French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Johnny Depp

Comedian, director, screenwriter & producer

Deauville Talent Award 2019 of the 45th Festival of American Cinema

Johnny Depp is one of the most popular comedians in contemporary cinema, and he is also a producer under his banner Infinitum Nihil.

Named three times to the Oscar for best actor, he obtained his first nomination in 2004 with the creation of the character of Jack Sparrow, hero of the saga Pirates of the Caribbean, in the first opus, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, directed by Gore Verbinski. He again embodies this character who has now entered popular culture in Pirates of the Caribbean: The Secret of the Cursed Safe et Pirates of the Caribbean: To the end of the world, also produced by Gore Verbinski, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Fountain of Youth by Rob Marshall and lately Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar's Revenge by Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg. In addition to his Oscar nomination for the first film, he was also nominated for the Golden Globe and the BAFTA Award for Best Actor and won the Screen Actors Guild Award and the Empire Award. He is again cited in the Golden Globe for the second.

Born in Owensboro, Kentucky, Johnny Depp spent his youth in Florida, where he was passionate about music at an early age. He is part of a rock group called Kids, with whom he goes to Los Angeles. When the group separates, he turns to the profession of actor.

He held his first major role in 1984 in The Claws of the Night by Wes Craven. He then plays in Platoon of Oliver Stone before becoming the darling of viewers in the role of officer Tom Hanson in the very popular series 21 Jump Street. He will be the star of this series for four seasons before returning to the big screen in the main role in Cry Baby by John Waters.

His moving character from the fantastic fable Edward Scissorhands, his first film directed by Tim Burton, imposed it in 1990, both with critics and the public, and earned him his first nomination for the Golden Globe for best actor. He then plays in Arizona Dream by Emir Kusturica, with Jerry Lewis and Faye Dunaway. In 1993, he got a second quote from the Golden Globe for Benny & Joon by Jeremiah Chechik, whose star he shares with Aidan Quinn and Mary Stuart Masterson. He also plays in Gilbert Grape by Lasse Hallström. He then finds Tim Burton for Ed Wood, which earned him his third Golden Globe citation for best actor and a London Critics Circle Film Award. He was hailed in 1995 for his services in Dead Man, in which it is chaired by Jim Jarmusch, Don juan de marco by Jeremy Leven, with Marlon Brando and Faye Dunaway, and Nick of Time by John Badham, with Christopher Walken. He is crowned best actor of his generation after his interpretation in Donnie Brasco by Mike Newell, with Al Pacino, in 1997. At that time, Johnny Depp went behind the camera to direct his only feature film, The Brave, which he co-wrote with his brother DP Depp based on the novel "Rafael, last days" by Gregory McDonald. The film was presented at the Cannes Festival in 1997. He was also the main interpreter alongside Marlon Brando.

To his already long filmography are added Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Terry Gilliam, based on the novel by Hunter S. Thompson, with Benicio Del Toro, The Ninth Gate by Roman Polanski, and Intrusion by Rand Ravich. Tim Burton directed it for the third time in 1999 in Sleepy Hollow, the legend of the headless horseman, with Christina Ricci, for which he won the Blockbuster Entertainment Award for best actor. In 2000, Johnny Depp turned in The Man Who Cried by Sally Potter, with John Turturro, and Before the night by Julian Schnabel. He finds Lasse Hallström, after Gilbert Grape, to Chocolate, with Juliette Binoche. Johnny Depp is then the interpreter of Blow by Ted Demme, whom he came to present himself at the Deauville Festival in 2001, and From Hell of the Hughes brothers, with Heather Graham. The following year, in 2003, he played in Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl and Once upon a time in Mexico - Desperado 2 by Robert Rodriguez, with Antonio Banderas and Salma Hayek, then in Neverland by Marc Forster. For his interpretation of JM Barrie, the author of Peter Pan, in this latest film, Johnny Depp is nominated for the Oscar for best actor for the second time, as well as the Golden Globe, the Screen Actors Guild Award and the BAFTA Award. In 2005, he played Willy Wonka in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, which marks his fourth collaboration with director Tim Burton and has earned him a Golden Globe nomination for best actor. He also lends his voice to Victor, the hero of Funeral wedding, signed by Tim Burton and nominated for the 2005 Oscar for best animated film. In a radically different register, he embodied John Wilmot, XNUMXth century poet and Earl of Rochester, in Rochester, the last of the libertines by Laurence Dunmore, with John Malkovich and Samantha Morton. He then made his third film under the direction of Terry Gilliam, after Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas et The Man Who Killed Don Quixote, with The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. He also responds to Christian Bale and Marion Cotillard in Public Enemies Michael Mann, in which he played the criminal John Dillinger.

In 2008 he won his third Oscar nomination for best actor for Sweeney Todd, The Evil Barber of Fleet Street by Tim Burton, from the famous musical by Stephen Sondheim. He won the Golden Globe for best actor. In 2011, he received a double Golden Globe nomination for best actor in a musical film or comedy, for The Tourist by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, opposite Angelina Jolie, Paul Bettany and Timothy Dalton, and for Alice in Wonderland by Tim Burton, with Mia Wasikowska, Anne Hathaway, Helena Bonham Carter and Crispin Glover. He lends his voice to the main character of the film in computer-generated images Rango, directed by Gore Verbinski. Also in 2011, he produced and performed in Rum Express by Bruce Robinson, and produced Hugo Cabret by Martin Scorsese.

