French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Deauville - From October 17 to January 3

Contact boards
Deauville Photography Festival

The 2020th edition of Planches Contact confirms more than ever the uniqueness of the festival: the production and presentation of works produced by a selection of photographers invited to Deauville, in creation residency, in the months preceding its opening to the public. If the arrival of the pandemic and its consequences on an international scale have shaken up the festival's programs and calendars, they have also opened up new fields of artistic exploration for this XNUMX edition, which its artistic director Laura Serani describes as " special ”, as much by the subjects treated as by the general state of mind that has developed and by an approach where documentary approach and author work are closely linked.


The festival has readjusted to the closure of borders: the residencies of photographers from the African and Australian continent have been postponed to next year while some, scheduled for 2021, have been anticipated, with a programming orientation more focused on European photography.
For the second year running, Planches Contact is opening up all over Normandy, offering guest photographers the opportunity to explore the region, beyond the city, on the coast, in the countryside and towards other urban centers. Already constituting the DNA of the festival, outdoor exhibitions are privileged and thus offer everyone a glimpse of the complexity and richness of the contemporary photographic scene.

They will be at the Festival Planches Contact

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Deauville - Du 17 octobre au 3 janvier

Planches Contact
Festival de photographie de Deauville.

 

La XIe édition de Planches Contact confirme plus que jamais la singularité du festival : la production et la présentation d’oeuvres réalisées par une sélection de photographes invités à Deauville, en résidence de création, dans les mois qui précèdent son ouverture au public. Si l’arrivée de la pandémie et ses conséquences à l’échelle internationale ont bousculé les programmes et les calendriers du festival, elles ont aussi ouvert des champs d’exploration artistiques inédits pour cette édition 2020, que sa directrice artistique Laura Serani qualifie de « spéciale », tant par les sujets traités que par l’état d’esprit général qui s’est développé et par une approche où démarche documentaire et travail d’auteur sont étroitement liés.


Le festival s’est réadapté en fonction de la fermeture des frontières : les résidences des photographes venant du continent africain et australien ont été reportées à l’année prochaine pendant que certaines, prévues en 2021, ont été anticipées, avec une orientation de la programmation davantage tournée vers la photographie européenne.
Pour la deuxième année consécutive, Planches Contact s’ouvre à toute la Normandie, en proposant aux photographes invités d’explorer la région, au-delà de la ville, sur la côte, à la campagne et vers d’autres agglomérations urbaines. Déjà constitutives de l’ADN du festival, les expositions en extérieur sont privilégiées et offrent ainsi à tous les regards un aperçu de la complexité et de la richesse de la scène photographique contemporaine.

Ils seront au Festival Planches Contact