French Dutch English German Spanish

Deauville - February 10 to March 11, 2018

FRANÇOISE SAGAN : LIFE IN FREEDOM, WRITING IN DEMAND
Accompanied and co-produced by the City of Deauville, this exhibition was designed for the inauguration of the Françoise Sagan media library in Paris in the spring of 2015. Since then enriched by the collection of Franciscans, future place of life and culture of the City, it arrives at Point de Vue, in Deauville.

This exhibition is the very first devoted to Françoise Sagan. Accompanied and co-produced by the City of Deauville, it was designed for the inauguration of the Françoise Sagan media library in Paris in spring 2015. Since then, it has been enriched with the collection of Franciscaines, the future place of life and culture of the City, at the Point de Vue, in Deauville. It brings together photographs from the fonds France Soir and documents from the private collection of Denis Westhoff, son of the writer.

We understand how Françoise Sagan and Deauville met, in the shared taste of the beach, skies where wonderful clouds float, horses, games, parties and evenings that last until the early hours.

The visitor discovers Françoise Sagan at different moments of her public life and her private life, surrounded by her friends, at her home, at the theater, surrounded by journalists ... The public woman proves to be as engaging as in the intimate sphere.

Denis Westhoff drew on several photographic collections from the City of Paris and in his personal archives to constitute this exhibition which traces the life of the writer Françoise Sagan, through the different stages of his work.

COMMISSIONER : Denis Westhoff, son of the writer.

I made a chronological selection by obviously focusing on the qualities of each photograph - aesthetics, framing, expression, context, characters present, originality - but mainly by thinking of the works that were to occupy his mind during these periods of his life.

Denis Westhoff, son of the writer

My travel book

Deauville - 10 février au 11 mars 2018

FRANÇOISE SAGAN : LA VIE EN LIBERTÉ, L’ÉCRITURE EN EXIGENCE
Accompagnée et coproduite par la Ville de Deauville, cette exposition a été conçue pour l’inauguration de la médiathèque Françoise Sagan à Paris au printemps 2015. Enrichie depuis grâce à la collection des Franciscaines, futur lieu de vie et de culture de la Ville, elle arrive au Point de Vue, à Deauville.

Cette exposition est la toute première consacrée à Françoise Sagan. Accompagnée et coproduite par la Ville de Deauville, elle a été conçue pour l’inauguration de la médiathèque Françoise Sagan à Paris au printemps 2015. Enrichie depuis grâce à la collection des Franciscaines, futur lieu de vie et de culture de la Ville, elle arrive au Point de Vue, à Deauville. Elle rassemble des photographies issues du fonds France Soir et des documents de la collection privée de Denis Westhoff, fils de l’écrivaine.

On y comprend comment Françoise Sagan et Deauville se sont rencontrées, dans le goût partagé de la plage, des ciels où flottent de merveilleux nuages, des chevaux, du jeu, de la fête et des soirées qui se prolongent jusqu’au petit matin.

Le visiteur découvre Françoise Sagan à différents moments de sa vie publique et de sa vie privée, entourée de ses amis, chez elle, au théâtre, entourée de journalistes... La femme publique se révèle aussi attachante que dans la sphère intime.

Denis Westhoff a puisé dans plusieurs fonds photographiques de la Ville de Paris et dans ses archives personnelles pour constituer cette exposition qui retrace la vie de l’écrivain Françoise Sagan, au fil des différentes étapes de son œuvre.

COMMISSARIAT : Denis Westhoff, fils de l’écrivaine.

J’ai réalisé une sélection chronologique en m’attachant bien évidemment aux qualités de chaque photographie - esthétique, cadrage, expression, contexte, personnages présents, originalité - mais principalement en pensant aux œuvres qui devaient occuper son esprit à ces périodes-là de sa vie.

Denis Westhoff, fils de l'écrivaine