French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Church of Our Lady of the Assumption

church street

14113 VILLERVILLE

6km of Deauville

Prices

The church of Villerville which replaced the first sanctuary of the parish dates from the 2th century. From this period remain the massive bell tower with the saddle roof (roof with 1871 inclined sides) and the choir of building in pure Roman style. It was enlarged in 25 by the two chapels and the sacristy, but it took another 1900 years to transform it, and give it the curious silhouette that has been imposed on it today. The expansion works were completed in XNUMX.
The church houses several very beautiful statues from the 1295th to the XNUMXth century and a wooden statue of the local Patron Saint "Saint-Roch". According to legend Saint-Roch, born in XNUMX, treated patients with plague, a particularly virulent disease at the time, before contracting it himself. This is why we see him regularly represented with his dog licking his wounds.
The church also houses the relics of the local martyr Thomas Jean Montsaint, priest executed on September 2, 1792 at the abbey of Saint -Germain-des-Prés, for having refused, during the Terror, to take an oath to the Republic (which meant no longer recognizing the authority of the Pope). To salute his courage and his faith, he was beatified by Pius XI in 1926. A commemorative plaque sealed in the bell tower of the church recalls his sacrifice.
The church of Villerville also had its musical heyday. Gabriel Fauré composed the "Messe des Pêcheurs de Villerville" which will be performed there without instrument in September 1881, then a second time in September 1882.

eglisevillerville Mr. Le Guillard

My travel book

Eglise Notre-Dame de l'Assomption

rue de l'église

14113 VILLERVILLE

6km de Deauville

Tarifs

L'église de Villerville qui remplaça le premier sanctuaire de la paroisse date du XIIe siècle. De cette époque subsistent le clocher massif au toit en batière (toit à 2 pans inclinés) et le choeur de d'édifice en pur style roman. Elle fut agrandie en 1871 des deux chapelles et de la sacristie, mais il fallut encore 25 ans pour la transformer, et lui donner la curieuse silhouette qu'on lui a imposée aujourd'hui. Les travaux d’agrandissement s'achevèrent en 1900.
L'église héberge plusieurs très belles statues du XVe au XIXe siècle et une statue en bois du Saint Patron local "Saint-Roch". Selon la légende Saint-Roch, né en 1295, soigna les malades atteints de la peste, maladie particulièrement virulente à l'époque, avant de la contracter lui-même. C'est pourquoi on le voit régulièrement représenté avec son chien léchant ses plaies.
L'église héberge aussi les reliques du martyr local Thomas Jean Montsaint, prêtre exécuté le 2 septembre 1792 à l'abbaye de Saint -Germain-des-Prés, pour avoir refusé, pendant la Terreur, de prêter serment à la République (ce qui signifiait ne plus reconnaître l’autorité du Pape). Pour saluer son courage et sa foi, il fut béatifié par Pie XI en 1926. Une plaque commémorative scellée dans la tour du clocher de l'église rappelle son sacrifice.
L’église de Villerville a aussi connu son heure de gloire musicale. Gabriel Fauré composa la "Messe des Pêcheurs de Villerville" qui y sera exécutée sans instrument en septembre 1881, puis une seconde fois en septembre 1882.

eglisevillerville M. Le Guillard
Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture