French Dutch English German Spanish

Joakim eskildsen

Photographer invited to the Festival Planche (s) Contact in 2016

© Joakim ESKILDSEN, for Contact Board (s) 2016
© Joakim ESKILDSEN, for Contact Board (s) 2016

This is not the 21st arrondissement

Joakim Eskildsen, born in 1971 in Copenhagen, lives and works in Berlin.
Graduated with a master's degree in photography from the University of Art and Design in Helsinki, he works regularly in collaboration with his wife, the writer and poetess Cia Rinne. During the 1990s, they carried out their first projects together: Nordic Signs (1995), a hymn to nature through a collection of photographs taken in Northern Europe; Bluetide (1997), account of the drama of Apulia, a Portuguese fishing village affected by maritime erosion; and iChikenMoon (1999), whose work won the prize for the best foreign title in 2000 in the Photo-Eye books & Prints annual Awards.
Joakim Eskildsen subsequently produced two new series: American realities in 2011 and Cuba in 2013. The first focuses on the state of the financial crisis and its harmful consequences for the inhabitants; the second retraces Cuban architectural evolution in an urban environment, and particularly in Havana.
Dealing with sociological and even political subjects through portraits, scenes of life or even landscapes, his mastery of color gives his stories a particular strength, between revolution, hope and anxiety.

In Deauville as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

Between social photography and road photography, Joakim Eskildsen roamed the streets of Havana and the districts of large American cities which have the highest rate of exclusion. His gaze has restored the nuances, in strong images, charged with emotions, and supported by rigorous framing and twilight colors. In Deauville, which he did not yet know, Joakim Eskildsen surveyed the city to grasp other realities.

Joakim Eskildsen about his exhibition This is not the 21st arrondissement :
For a week in June, I received carte blanche to photograph Deauville. I really appreciated this challenge and I spent my days walking in this seaside town, photographing everything that could capture my interest, without having any precise idea in mind, simply following my intuition. What attracted me the most were the lights, always changing, and the peculiar rhythm of the City, deserted during the week and full of people on weekends, almost like the tide.

My travel book

Joakim Eskildsen

Photographe invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

©Joakim ESKILDSEN, pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
©Joakim ESKILDSEN, pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Ceci n'est pas le 21ème arrondissement

Joakim Eskildsen, né en 1971 à Copenhague, vit et travaille à Berlin.
Diplômé d’un master en photographie de l’université d’Art et de Design d’Helsinki, il travaille régulièrement en collaboration avec son épouse, l’écrivaine et poétesse Cia Rinne. Au cours des années 1990, ils réalisent ensemble leurs premiers projets : Nordic Signs (1995), un hymne à la nature à travers un recueil de photographies prises en Europe du Nord; Bluetide (1997), récit du drame d’Apulia, village de pêcheurs portugais touché par l’érosion maritime; et iChikenMoon (1999) dont l’ouvrage a obtenu le prix du meilleur titre étranger en 2000 dans le Photo-Eye books & Prints annual Awards.
Joakim Eskildsen produit par la suite deux nouvelles séries : American Realities en 2011 et Cuba en 2013. La première s’intéresse à l’état de crise financière et à ses conséquences néfastes sur les habitants ; la seconde retrace l’évolution architecturale cubaine en milieu urbain, et particulièrement à La Havane.
Traitant de sujets sociologiques voire politiques à travers des portraits, des scènes de vie ou même des  paysages, sa maîtrise de la couleur confère à ses récits une force particulière, entre révolution, espoir et anxiété.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Entre photographie sociale et road photography, Joakim Eskildsen a arpenté les rues de La Havane et les quartiers des grandes villes américaines qui concentrent le plus fort taux d’exclus. Son regard en a restitué les nuances, dans des  images fortes, chargées d’émotions, et soutenues par des cadrages rigoureux et des couleurs crépusculaires. A Deauville qu’il ne connaissait pas encore, Joakim Eskildsen a arpenté la ville pour en saisir d’autres réalités.

Joakim Eskildsen à propos de son exposition Ceci n'est pas le 21ème arrondissement
Pour une semaine au mois de juin, j'ai reçu carte blanche pour photographier Deauville. J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce challenge et j'ai passé mes journées à marcher dans cette ville de bord de mer, photographiant tout ce qui pouvait capter mon intérêt, sans pour autant avoir d'idée précise en tête, suivant simplement mon intuiton. Ce qui m'a le plus séduit furent les lumières, toujours changeantes, et le rythme si particulier de la Ville, déserte en semaine et remplie de monde le weekend, presque comme la marée.