French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Bernard Descamps

Photographer invited to the Festival Planche (s) Contact in 2016

The beach © Bernard Descamps, Deauville, 2016
Deauville Traveling beach © Bernard Descamps, Deauville, 2016

Deauville-traveling-beach

Bernard Descamps signs his first publication in 1974, in the Swiss review Camera. He exhibited the following year with Bernard Plossu, Bruno and Kuligowski, at the Bibliothèque nationale de France, in an exhibition organized by Jean-Claude Lemagny. A series of collective and personal exhibitions will follow, in France and abroad, in particular: in 1976 with André Kertész at the Leverkusen museum (Germany), in 1978 at the Georges Pompidou center for a personal exhibition, and in 1983 for Sahara, an exhibition presented at the Agathe Gaillard gallery in Paris.
In 1986, he was one of the founding members of the VU agency. Eight years later he founded alongside Françoise Huguier the Rencontres de la photographie africaine de Bamako.
His work was recently exhibited at the Hôtel de Sauroy during a retrospective presented in the fall of 2015, which gave rise to the publication of a new book, Where did our dreams go? (ed. Watermarks).
Bernard Descamps is represented by the Camera Obscura galleries, Paris and the Box gallery, Brussels.

In Deauville as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

Master of black and white photography, Bernard Descamps loves the curves of beaches and deserts, the skies of birds and the seaside lights. Since the 80s, with a unique sense of framing and composition, Bernard Descamps has used the square format that purifies and recomposes the landscapes of Africa, the streets of Tokyo or the beaches of the North in winter.
In Deauville he resumed his favorite posture, that of the traveling photographer who walks a long way and walks the beach and the city, its empty or invested spaces, weekdays and weekends. This is how he reveals it, in nuances and in all its light.

Bernard Descamps about his exhibition Deauville-traveling-beach :

""In Deauville, a Sunday
In the rain, on the boards,
She walks next
From an older man.
He says almost nothing
In Deauville this morning.
He walks on the beach
His second marriage
"...

Thus begins the song Deauville without Trintignant by Vincent Delerm.

Here is a first photograph: that of a somewhat sad couple on the wet boards of Deauville ...
This is how I like to photograph. To be there, to stroll, to watch, to listen, to make me forget, to roam the places; with curiosity as the main driver, follow the very ordinary events that make up the daily life of a beach, wait for the ordinary to switch to the unexpected, the nice surprise, and try to fix it, to stop time ... what ambition! Attempt to catch those little pleasures that make good photographs. Those who carry a little emotion, like a song does. The photographs of this constant tracking shot on the boards of Deauville must be sung ... preferably in a low voice.
."

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Bernard Descamps

Photographe invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

La plage © Bernard Descamps, Deauville, 2016
Deauville Travelling plage © Bernard Descamps, Deauville, 2016

Deauville-travelling-plage

Bernard Descamps signe sa première publication en 1974, dans la revue suisse Camera. Il expose l’année suivante avec Bernard Plossu, Bruno et Kuligowski, à la Bibliothèque nationale de France, dans une exposition organisée par Jean-Claude Lemagny. S’en suivront une série d’expositions collectives et personnelles, en France et à l’étranger, notamment : en 1976 avec André Kertész au musée de Leverkusen (Allemagne), en 1978 au centre Georges Pompidou pour une exposition personnelle, et en 1983 pour Sahara, une exposition présentée galerie Agathe Gaillard à Paris.
En 1986, il fait partie des membres fondateurs de l’agence VU. Huit ans plus tard il fonde aux côtés de Françoise Huguier les Rencontres de la photographie africaine de Bamako.
Ses travaux ont récemment été exposés à l’hôtel de Sauroy lors d’une rétrospective présentée à l’automne 2015, ayant donné lieu à la parution d’un nouveau livre, Où sont passés nos rêves ? (éd. Filigranes).  
Bernard Descamps est représenté par les galeries Camera Obscura, Paris et la Box galerie, Bruxelles.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Maître de la photographie noir et blanc, Bernard Descamps aime les courbes des plages et des déserts, les ciels d’oiseaux et les lumières balnéaires. Depuis les années 80, avec un sens unique du cadrage et de la composition, Bernard Descamps utilise le format carré qui épure et recompose les paysages d’Afrique, les rues de Tokyo ou les plages du Nord en hiver.
A Deauville il a repris sa posture préférée, celle du photographe voyageur qui marche longuement et arpente la plage et la ville, ses espaces vides ou investis, la semaine et le week-end. C’est ainsi qu’il la révèle, en nuances et dans toutes ses lumières.
 

Bernard Descamps à propos de son exposition Deauville-travelling-plage

" "A Deauville, un dimanche
Sous la pluie, sur les planches, 
Elle s'avance à côté
D'un homme plus âgé. 
Il ne dit presque rien
A Deauville, ce matin. 
Il promène sur la plage
Son deuxième mariage
"...

Ainsi débute la chanson Deauville sans Trintignant de Vincent Delerm. 

Voici une première photographie : celle d'un couple un peu triste sur les planches mouillées de Deauville...
C'est ainsi que j'aime photographier. Etre là, flâner, regarder, écouter, me faire oublier, parcourir les lieux; avec la curiosité comme principal moteur, suivre les événements très ordinaires qui font le quotidien d'une plage, attendre que l'ordinaire bascule vers l'inattendu, la belle surprise, et tenter de la fixer, d'arrêter le temps... quelle ambition ! Tenter d'attraper ces petits bonheurs qui font les bonnes photographies. Celles qui portent une petite émotion, comme le fait une chanson. Les photographies de ce travelling incessant sur les planches de Deauville doivent être chantonnées... de préférence à voix basse..
."