In 2021, everywhere in Normandy and Deauville

FLAUBERT 21, THE EVENT LITERARY NORMAN

At the initiative of local authorities and the University of Rouen, Normandy celebrates Flaubert throughout the year and shares the work of the writer through a cultural program made up of more than 200 events. . This event is on the national commemorations calendar and will be on the national education program at the start of the 2021 school year. Meetings and workshops for young audiences are planned inDeauville.

Several inDeauville meetings

His birth and his life in Normandy, his attachment to this region as a place of writing, his international notoriety and the translation of his works around the world make him an extraordinary artist in the history of Normandy. Part of his work is closely linked to the Normans and to the landscapes of the Alabaster Coast, and of the Cauchoise countryside in particular. Pont l'Evêque, Deauville and Trouville also played a decisive role in the personal construction of Gustave Flaubert and in the awakening of his literary sensibility.

La Ferme du Coteau in Deauville was acquired in 1837 by Achille Flaubert, his father, doctor and Director of the Rouen Hospital. Flaubert's childhood stays in Pont-l'Evêque, inspired A Simple Heart, while Trouville, where the teenager spent the summers from 1834 to 1844, was the setting for a lively passionate love affair for Elisa Schlésinger, lastingly marking her Sentimental Education. 
In 1843, Gustave Flaubert planned to build a chalet in Deauville. He inherited the family farm in 1872, before selling it in 1875 to help his niece Caroline financially. A necessary sale, which will arouse in Flaubert, a great melancholy. Beyond the notions of transmission, this transaction awakened certain economic realities that we find at the heart and especially in the outcome of Madame Bovary.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

En 2021, partout en Normandie et à Deauville

FLAUBERT 21, L'EVENEMENT LITTERAIRE NORMAND

A l'initiative de collectivités territoriales et de l'Université de Rouen, la Normandie célèbre Flaubert tout au long de l'année et partage l'oeuvre de l'écrivain au travers d'une programmation culturelle composée de plus de 200 rendez-vous. Cet événement est inscrit au calendrier des commémorations nationales et sera au programme de l'éducation nationale à la rentrée 2021. Des rendez-vous et ateliers pour le jeune public sont prévus à Deauville.

Plusieurs rendez-vous à Deauville

Sa naissance et sa vie en Normandie, son attachement à cette région comme lieu d’écriture, sa notoriété internationale et la traduction de ses œuvres dans le monde entier font de lui un artiste hors norme dans l’histoire de la Normandie.  Une partie de son oeuvre est intimement liée aux normands et aux paysages de la Côte d'Albâtre, et de la campagne cauchoise notamment. Pont l'Evêque, Deauville et Trouville ont aussi joué un rôle déterminant dans la construction personnelle de Gustave Flaubert et dans l'eveil de sa sensibilité littéraire.

La Ferme du Coteau à Deauville, fut acquise en 1837, par Achille Flaubert, son père, médecin et Directeur de l’Hôpital de Rouen. Les séjours d’enfance de Flaubert à Pont-l’Evêque, ont inspiré Un cœur Simple, tandis que Trouville, où l’adolescent passa les étés 1834 à 1844, fut le cadre d’une vive passion amoureuse pour Elisa Schlésinger, marquant durablement son Education Sentimentale. 
En 1843, Gustave Flaubert envisage de construire un chalet à Deauville. Il héritera en 1872, de la ferme familiale, avant de la revendre en 1875 pour aider financièrement sa nièce Caroline. Une vente nécessaire, qui suscitera chez Flaubert, une grande mélancolie. Au-delà des notions de transmission, cette transaction réveilla certaines réalités économiques qu’on retrouve au cœur et surtout dans le dénouement de Madame Bovary.