French Dutch English German Spanish

IMPRESSIONIST GETAWAY IN THREE STEPS

From Deauville beach, facing the sea, you take in a space where the sky and the sea are reflected. Right: Sainte-Adresse and Le Havre, then Honfleur, the cliffs of Villerville, the mouth of the Touques and Trouville… Left: Villers, Les Vaches noire, and Houlgate. This space was the cradle of impressionism. On the occasion of the Normandy Impressionist Festival, we are offering a three-stage route. Take advantage of your getaway to see further: festivals and exhibitions are on the program for the summer of Deauville.

Eugène Boudin - Deauville beach© Museum of Fine Arts of Caen, Martine Seyve, photographer
@ Naïade Plante

1 - IN THE STEPS BY EUGENE BOUDIN

Born on July 12, 1824 in Honfleur, Eugène Boudin, precursor of Impressionism, spent his youth in Le Havre and then stayed from 1864, every summer in Trouville-sur-Mer and Deauville. It transcribes the scenes of seaside life, from the elegant to the effervescence of the markets, from the augeron landscapes to the ports. Painter of the skies, he strives in his paintings to transcribe the transience of light, the changing skies, the matter of the clouds and the fickleness of the sea. In Deauville, Eugène Boudin is seduced by the view that one a from Deauville beach, from the pier. He settles there regularly with his easel and declines this same view of the beach, with the same framing under different lights.
In 1884, he built his house in Deauville, the Villa Les Ajoncs - a small Dutch cage - now renamed La Breloque, at 8 rue Olliffe - where he spent the last fourteen years of his life, It was in this house that he died on August 8, 1898.
Eugène Boudin produced over a hundred canvases and gouaches in Deauville. Since 1998, a plaque has been affixed to the facade of the house where he lived. In August 2010, a plaque was also placed on the Port Deauville breakwater. She reproduces the painting "La plage de Deauville" (1893), which belongs to the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen.

THE PANTHEON OF AN ERA

Indispensable portraitist of the society of the turn of the XNUMXth and the first half of the XNUMXth century J.É. Blanche rubs shoulders with the greatest figures of her time, both in Paris and in Normandy.
He stayed for the first time on the Côte Fleurie in the summer of 1891 in Trouville-sur-Mer at the Manoir des Frémonts. There he met a young law student, Marcel Proust. Seduced by this holiday, Rose and Jacques-Émile Blanche returned from 1896 to 1901 at the Château de Tout-la-Ville between Deauville and Pont-L'Évêque, where they received the literary, political and artistic Paris. The painter Paul Helleu - whose portrait he made of his son Jean - and André Gide stayed there among other guests.

In 1902, he acquired a large property in Offranville (Seine-Maritime) called the Manoir du Tôt where he lived every summer until his death. If Stravinsky, Cocteau, or Anna de Noailles - whose portraits he produced - write the history of the arts with an "H", they also write the history of Deauville, then in full swing.
The style of Jacques-Émile Blanche, both lively and of great refinement, borrows from sources of inspiration both British and French. Maurice Denis describes the portraits of Blanche as “a precious ensemble for the historians of the future; this gallery is the Pantheon of an era ”.

3 - AT THE BATHS, THE WOMEN IMPRESSIONISTS

Leaving the Viewpoint, go to Place Claude Lelouch. In the Cour des Bains Pompéïens, which you will access through the Sea Baths office, discover portraits of impressionist women.
An exhibition paying homage to Berthe Morisot, Marie Cassat ... in the open air which brings together portraits drawn by Simonne L'Hermitte, making them lively and current.
These original portraits were photographed, worked. They are reproduced in large format, accompanied by some biographical elements and a reproduction of a painting by the artist represented, to restore and measure the female part of the Impressionist adventure.

You will like also

My travel book

ESCAPADE IMPRESSIONNISTE EN TROIS ETAPES

De la plage de Deauville, face à la mer, on embrasse du regard un espace où le ciel et la mer se reflètent. À droite : Sainte-Adresse et Le Havre, puis Honfleur, les falaises de Villerville, l’embouchure de la Touques et Trouville… À gauche : Villers, Les Vaches noires, et Houlgate. Cet espace fut le berceau de l’impressionnisme. A l'occasion du Festival Normandie Impressionniste, nous vous proposons un parcours en trois étapes. Profitez de votre escapade pour voir plus loin : festivals et expositions sont au programme de l'été deauvillais.

