French Dutch English German Spanish

Rudy Dumas

Artist

Guest of the 2021 L'Appel du Large festival

Rudy Dumas was born into a family of gypsies and "rode the road" all his young years by following the family circus. It is perhaps there, on these areas without picturesque abandoned urbanity, that he invented his landscape, a carnival of forms which draws its essence from an immediate, interior, puffed, dirty environment, gray, dormant, abandoned, beautiful as a gutted springboard, a burning car, a screaming bottle of oil, a section of wall covered with lizards. With one foot in the institution and the other in theUnderground, it deploys a double game from one territory to another and calls for our reflection on the position we have in society.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

As part of the L'Appel du Large festival which will take place from July 2 to 4, 2021, Rudy Dumas is exhibiting a sculpture entitled "Essence". The day the artist became" non-essential "in France, a questioning appeared, that of our legitimacy within our society. While the essence of the artist, the essence of wood or gasoline as fuel to operate the mechanical cogs and which serve to sharpen our critical minds, it is at this very moment that our essence works. her alter ego is no more, she is one, by extension it finds its essence in the decor, it is here about poetry observed through the prism that a single word can symbolize. More information on L'Appel du Large here.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Rudy Dumas

Artiste

Invité du festival L'Appel du Large 2021

Rudy Dumas est né dans une famille de gitans et "a fait la route" toutes ses jeunes années en suivant le cirque familial. C’est peut-être bien là, sur ces aires sans pittoresque d’urbanité à l’abandon, qu’il a inventé́ son paysage, un carnaval de formes qui tire son essence d’un environnement immédiat, intérieur, bouffé, sale, gris, en déshérence, abandonné, beau comme un tremplin éventré, une voiture qui brûle, une bouteille d’huile qui hurle, un pan de murs couvert de lézards. Avec un pied dans l’institution et l’autre dans l’Underground, il déploie un double jeu d’un territoire à l’autre et convoque notre réflexion sur la position que nous avons dans la société.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dans le cadre du festival L’Appel du Large qui aura lieu du 2 au 4 juillet 2021, Rudy Dumas expose une sculpture intitulée "Essence". Le jour où l’artiste est devenu "non-essentiel" en France, un questionnement est apparu, celui de notre légitimité au sein de notre société. Alors que l’essence de l’artiste, l’essence d’un bois ou bien l’essence comme combustible pour faire fonctionner les rouages mécaniques et qui servent à affûter nos esprits critique, c’est à ce moment même que notre essence fait œuvre. Quand la typographie du mot essence se mêle aux matériaux, quand la distinction avec son alter ego n’est plus, elle ne fait qu’un, par extension celle-ci trouve son essence dans le décor, il s’agit ici de poésie observée à travers le prisme qu’un seul mot peut symboliser. Plus d'informations sur L'Appel du Large ici.