French Dutch English German Spanish

Maia Flora

Photographer

© Maïa Flore VU Agency for Contact Board (s) 2016
© Maïa Flore VU Agency for Contact Board (s) 2016

The enchantment goes without saying

Maïa Flore was born in 1988 in France.
Member of Agence VU, she is represented by Galerie Esther Woerdehoff.
The news of its exhibitions takes place in France (Lille Museum of Photography, Metz Arsenal, Paris Photo, Châlon sur Saône, ...) and abroad (San Francisco, New York, Philadelphia, Portland, Milan , Rome, Amsterdam ...), during personal and collective exhibitions. In 2015, she won the HSBC Prize for Photography.
His images have been published in the French press (Le Monde, Liberation, Le Figaro, Photos Nouvelles, ...) as well as internationally (The New Yorker, PDN, La Repubblica, Kinfolk, ...). Maia also works on commission for the press (Le Monde, Sport & Style, M le Monde, Kinfolk, ...) and cultural institutions (Institut Français, Center de Danse in Lille, FIPA), as well as artistic director for Ouur Media.
His first monograph was published by Actes Sud in July 2015.

In Deauville, as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

Young talent revealed by the 2015 HSBC prize, Maïa Flore creates personal narratives, staged in dreamlike landscapes and decorations weathered by time.
In his compositions, the pale bodies, the refined silhouettes, animated by a surreal weightlessness, appear as the link between interior worlds and exterior landscapes. The body loses ground with reality and becomes a thin membrane from which our dreams and thoughts overflow. Maia Flore reveals a renewed, intriguing, and inspiring Deauville. Deauville with soft lights, which has become a land of dreams, becomes a playground of very personal poetry.

Maïa Flore about her exhibition The enchantment goes without saying :
"It will be a holiday out of season. A time that only exists because a woman determined it, for herself. Deauville: a seaside town in the colors of yesteryear. A woman carries the memory of other women who stayed here before her.
Lonely wives, independent mothers, writers. Mischievous women, curious women, athletic women. Women crossed by the sea, which flows from their eyes. Women in cure. Worried women. Women playing to be from a tribe, with umbrellas.
Images like nesting dolls between these spaces and these times. Where behind each opacity there is a hiding place. Where each thing that presents itself is basically only the reverse of another. Other things, invisible and immense: an interior castle, a sand castle.

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Maïa Flore

Photographe

© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

L'enchantement va de soi

Maïa Flore est née en 1988, en France.
Membre de l’Agence VU, elle est représentée par la Galerie Esther Woerdehoff.
L’actualité de ses expositions se déroule en France (Musée de la photographie de Lille, Arsenal de Metz, Paris Photo, Châlon sur Saône,...) et à l’étranger (San Francisco, New York, Philadelphie, Portland, Milan, Rome, Amsterdam...), lors d’expositions personnelles et collectives. En 2015, elle est lauréate du Prix HSBC pour la Photographie.
Ses images ont été publiées dans la presse française (Le Monde, Libération, le Figaro, Photos Nouvelles,...) tout comme à l’international (The New Yorker, PDN, La Repubblica, Kinfolk, ...). Maia travaille également en commande pour la presse (Le Monde, Sport & Style, M le Monde, Kinfolk, ...) et les institutions culturelles (Institut Français, Centre de Danse à Lille, FIPA), ainsi que comme directrice artistique pour Ouur Media.
Sa première monographie est publiée chez Actes Sud en Juillet 2015.

À Deauville, dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Jeune talent révélé par le prix HSBC 2015, Maïa Flore conçoit des narrations personnelles, mises en scène dans des paysages oniriques et des décors patinés par le temps.
Dans ses compositions, les corps pâles, les silhouettes épurées, animés d’une apesanteur surréaliste, apparaissent comme le trait d’union entre mondes intérieurs et paysages extérieurs. Le corps y perd pied avec le réel et devient une fine membrane de laquelle débordent nos rêves et pensées.  Maia Flore révèle un Deauville renouvelé, intriguant, et inspirant. Deauville aux lumières douces, devenu pays des songes, se fait terrain de jeu d’une poésie toute personnelle.

Maïa Flore à propos de son exposition L'enchantement va de soi
" Ce sera un vacance hors saison. Un temps qui n'existe que parce qu'une femme l'a déterminé, pour elle-même. Deauville : une ville balnéaire aux couleurs d'antan. Unhe femme porte la mémoire d'autres femmes qui ont fait séjour ici avant elle. 
Des épouses solitaires, des mères indépendantes, des écrivains. Des femmes malicieuses, des femmes curieuses, des femmes sportives. Des femmes traversées par la mer, qui coule de leurs yeux. Des femmes en cure. Des femmesinquiètes. Des femmes qui jouent à être d'une tribu, avec des parasols. 
Des images comme des poupées gigognes entre ces espaces et ces temps. Où derrière chaque opacité se devine une cache. Où chaque chose qui se présente n'est au fond que le revers d'une autre. D'autres choses, invisibles et immenses : un château intérieur, un château de sable.