French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Taste ! In the kitchen with Michelin-starred chef Maximin Hellio

[Recipes] Marans egg, Orbec mushroom - Jean-Marc Lebey apple, macadamia

In pictures, follow the chef's recipes, tips and tricks step by step

Hélène Reitzaum

"We are here to honor all those people who make exceptional products. We select the best. We have to question ourselves every time." Maximin Hellio sums up his conception of the profession, which has earned him a star in the Michelin Guide since his installation in Deauville in April 2016. Named "Best Hope" and "Great of Tomorrow" in 2012 by Gault et Millau, Maximin Hellio seems to have an ambition like his cuisine, healthy and simple.

"My cuisine is modern and creative of course, but it is above all respectful of the product. When I go to the Deauville market, I listen and I exchange a lot", explains this young chef, who first made his arms with his father Michel at La Voile d'Or in Brittany where he had already won a star, then alongside Arnaud Lallement and Frédéric Anton (Le Pré Catelan) who "instilled certain values" in him.

Offer authentic, quality cuisine, accessible to the greatest number, in a resolutely contemporary place where the atmosphere is friendly, chic and relaxed: this is the goal of Maximin Hellio, who invites us in his kitchens, to follow not step by step the recipes of two "signature" dishes from the house: Marans' chicken egg by Éric Caplier (Le Breuil-en-Auge), Orbec mushroom and yuzu, then Jean-Marc Lebey's Apple, macadamia. Perfect cooking of the poached egg, homemade phyllo dough…: Maximin Hellio reveals some of his secrets here.

My cooking is sensitive, like me. She is modern and creative of course, but she is above all respectful of the product.
Maximin Hellio, Michelin starred chef

My travel book

Menu

Du Goût ! En cuisine avec le chef étoilé Maximin Hellio

[Recettes] Œuf de Marans, champignon d’Orbec - Pomme de Jean-Marc Lebey, macadamia

En image, suivez pas à pas les recettes, conseils et tours de main du chef

Hélène Reitzaum

"Nous sommes là pour mettre à l’honneur toutes ces personnes qui font des produits d’exception. On sélectionne ce qu’il y a de meilleur. Il faut de se remettre en question à chaque fois". Ainsi Maximin Hellio résume-t-il sa conception du métier, qui lui vaut une étoile au Guide Michelin depuis son installation à Deauville en avril 2016. Sacré "Meilleur espoir" et "Grand de demain" en 2012 par le Gault et Millau, Maximin Hellio semble nourri d'une ambition à l'image de sa cuisine, saine et simple.

"Ma cuisine est moderne et créative bien sûr, mais elle est surtout respectueuse du produit. Quand je me rends sur le marché de Deauville, j'écoute et j'échange beaucoup", explique ce jeune chef, qui a d’abord fait ses armes auprès de son père Michel à La Voile d'Or en Bretagne où il avait déjà décroché une étoile, puis aux côtés d’Arnaud Lallement et de Frédéric Anton (Le Pré Catelan) qui lui "ont inculqué certaines valeurs".

Offrir une cuisine authentique, de qualité, accessible au plus grand nombre, dans un lieu résolument contemporain où l'atmosphère se veut conviviale, chic et décontractée : tel est l'objectif de Maximin Hellio, qui nous invite dans ses cuisines, à suivre pas à pas les recettes de deux plats "signatures" de la maison : l'Oeuf de poule de Marans d'Éric Caplier (Le Breuil-en-Auge), champignon d'Orbec et yuzu, puis la Pomme de Jean-Marc Lebey, macadamia. Cuisson parfaite de l’œuf poché, réalisation maison d’une pâte phyllo… : Maximin Hellio livre ici quelques-uns de ses secrets.

Ma cuisine est sensible, comme moi. Elle est moderne et créative bien sûr, mais elle est surtout respectueuse du produit.
Maximin Hellio, chef étoilé Michelin