French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

JEAN GABIN

Actor

He lived every summer in Deauville

Jean Gabin adopted Deauville for filming and vacationing reasons.

In 1956, he rented "Les Chaumières" at the end of rue Victor Hugo for the holidays. The following year, it will be the "Villa Henri Dominique" opposite that of Jacques Bar, producer of 80 films including the greatest successes of the actor: Melody in the basement, A monkey in Winter, The gentleman of Epsom, The cellar rebuffs, The President, The old of the old, The red is put ...

From 1958 to 1960, Jean Gabin took up his summer quarters at "Petit Boqueteau", a villa located in the aptly named Rue des Villas. It was in 1961 that he acquired the Villa "La Malmaison", at the corner of rue Hunebelle and rue Victor Hugo. He renamed it "La Grande Villa" and lived there for thirteen years, from 1961 to 1974. He settled there with his children and educated them. He is there on weekends and during holidays. He also comes to live there during filming on the Normandy coast: Baron Lock (1960) A monkey in winter (1962).

In May 1968 fleeing Paris and its demonstrations, the whole family came to settle in the Villa. We meet Jean-Paul Belmondo, Michel Audiard and Gilles Grangier during working sessions. Neighbor, Lino Ventura rents an apartment in the "Villa Héliotrope" located at the corner of rue Le Marois and rue Baronne d'Erlanger.

My travel book

JEAN GABIN

Acteur

Il résidait chaque été à Deauville

Jean Gabin a adopté Deauville pour raison de tournage et de villégiature.

Dès 1956, il loue « Les Chaumières » au bout de la rue Victor Hugo pour les vacances. L’année suivante, ce sera la « Villa Henri Dominique » face à celle de Jacques Bar, producteur de 80 films dont les plus grands succès de l’acteur : Mélodie en sous sol, Un singe en Hiver, Le gentleman d’Epsom, Le cave se rebiffe, Le Président, Les vieux de la vieille, Le rouge est mis...

De 1958 à 1960, Jean Gabin prend ses quartiers d’été au « Petit Boqueteau », une villa située dans la bien nommée Rue des Villas. C’est en 1961 qu’il fait l’acquisition de la Villa « La Malmaison », à l’angle de la rue Hunebelle et de la rue Victor Hugo. Il la rebaptise « La Grande Villa » et l’habitera treize ans durant, de 1961 à 1974. Il s’y installe avec ses enfants et les scolarise. Il y est présent le week-end et durant les vacances. Il vient y habiter aussi lors des tournages effectués sur la côte normande : Le baron de l’écluse (1960), Un singe en hiver (1962).

En mai 1968 fuyant Paris et ses manifestations, toute la famille viendra s’installer dans la Villa. On y croise Jean-Paul Belmondo, Michel Audiard et Gilles Grangier lors de séances de travail. Voisin, Lino Ventura loue un appartement dans la « Villa Héliotrope » située à l’angle de la rue Le Marois et de la rue Baronne d’Erlanger.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture