et Nan Goldin. Depuis 2005, sans port d’attache, il photographie à travers le monde.

Antoine d’Agata ne cherche pas à montrer le monde et son état. Il nous livre au contraire le sien, celui qu’il explore . D’une renommée internationale, son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives. En 2018 il participe à l’exposition Eyes Wild Open au Botanique de Bruxelles, réunissant près de trente photographes majeurs, et à l’exposition Quel Amour !? présentée au musée d’Art contemporain de Marseille, aux côtés d’artistes internationaux. En 2017, il présente Codex au Centro de Imagen de Mexico. Il est représenté par de nombreuses galeries à Lisbonne, Amsterdam, Barcelone ou encore à la galerie Les filles du calvaire à Paris, où il expose sa série Atlas en 2016. En 2015 son travail est présenté lors d’une exposition personnelle à La Termica à Malaga en Espagne. Il a publié de nombreux livres, dont Anticorps (éd. Xavier Barral), en 2013, coïncidant avec son importante exposition au BAL, à Paris. La même année l’exposition Odysseia est présentée au MuCEM de Marseille. Plusieurs de ses œuvres ont intégré des collections publiques et privées comme le CNAP (Centre national des arts plastiques) et le FNAC (Fonds national d’art contemporain) de Paris, la Bibliothèque nationale de France, la Maison européenne de la photographie, la collection Fnac ou encore le Forum für Fotografie de Cologne. En prise avec la crise sanitaire provoquée par la Covid-19, ses résonances sociales et politiques, Antoine d’Agata a exposé VIRUS à la Fondation Brownstone, une installation de mille photographies sur les treize mille réalisées entre le 11 mars et le 11 mai 2020 et préfiguré ainsi la sortie, le 29 octobre 2020, de son nouveau livre édité par le Studio Vortex.

Antoine d'Agata en Normandie - Lignes de front 

Antoine d’Agata, entre deux voyages au Mexique, est venu plusieurs fois l’hiver dernier découvrir la Normandie sous le couvre-feu et a tracé ainsi sa cartographie de la région basée sur des faits historiques marquants et sur son expérience du territoire.


Installation et projection

Les Franciscaines, 145b Avenue de la République - Du mardi au dimanche de 10h30 à 18h30