COLLECTIONS MUSEUMS

Le Grand Bain © Nadine Jestin for the Planches Contact 2020 festival

COLLECTION PHOTOGRAPHIC

Rich in its history with the greatest photographers throughout the century, Deauville created in 2010 the Festival of photographic creations Contact Board (s), the only festival in France to rely on public commissions and therefore an artistic production specific to Deauville. This creative space allows the City today to have a vast contemporary collection including images of Massimo Vitali, Paolo Roversi, David Amstrong, Philippe Ramette, Sarah Moon or Kishin Shinoyama. She also continues to acquire prints of photographs taken in Deauville by the most significant photographers of the century: Robert Capa, Gisèle Freund, the Seeberger Brothers, Jacques-Henri Lartigue…

 

The Photographers & Deauville, portraits

Baya our steward - 1933 © André Hambourg

THE ANDRÉ COLLECTION HAMBURG

Founding collection, it motivated the museum project of the city, when Nicole Hambourg proposed, in 2011, a large donation of paintings by her husband. The collection includes more than 4000 donated works, including 539 paintings and a few thousand drawings by André Hambourg (1909-1999), a marine painter very attached to Deauville and the Côte Fleurie. This donation also contains more than 500 works by Marie Laurencin, Foujita, Van Dongen or Derain, collected by the couple over the years. Since 2011, the City of Deauville has been pursuing a parallel acquisition policy, favoring figurative painting from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries. Works by Eugène Boudin, Paul Signac, André Lhote, Moïse Kisling, Raoul Dufy have joined this collection.

The André Hamburg Museum

The Yachts basin in Deauville © Pierre Bonnard - Painting in Normandy

THE COLLECTION PAINTING IN NORMANDIE

Les Franciscaines is also the custodian of the "Peindre en Normandie" collection. This exceptional collection brings together nearly 200 Impressionist works from 1750 to 1950, around the representation of Normandy by illustrious or unknown painters seduced by its colors, its clouds, thus producing the most beautiful works at the time of Impressionism and Fauvism. . This collection has been exhibited in France, notably in the salons of the National Assembly. She is also France's messenger abroad. It was exhibited in Deauville at Point de Vue in 2018.

See the web-series

Deauville, the flowered beach © Collection Romanet

THE SPECIALIZED FUND HORSE

Horse is a fundamental element of the identity of Deauville. Racing, breeding, polo and equestrian sports have marked the history of the city since its creation. Validating the quality, rarity and level of expertise of the media library collection, the National Library of France granted Franciscans in 2020 the label of "associated horse pole". Donations from Isabel and Louis Romanet, Jean-Louis Gouraud and Guy Thibault, racing historian, have enriched the horse fund.

October 20, 1912. Sketches and caricatures of personalities © Collection Romanet

THE SPECIALIZED FUND DEAUVILLE

Le “Deauville memory” fund owes a lot to the passion of local collectors. It is Gilbert Hamel's motivation that gives the city its accumulated treasures which bring the Deauville of our parents, grandparents and great-grandparents back to life. This base of donations by amateur historians is enriched by acquisitions, in particular "Deauville", this incredible collaborative work published in 1931 where the texts of Paul Poiret are illustrated by Van Dongen. Isabel and Louis Romanet's donation also presents a selection of pieces directly linked to the Deauville heritage.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

DES COLLECTIONS MUSÉALES

Le Grand Bain © Nadine Jestin pour le festival Planches Contact 2020

LA COLLECTION PHOTOGRAPHIQUE

Riche de son histoire avec les plus grands photographes tout au long du siècle, Deauville a créé en 2010 le Festival de créations photographiques Planche(s) Contact, seul festival en France à s'appuyer sur des commandes publiques et donc une production artistique propre à Deauville. Cet espace de création permet à la Ville de disposer aujourd'hui d'un vaste fonds contemporain comprenant des images de Massimo Vitali, Paolo Roversi, David Amstrong, Philippe Ramette, Sarah Moon ou encore Kishin Shinoyama. Elle continue par ailleurs à acquérir des tirages de photographies réalisées à Deauville par les photographes les plus marquants du siècle : Robert Capa, Gisèle Freund, les Frères Seeberger, Jacques-Henri Lartigue…

 

Les Photographes & Deauville, portraits

Baya notre intendante - 1933 © André Hambourg

LA COLLECTION ANDRÉ HAMBOURG

Collection fondatrice, elle a motivé le projet muséal de la ville, lorsque Nicole Hambourg a proposé, en 2011, une donation importante de toiles de son mari. La collection compte plus de 4000 œuvres données, dont 539 peintures et quelques milliers de dessins d'André Hambourg (1909-1999), peintre de la marine très attaché à Deauville et à la Côte Fleurie. Cette donation contient également plus de 500 œuvres de Marie Laurencin, Foujita, Van Dongen ou Derain, rassemblées par le couple au fil des années. Depuis 2011, la Ville de Deauville mène en parallèle une politique d’acquisition, privilégiant la peinture figurative des XIXe et XXe siècles. Des œuvres d’Eugène Boudin, Paul Signac, André Lhote, Moïse Kisling, Raoul Dufy ont rejoint cette collection.

Le Musée André Hambourg

Le bassin des Yachts à Deauville © Pierre Bonnard - Peindre en Normandie

LA COLLECTION PEINDRE EN NORMANDIE

Les Franciscaines est aussi dépositaire de la collection "Peindre en Normandie". Cette collection exceptionnelle rassemble près de 200 œuvres Impressionnistes de 1750 à 1950, autour de la représentation de la Normandie par des peintres illustres ou méconnus séduits par ses couleurs, ses nuages, produisant ainsi les plus belles œuvres au temps de l'impressionnisme et du fauvisme. Cette collection a été exposée en France, notamment dans les salons de l'Assemblée nationale. Elle est également le messager de la France à l'étranger. Elle a été exposée à Deauville au Point de Vue en 2018.

Voir la web-série

Deauville, la plage fleurie © Collection Romanet

LE FONDS SPÉCIALISÉ CHEVAL

Le cheval est un élément fondamental de l’identité deauvillaise. Les courses, l’élevage, le polo et les sports équestres jalonnent l’histoire de la ville depuis sa création. Validant la qualité, la rareté et le niveau d’expertise du fonds de la médiathèque, la Bibliothèque nationale de France a accordé en 2020 aux Franciscaines le label de "pôle associé cheval". Les donations d'Isabel et Louis Romanet, Jean-Louis Gouraud et Guy Thibault, historien des courses, sont venues enrichir le fonds cheval.

20 octobre 1912. Croquis et caricatures de personnalités © Collection Romanet

LE FONDS SPÉCIALISÉ DEAUVILLE

Le fonds "mémoire de Deauville" doit beaucoup à la passion des collectionneurs locaux. C’est la motivation de Gilbert Hamel qui donne à la ville ses trésors accumulés qui font revivre le Deauville de nos parents, grands-parents et arrière-grands-parents. Ce socle de donations par des historiens amateurs s’enrichit au gré d’acquisitions, notamment "Deauville", cette incroyable œuvre collaborative publiée en 1931 où les textes de Paul Poiret sont illustrés par Van Dongen. La donation d'Isabel et Louis Romanet présente également une sélection de pièces directement liées au patrimoine deauvillais.