Johnny Depp is in 2014 the poster of Into the Woods, let's take a walk in the woods by Rob Marshall, the adaptation of the musical by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine, Transcendence by Wally Pfister, with Rebecca Hall and Paul Bettany, and previously Lone Ranger, Birth of a Hero by Gore Verbinski, in which he plays Tonto opposite Armie Hammer, and of which he is executive producer. He played the previous year in Dark Shadows, his eighth film directed by Tim Burton, of which he is also producer. The following year, he played the main roles of Strictly Criminal, written and directed by Scott Cooper, which earned him Screen Actors Guild Award and Critics Choice Award nominations for best actor, and Charlie mortdecai by David Koepp, with Gwyneth Paltrow, Ewan McGregor, Olivia Munn, Jeff Goldblum and Paul Bettany. He is also producer of this latest film.

In 2016, he is showing Fantastic animals by David Yates, and embodies the Mad Hatter in Alice on the other side of the mirror by James Bobin - a role he had created in Alice in Wonderland by Tim Burton in 2010. Last year, Johnny Depp again played the character of Grindelwald in Fantastic Animals: The Crimes of Grindelwald, still under the direction of David Yates.

He will come to present with Mark Rylance, the film Waiting for the barbarians by Ciro Guerra on Sunday September 8 for the 45th edition of the Deauville American Festival.

My travel book

Johnny Depp

Comédien, réalisateur, scénariste & producteur

Deauville Talent Award 2019 du 45e Festival du cinéma américain

Johnny Depp est l'un des comédiens les plus populaires du cinéma contemporain, et il est aussi producteur sous sa bannière Infinitum Nihil.

Nommé trois fois à l'Oscar du meilleur acteur, il obtient sa première nomination en 2004 avec la création du personnage de Jack Sparrow, héros de la saga Pirates des Caraïbes, dans le premier opus, Pirates des Caraïbes : La Malédiction du Black Pearl, réalisé par Gore Verbinski. Il incarne de nouveau ce personnage entré désormais dans la culture populaire dans Pirates des Caraïbes : Le Secret du coffre maudit et Pirates des Caraïbes : Jusqu'au bout du monde, également réalisés par Gore Verbinski, Pirates des Caraïbes : La Fontaine de Jouvence de Rob Marshall et dernièrement Pirates des Caraïbes : La Vengeance de Salazar de Joachim Rønning et Espen Sandberg. Outre sa nomination à l'Oscar pour le premier film, il est également nommé au Golden Globe et au BAFTA Award du meilleur acteur et remporte le Screen Actors Guild Award et l'Empire Award. Il est à nouveau cité au Golden Globe pour le second.

Né à Owensboro, dans le Kentucky, Johnny Depp passe sa jeunesse en Floride, où il se montre très tôt passionné de musique. Il fait partie d'un groupe rock nommé Kids, avec lequel il part à Los Angeles. Lorsque le groupe se sépare, il se tourne vers le métier d'acteur.

Il tient son premier rôle majeur en 1984 dans Les Griffes de la nuit de Wes Craven. Il joue par la suite dans Platoon d'Oliver Stone avant de devenir la coqueluche des téléspectateurs dans le rôle de l'officier Tom Hanson dans la très populaire série 21 Jump Street. Il sera durant quatre saisons la vedette de cette série avant de revenir vers le grand écran en tenant le rôle principal dans Cry Baby de John Waters.

Son émouvant personnage de la fable fantastique Edward aux mains d'argent, son premier film sous la direction de Tim Burton, l'impose en 1990, aussi bien auprès des critiques que du public, et lui vaut sa première nomination au Golden Globe du meilleur acteur. Il joue ensuite dans Arizona Dream d'Emir Kusturica, avec Jerry Lewis et Faye Dunaway. En 1993, il obtient une seconde citation au Golden Globe pour Benny & Joon de Jeremiah Chechik, dont il partage la vedette avec Aidan Quinn et Mary Stuart Masterson. Il joue aussi dans Gilbert Grape de Lasse Hallström. Il retrouve ensuite Tim Burton pour Ed Wood, qui lui vaut sa troisième citation au Golden Globe du meilleur acteur et un London Critics Circle Film Award. Il est salué en 1995 pour ses prestations dans Dead Man, dans lequel il est dirigé par Jim Jarmusch, Don Juan de Marco de Jeremy Leven, avec Marlon Brando et Faye Dunaway, et Meurtre en suspens de John Badham, avec Christopher Walken. Il est sacré meilleur acteur de sa génération après son interprétation dans Donnie Brasco de Mike Newell, avec Al Pacino, en 1997. À cette époque, Johnny Depp passe derrière la caméra pour réaliser son unique long métrage, The Brave, qu'il coécrit avec son frère D.P. Depp d'après le roman « Rafael, derniers jours » de Gregory McDonald. Le film est présenté au Festival de Cannes en 1997. Il en est aussi l'interprète principal aux côtés de Marlon Brando.