Eugène Boudin - la plage de Deauville©Musée des Beaux Arts de Caen, Martine Seyve, photographe
@Naïade Plante

1 - DANS LES PAS D'EUGENE BOUDIN

Né le 12 juillet 1824 à Honfleur, Eugène Boudin, précurseur de l’impressionnisme,  passe sa jeunesse au Havre puis séjourne à partir de 1864, tous les étés à Trouville-sur-Mer et Deauville. Il transcrit les scènes de la vie balnéaire, des élégantes à l’effervescence des marchés, des paysages augerons aux ports. Peintre des ciels, il s’attache dans ses toiles, à transcrire la fugacité de la lumière, les ciels changeants, la matière des nuages et l’inconstance de la mer.  A Deauville, Eugène Boudin  est séduit par la vue que l’on a de la plage de Deauville, depuis la jetée. Il s’y installe régulièrement avec son chevalet et décline cette même vue de la plage, avec le même cadrage  sous des lumières différentes.
En 1884, il fait construire sa maison à Deauville, la Villa Les Ajoncs - une petite cage hollandaise  - aujourd’hui rebaptisée La Breloque, au 8 de la rue Olliffe - où il passera les quatorze dernières années de sa vie, C’est dans cette maison qu’il meurt le 8 août 1898.
Eugène Boudin a réalisé plus d’une centaine de toiles et de gouaches à Deauville. Depuis 1998, une  plaque est apposée sur la façade de la maison où il vécut. En août 2010, une plaque a également été posée sur la digue de Port Deauville. Elle reproduit le tableau « La plage de Deauville » (1893), qui appartient au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen.

 

 

LE PANTHEON D'UNE EPOQUE

Portraitiste incontournable de la société du tournant du XIXe et de la première moitié du XXe siècle J.É. Blanche côtoie les plus grandes figures de son temps, tant à Paris qu’en Normandie.
Il séjourne pour la première fois sur la Côte Fleurie durant l’été 1891 à  Trouville-sur-Mer au Manoir des Frémonts. Il y fait la connaissance d’un jeune étudiant en droit, Marcel Proust. Séduits par cette villégiature, Rose et Jacques-Émile Blanche reviennent de 1896 à 1901 au château de Tout-la-Ville entre Deauville et Pont-L’Évêque, où ils reçoivent le Tout Paris littéraire, politique et artistique. Le peintre Paul Helleu – dont il réalise le portrait de son fils Jean - ou André Gide y séjournent entre autres invités.

 

En 1902, il acquiert une grande propriété à Offranville (Seine-Maritime) baptisée le manoir du Tôt où il réside tous les étés jusqu’à sa mort. Si Stravinsky, Cocteau, ou Anna de Noailles - dont il réalise les portraits - écrivent l’histoire des arts avec un « H », ils écrivent aussi l’histoire de Deauville, alors en plein essor.
Le style de Jacques-Émile Blanche, tout à la fois vivant et d’un grand raffinement, emprunte à des sources d’inspiration tant britannique que française. Maurice Denis décrit les portraits de Blanche comme « un ensemble précieux pour les historiens de l’avenir ; cette galerie est le Panthéon d’une époque ».

3 - AUX BAINS, LES FEMMES IMPRESSIONNISTES

En sortant du Point de vue, rendez-vous Place Claude Lelouch. Dans la cour des Bains Pompéïens à laquelle vous accéderez par le bureau des Bains de mer, découvrez des portraits de femmes impressionnistes.
Une exposition hommage à Berthe Morisot, à Marie Cassat... en plein air qui rassemble des portraits dessinés par Simonne L'Hermitte, en les rendant vivantes et actuelles.
Ces portraits originaux ont été photographiés, travaillés. Ils sont reproduits en grand format, accompagnés de quelques éléments biographiques et d'une reproduction d'un tableau de l'artiste représentée, pour restituer et mesurer la part féminine de l'aventure impressionniste.