French Dutch English German Spanish

Taste ! In Martine Lambert's laboratory

When exceptional ice creams and sorbets reveal their secrets

In pictures, Martine Lambert offers you a privileged visit to her manufacturing workshop 

Helene Reitzaum

"A reflection that I still hear every day in my shop: It looks like eating the fruit. I never dare answer that it is normal! Because that's exactly what I'm looking for. "Thus, for more than 40 years, Martine Lambert has been delighting lovers of Deauville and even Paris with her wonderful ice creams and sorbets, where she has since opened a store (at 39, rue Clerc).

This adventure, Martine Lambert first explains by a “combination of circumstances. “Originally, she who was more intended for a career in advertising or at L'Oréal after studying Sup de co in Le Havre, was convinced by her husband (a graduate of INSEAD) to set up a business. of frozen products. In 1974, Martine rented a first store in Deauville to resell products from the Sorbetière de Paris. With the heatwave of 1976, her supplier no longer managing to supply her stocks, she decided to buy an ice cream maker. "I had to learn a lot. I met great chefs, pastry chefs. Little by little, we arrived at this product, in my image, that is to say authentic. A healthy, full product. of vitamins, made from fresh fruits and milk from Normandy. I feel a certain pride in the idea of ​​having maintained this tradition without cheating ", considers Martine Lambert before delivering her leitmotif:" To seek the quintessence of quality of the basic product to restore it as faithfully as possible. "

 “The texture of sorbets is very difficult to obtain without adding texture agents. You need a balance between dry and wet, knowing that a fruit contains 90% moisture. To avoid adding too much sugar and therefore too much dryness ”, Martine Lambert, for example, makes her passion fruit sorbet made from Brazilian Maracuja. “Its cellulose pod prevents adding too much sugar. Like all ice cream parlors, we could use frozen fruit juice. But that's part of our perfectionist madness. My luxury is there ”, in the optimal selection of the raw material. “In our business, the price of the raw material is not very important. [The most important item] is all the work that comes behind: packaging, logistics, transport… The poor peasants are right to complain because the raw material is not at its price! "

In pictures, Martine Lambert invites you to visit her laboratory in Deauville, through one of her flagship creations: the Succulent (hazelnut praline, chocolate, caramel in a copper cauldron, roasted almonds and hazelnuts, equatorial chocolate sauce).

My travel book

Du Goût ! Dans le laboratoire de Martine Lambert

Quand glaces et sorbets exceptionnels livrent leurs secrets

En image, Martine Lambert vous offre une visite privilégiée de son atelier de fabrication 

Hélène Reitzaum

"Une réflexion que j’entends encore tous les jours dans ma boutique : On croirait manger le fruit. Je n’ose jamais répondre que c’est normal ! Car c’est justement ce que je recherche." Ainsi, depuis plus de 40 ans, Martine Lambert régale-t-elle de ses glaces et sorbets merveilleux les amateurs de Deauville et même de Paris, où elle a depuis ouvert une enseigne (au 39, rue Clerc).

Cette aventure, Martine Lambert l’explique d’abord par un « concours de circonstances. » À l’origine, elle qui se destinait plutôt à une carrière dans la publicité ou chez L’Oréal après des études Sup de co au Havre, s’est laissée convaincre par son mari (diplômé de l’INSEAD) de monter une entreprise de produits surgelés. Dès 1974, Martine loue une première boutique à Deauville pour revendre des produits de la Sorbetière de Paris. Avec la canicule de 1976, son fournisseur ne parvenant plus à alimenter ses stocks, elle décide d’acheter une turbine à glace. "Il a fallu que j’apprenne beaucoup. J’ai rencontré de grands chefs, des pâtissiers. Petit à petit, nous sommes arrivés à ce produit, à mon image, c’est-à-dire authentique. Un produit sain, plein de vitamines, à base de fruits frais et de lait de Normandie. J’éprouve une certaine fierté à l’idée d’avoir maintenu cette tradition sans tricher", estime Martine Lambert avant de livrer son leitmotiv : "Chercher la quintessence de la qualité du produit de base pour la restituer le plus fidèlement possible."

 « La texture des sorbets est très difficile à obtenir sans adjoindre d’agents de texture. Il faut un équilibre entre le sec et l’humide, sachant qu’un fruit renferme 90% d’humidité. Pour éviter de mettre trop de sucre, donc trop de sec », Martine Lambert réalise par exemple son sorbet fruit de la passion à base de Maracuja du Brésil. « Sa gousse cellulosique évite de rajouter trop de sucre. On pourrait, comme tous les glaciers, utiliser du jus de fruit surgelé. Mais cela fait partie de notre folie perfectionniste. Mon luxe est là », dans la sélection optimale de la matière première. « Dans nos métiers, le prix de la matière première n’a pas grande importance. [Le poste le plus important], c’est tout le travail qui vient derrière : le conditionnement, la logistique, les transports… Les pauvres paysans ont raison de se plaindre car la matière première, elle, n’est pas à son prix ! »

En images, Martine Lambert vous convie à visiter son laboratoire deauvillais, à travers l’une de ses créations phare : le Succulent (praliné noisette, chocolat, caramel au chaudron de cuivre, amandes et noisettes torréfiées, sauce chocolat équatorial).