À sa déjà longue filmographie viennent s'ajouter Las Vegas Parano de Terry Gilliam, d'après le roman de Hunter S. Thompson, avec Benicio Del Toro, La Neuvième Porte de Roman Polanski, et Intrusion de Rand Ravich. Tim Burton le dirige pour la troisième fois en 1999 dans Sleepy Hollow, la légende du cavalier sans tête, avec Christina Ricci, pour lequel il remporte le Blockbuster Entertainment Award du meilleur acteur. En 2000, Johnny Depp tourne dans The Man Who Cried de Sally Potter, avec John Turturro, et Avant la nuit de Julian Schnabel. Il retrouve Lasse Hallström, après Gilbert Grape, pour Le Chocolat, avec Juliette Binoche. Johnny Depp est ensuite l'interprète de Blow de Ted Demme, qu'il vient présenter lui-même au Festival de Deauville en 2001, et de From Hell des frères Hughes, avec Heather Graham. L'année suivante, en 2003, il joue dans Pirates des Caraïbes : La Malédiction du Black Pearl et dans Il était une fois au Mexique – Desperado 2 de Robert Rodriguez, avec Antonio Banderas et Salma Hayek, puis dans Neverland de Marc Forster. Pour son interprétation de J.M. Barrie, l'auteur de Peter Pan, dans ce dernier film, Johnny Depp est nommé à l'Oscar du meilleur acteur pour la deuxième fois, ainsi qu'au Golden Globe, au Screen Actors Guild Award et au BAFTA Award. En 2005, il incarne Willy Wonka dans Charlie et la chocolaterie, qui marque sa quatrième collaboration avec le réalisateur Tim Burton et lui a vaut une nomination au Golden Globe du meilleur acteur. Il prête également sa voix à Victor, le héros des Noces funèbres, signé par Tim Burton et nommé à l'Oscar 2005 du meilleur film d'animation. Dans un registre radicalement différent, il incarne John Wilmot, poète du XVIIe siècle et comte de Rochester, dans Rochester, le Dernier des libertins de Laurence Dunmore, avec John Malkovich et Samantha Morton. Il tourne par la suite son troisième film sous la direction de Terry Gilliam, après Las Vegas Parano et The Man Who Killed Don Quixote, avec L'Imaginarium du docteur Parnassus. Il donne aussi la réplique à Christian Bale et Marion Cotillard dans Public Enemies de Michael Mann, dans lequel il incarnait le criminel John Dillinger.

Il obtient en 2008 sa troisième nomination à l'Oscar du meilleur acteur pour Sweeney Todd, le Diabolique Barbier de Fleet Street de Tim Burton, tiré de la célèbre comédie musicale de Stephen Sondheim. Il remporte le Golden Globe du meilleur acteur. En 2011, il reçoit une double nomination au Golden Globe du meilleur acteur dans un film musical ou une comédie, pour The Tourist de Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, face à Angelina Jolie, Paul Bettany et Timothy Dalton, et pour Alice au pays des merveilles de Tim Burton, avec Mia Wasikowska, Anne Hathaway, Helena Bonham Carter et Crispin Glover. Il prête sa voix au personnage principal du film en images de synthèse Rango, réalisé par Gore Verbinski. Toujours en 2011, il produit et joue dans Rhum Express de Bruce Robinson, et produit Hugo Cabret de Martin Scorsese.

Johnny Depp est en 2014 à l'affiche de Into the Woods, promenons-nous dans les bois de Rob Marshall, l'adaptation de la comédie musicale de Stephen Sondheim et James Lapine, Transcendance de Wally Pfister, avec Rebecca Hall et Paul Bettany, et auparavant Lone Ranger, Naissance d'un héros de Gore Verbinski, dans lequel il interprète Tonto face à Armie Hammer, et dont il est producteur exécutif. Il joue l'année précédente dans Dark Shadows, son huitième film sous la direction de Tim Burton, dont il est aussi producteur. L'année suivante, il tient les rôles principaux de Strictly Criminal, écrit et réalisé par Scott Cooper, qui lui vaut des nominations au Screen Actors Guild Award et au Critics Choice Award du meilleur acteur, et de Charlie Mortdecai de David Koepp, avec Gwyneth Paltrow, Ewan McGregor, Olivia Munn, Jeff Goldblum et Paul Bettany. Il est également producteur de ce dernier film.

En 2016, il est à l'affiche des Animaux fantastiques de David Yates, et incarne le Chapelier fou dans Alice de l'autre côté du miroir de James Bobin – un rôle qu'il avait créé dans Alice au pays des merveilles de Tim Burton en 2010. L'année dernière, Johnny Depp incarne à nouveau le personnage de Grindelwald dans Les Animaux fantastiques : Les Crimes de Grindelwald, toujours sous la direction de David Yates.

Il viendra présenter avec Mark Rylance, le film Waiting for the barbarians de Ciro Guerra le dimanche 8 septembre à l'occasion du 45e édition du Festival américain de Deauville.