French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Geena Davis

Actress & producer

Deauville Talent Award 2019 of the 45th Festival of American Cinema

Awarded with an Oscar, Geena Davis is one of the most respected actresses in Hollywood for her roles in films that have become cultural markers, but also a fervent defender of gender equality in the media.

A graduate of Boston University, Bates College and New England College, she won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress in 1989 for her portrayal of an eccentric dog trainer in Traveler in spite of himself by Lawrence Kasdan. Three years later, she was named to the Oscar and the Golden Globe for best actress for the role of Thelma in Thelma & Louise by Ridley Scott, in which she replies to Susan Sarandon. Geena Davis was named a Best Actress in the Golden Globe in 1993 for her screenplay of legendary baseball player Dottie Hinson in A League of Their Own directed by Penny Marshall.

She is also showing many other emblematic films, such as Tootsie by Sydney Pollack in 1982, her first cinema appearance alongside Dustin Hoffman, Fly by David Cronenberg in 1986, Beetlejuice by Tim Burton in 1988, Goodbye forever by Renny Harlin in 1996 and S by Rob Minkoff in 1999.

In 2006, she won the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a dramatic television series for her portrayal of the first woman president of the United States in Commander in Chief (2005-2006). She also plays in series Gehenna (2000-2001), Grey's Anatomy (-2014 2018) and Glow (2019).

In addition to her artistic achievements, Geena Davis is an athlete emeritus, she was the thirteenth best archery artist in the United States. She is also a member of the Mensa circle, the oldest organization in the world gathering gifted people with high IQ, and a fervent defender of the feminine cause.

In 2012, she was appointed Special Emissary to the ITU (International Telecommunication Union) for women and girls in the ICT (information and communication technologies) sector. She is an official partner of UN Women and works to promote gender equality and to value women around the world. She is also chair of the California Status of Women Commission.

In 2015, Geena Davis and Trevor Drinkwater launched the Bentonville Film Festival (BFF), an unprecedented initiative that supports women and encourages diversity in the entertainment industry. Each May in Bentonville, Arkansas, the festival offers a platform that significantly enhances the commercial value of content whose main roles are played by minorities and women. It is the only competitive festival in the world which guarantees that the winning films will be shown in cinemas, on television, on the Internet and in stores.

Geena Davis is also the founder and president of the nonprofit Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, which encourages creators of film and television content to increase the share of female characters, and to reduce gender stereotypes, in media targeting children under the age of eleven.

Evening tribute on the occasion of the 45th edition of the Deauville American Festival in his presence on Tuesday September 10, followed by the screening of the documentary This changes everything by Tom Donahue.

My travel book

Geena Davis

Comédienne & productrice

Deauville Talent Award 2019 du 45e Festival du cinéma américain

Récompensée par un Oscar, Geena Davis est l'une des comédiennes les plus respectées d'Hollywood par ses rôles dans des films devenus des marqueurs culturels, mais aussi une fervente défenseuse de l'égalité hommes-femmes dans les médias.

Diplômée de l'Université de Boston, du Bates College et du New England College, elle remporte l'Oscar de la meilleure actrice dans un second rôle en 1989 pour son interprétation d'une dresseuse de chien excentrique dans Voyageur malgré lui de Lawrence Kasdan. Trois ans plus tard, elle est nommée à l'Oscar et au Golden Globe de la meilleure actrice pour le rôle de Thelma dans Thelma & Louise de Ridley Scott, dans lequel elle donne la réplique à Susan Sarandon. Geena Davis est nommée au Golden Globe de la meilleure actrice en 1993 pour son incarnation à l'écran de la joueuse de baseball légendaire Dottie Hinson dans Une équipe hors du commun réalisé par Penny Marshall.

Elle est aussi à l'affiche de nombreux autres films emblématiques, comme Tootsie de Sydney Pollack en 1982, sa première apparition au cinéma aux côtés de Dustin Hoffman, La Mouche de David Cronenberg en 1986, Beetlejuice de Tim Burton en 1988, Au revoir à jamais de Renny Harlin en 1996 et Stuart Little de Rob Minkoff en 1999.

En 2006, elle obtient le Golden Globe de la meilleure actrice dans une série télévisée dramatique pour son interprétation de la première femme présidente des États-Unis dans Commander in Chief (2005-2006). Elle joue également dans les séries Geena (2000-2001), Grey's Anatomy (2014-2018) et Glow (2019).

En plus de ses réussites artistiques, Geena Davis est une athlète émérite, elle a été la treizième meilleure tireuse à l'arc des États-Unis. Elle est aussi membre du cercle Mensa, la plus ancienne organisation au monde regroupant des personnes surdouées au QI élevé, et une fervente défenseuse de la cause féminine.

En 2012, elle est nommée Émissaire spéciale auprès de l'UIT (Union internationale des télécommunications) pour les femmes et les jeunes filles du secteur des TIC (technologies de l'information et de la communication). Elle est partenaire officielle de l'ONU Femmes et travaille à promouvoir l'égalité hommes-femmes et à valoriser les femmes dans le monde. Elle est également présidente de la Commission sur le statut des femmes de Californie.

En 2015, Geena Davis et Trevor Drinkwater lancent le Bentonville Film Festival (BFF), une initiative sans précédent qui soutient les femmes et encourage la diversité dans l'industrie du divertissement. Chaque mois de mai à Bentonville, dans l'Arkansas, le festival offre une plateforme qui valorise de manière significative la valeur commerciale des contenus dont les rôles principaux sont tenus par des minorités et des femmes. Il est le seul festival compétitif dans le monde qui garantit aux films récompensés une diffusion au cinéma, à la télévision, sur Internet et dans les magasins.

Geena Davis est également la fondatrice et présidente de l'organisme à but non lucratif Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, qui encourage les créateurs de contenus cinématographiques et télévisuels à augmenter la part de personnages féminins, et à réduire les stéréotypes sexistes, dans les médias ciblant les enfants de moins de onze ans.

Soirée hommage à l'occasion de la 45e édition du Festival américain de Deauville en sa présence le mardi 10 septembre, suivie de la projection du documentaire This changes everything de Tom Donahue.