Visit
May 10, 2018

Taste! In the kitchen at L'Essentiel

[Recipe] Carpaccio of scallops from the Seine Bay, endives with yuzu, Calamansi and passion fruit vinaigrette, lamb's lettuce and red shiso shoots

In pictures, the recipe to follow step by step

Hélène Reitzaum

At the helm of L'Essentiel, a 2018 Michelin-starred restaurant, Charles Thuillant and his wife Mi-Ra have developed an upscale French-Korean fusion cuisine, in a contemporary setting that has been renewed, sober and comfortable, favoring exchange, space and transparency.

Before cooking a scallop carpaccio of his own making, as refined as it is tasty, Charles takes us to the Deauville market, where he is a regular, to meet some of his suppliers, including market gardener Ludovic Lemarchand (Villerville), poulterer Etienne Peltier (Ferme de la Vallée - Reux) and fishmonger Chez Alain (Trouville-sur-Mer). An ideal opportunity to explain the philosophy behind his art, with its emphasis on short distribution channels. A cuisine that respects the seasons and local producers. The plate is alive," explains Charles Thuillant. It has to be built around the producers", most of whom are less than 100 km from l'Essentiel. "This proximity really allows us to juggle with the seasons and adapt to nature. If the product is of high quality, it will inspire us to create the plate."

Here, we feed the bellies and also, a little, the souls. We come to indulge ourselves.
Charles Thuillant, head of L'Essentiel
Hélène Reitzaum

The restaurant itself has been designed in line with this sustainable and responsible approach. "Everything that consumes energy has been put aside. We have removed the cold rooms - which represent space just for moving around - to keep only refrigerators and optimize this use of cold. All the lighting is LED. The kitchen has been completely redesigned to reduce water, energy and time consumption to a minimum, so that the time freed up can be devoted to customers and creativity, rather than maintenance", says Charles Thuillant. He adds: "Our job is to ensure that customers who come for pleasure leave with the same pleasure and the same desire to return. It's an essential link for the team, Mi-Ra and me."

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Du Goût ! En cuisine à L'Essentiel

[Recette] Carpaccio de Saint-Jacques de Baie de Seine, endives de pays au yuzu, vinaigrette Calamansi et fruit de la passion, mâche et pousses de shiso rouge

En images, la recette à suivre pas à pas

Hélène Reitzaum

Aux commandes du restaurant L'Essentiel, étoilé Michelin 2018, Charles Thuillant a développé avec son épouse Mi-Ra une cuisine haut de gamme et fusion franco-coréenne, dans un cadre contemporain renouvelé, sobre et confortable, favorisant l'échange, l’espace et la transparence.

Avant de réaliser en cuisine un carpaccio de Saint-Jacques à sa façon, aussi raffiné que savoureux, Charles nous emmène sur le marché de Deauville où il a ses habitudes, à la rencontre de certains de ses fournisseurs, tels le maraîcher Ludovic Lemarchand (Villerville), le volailler Etienne Peltier (Ferme de la Vallée - Reux) et le poissonnier Chez Alain (Trouville-sur-Mer). Une occasion idéale d’exposer la philosophie qui préside à son art, privilégiant le circuit-court. Une cuisine respectueuse des saisons et des producteurs locaux. "L’assiette est vivante, explique Charles Thuillant. Elle doit être construite en fonction des producteurs", dont la majorité se trouve à moins de 100 km de l’Essentiel. "Cette proximité nous permet vraiment de jongler avec les saisons et de nous adapter à la nature. Si le produit est de qualité, cela nous inspirera pour réaliser l’assiette."

Ici, on nourrit les ventres et aussi, un peu, les âmes. On vient pour se faire plaisir.
Charles Thuillant, chef de L'Essentiel
Hélène Reitzaum

Le restaurant lui-même a été pensé en accord avec cette démarche durable et responsable. "Tout ce qui est énergivore a été mis de côté. Nous avons retiré les chambres froides - qui représentent de la place uniquement pour se déplacer - pour ne garder que des réfrigérateurs et optimiser cette utilisation du froid. L’ensemble de l’éclairage est en LED. La cuisine a été complètement repensée afin de réduire au minimum la consommation d’eau, d’énergie et de temps, afin que ce temps dégagé soit dévolu aux clients et à la créativité, plus qu’à l’entretien", estime Charles Thuillant. Et d’ajouter : "Notre job, c’est de faire en sorte que la clientèle qui vient par envie et plaisir, ressorte avec le même plaisir et la même envie de revenir. C’est un lien essentiel pour l’équipe, Mi-Ra et moi."