St. Thomas Church


14800 TOUCH

Namely

Listed as a historical monument since 1926, the church of Saint-Thomas de Touques has been enormously altered since its construction in the 21th century, and only retains the original one of its bell tower (1870 meters high), surmounted by a Neo-Gothic octagonal spire added after the repair of the bell tower in XNUMX.
The church has a Romanesque nave, transformed in the XNUMXth, XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, a Gothic choir entirely rebuilt during the Hundred Years War, and a Louis XIV-style portal. The choir houses an old opening intended for lepers of the sickness center of Saint-Marc so that they can listen to mass outside.
The church bears the name Saint Thomas in reference to Thomas Becket, archbishop of Canterburry after his visit to Touques. Thomas Becket was in the service of King Henry II Plantagenêt as Chancellor of England. Following his appointment as archbishop, he renounced his role as chancellor and publicly opposed the king. Thomas Becket was assassinated in his cathedral in 1170. He will be canonized in 1173 and the inhabitants of Touques will place their church under his protection. Inside the church, a stained glass window represents his assassination. We can also see "holes in the burrows" in the walls which were used to put scaffolding to allow repairs, a gigantic crucifix dating from the XNUMXth century, a statue of Saint Gilles (protector of children), a virgin and child.
Outside, under the roof, "Modillions" representing animal heads were used to hold the cornice.
The Saint-Thomas church is since the desecration of the Saint-Pierre church, the only place of worship of Touques.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Eglise Saint-Thomas


14800 TOUQUES

A savoir

Inscrite au titre des monuments historiques depuis 1926, l'église Saint-Thomas de Touques a été énormément remaniée depuis sa construction au XIIe siècle, et ne conserve plus d'origine que sa tour clocher (haute de 21 mètres), surmontée d'une flèche octogonale néo-gothique ajoutée après la réfection du clocher en 1870.
L'église présente une nef romane, transformée aux XIVe, XVIIe et XIXe, un chœur gothique entièrement reconstruit pendant la guerre de Cent Ans, et un portail de style Louis XIV. Le chœur abrite une ancienne ouverture destinée aux lépreux de la maladrerie de Saint-Marc afin qu'ils puissent écouter la messe à l’extérieur.
L’église porte le nom Saint Thomas en référence à Thomas Becket, archevêque de Canterburry après son passage à Touques. Thomas Becket était au service du roi Henri II Plantagenêt comme chancelier d’Angleterre. Suite à sa nomination d’archevêque, il renonce à son rôle de chancelier et s’oppose publiquement au roi. Thomas Becket fut assassiné dans sa cathédrale en 1170. Il sera canonisé en 1173 et les habitants de Touques placeront leur église sous sa protection. A l'intérieur de l'église, un vitrail représente son assassinat. On peut apercevoir également des "trous de boulains" dans les murs qui servaient à mettre des échafaudages pour permettre les réparations, un gigantesque crucifix datant du XVIe siècle, une statue de Saint Gilles (protecteur des enfants), une vierge à l’enfant.
A l'extérieur, sous le toit, des "Modillons" représentant des têtes d’animaux servaient à tenir la corniche.
L’église Saint-Thomas est depuis la désacralisation de l’Eglise Saint-Pierre, le seul lieu de culte de Touques.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture