Charlotte Gainsbourg

President of the Jury of the 47th American Film Festival

"Being part of the game for 38 years and yet still so… upset, upset, astonished, shocked, scared, terrified, amused, touched… it's good that cinema has a magic that no one can fully explain." Charlotte gainsbourg

If daring could take shape on the screen, it could undoubtedly be embodied in Charlotte Gainsbourg. Actress of risk, of cheeky delicacy, Charlotte Gainsbourg has built her game on flaw and authenticity. Charlotte Gainsbourg launches into films by a great leap into the void, with the risk pinned to the body. Claude Miller, Lars von Trier, Riad Sattouf and Gaspar Noé have understood this well by offering her dangerous roles in which she engages in the service of the film without a net and without a filter.

Charlotte Gainsbourg is of course also a voice, a whispering voice, a whispering voice, but above all a daring and challenging voice: Jacques Doillon, Bertrand Blier, Yvan Attal, Benoît Jacquot ... and so many others have known detect the disturbing power of its rhythm and its singular musicality. Behind her melancholy fragility hides a film Amazon: each of her roles is like a waterfall in which she engages her whole person with reckless timidity. Other directors have sought a dark and bewitching part in her, such as Alejandro González Iñárritu, Olivier Nakache and Éric Toledano, Wim Wenders or Arnaud Desplechin, others such as David Bayley, Eric Rochant or Franco Zeffirelli; and it is undoubtedly his love of Billy Wilder that will have seen him play at Michel Blanc, Danièle Thompson and take up comedy head-on. She has the gift of bringing out, whatever the type of role, the grace, that vacillation of the soul that all great filmmakers seek.

Shy, the scandal does not intimidate him. Popular, it explores the margins. Instinctive, she admires mastery. In English or in French, funny or melancholy, actress, musician and now director, she cultivates her ambiguities and her paradoxes.

 

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Charlotte Gainsbourg

Présidente du Jury du 47e Festival Cinéma Américain

"Etre de la par­tie depuis 38 ans et pour­tant tou­jours aus­si… bou­le­ver­sée, ren­ver­sée, éton­née, cho­quée, apeu­rée, ter­ri­fiée, amu­sée, atten­drie… c’est bien que le ciné­ma a une magie que per­sonne ne sau­rait expli­quer tout à fait." Char­lotte Gainsbourg

Si l’audace pou­vait prendre chair à l’écran, elle pour­rait sans nul doute s’incarner en Char­lotte Gains­bourg. Actrice du risque, de la déli­ca­tesse effron­tée, Char­lotte Gains­bourg a bâti son jeu sur la faille et l’authenticité. Char­lotte Gains­bourg se lance dans les films par un grand saut dans le vide, avec le risque che­villé au corps. Claude Mil­ler, Lars von Trier, Riad Sat­touf ou Gas­par Noé l’ont bien com­pris en lui pro­po­sant des rôles dan­ge­reux où elle s’engage au ser­vice du film sans filet et sans filtre.

Char­lotte Gains­bourg c’est aus­si bien sûr une voix, une voix qui susurre, une voix qui mur­mure, mais sur­tout une voix qui ose et qui défie : Jacques Doillon, Ber­trand Blier, Yvan Attal, Benoît Jac­quot… et tant d’autres ont su déce­ler la puis­sance trou­blante de son rythme et de sa musi­ca­li­té sin­gu­lière. Der­rière sa fra­gi­li­té mélan­co­lique se cache une ama­zone du ciné­ma : cha­cun de ses rôles est comme une cas­cade où elle engage toute sa per­sonne avec une timi­di­té témé­raire. D’autres réa­li­sa­teurs sont allés cher­cher chez elle une part sombre et envoû­tante comme Ale­jan­dro Gonzá­lez Iñár­ri­tu, Oli­vier Nakache et Éric Tole­da­no, Wim Wen­ders ou encore Arnaud Des­ple­chin, d’autres le trouble comme David Bay­ley, Eric Rochant ou Fran­co Zef­fi­rel­li ; et c’est sans nul doute son amour de Billy Wil­der qui l’aura vu jouer chez Michel Blanc, Danièle Thomp­son et prendre la comé­die à bras-le-corps encore. Elle a le don de faire affleu­rer, quel que soit le type de rôles, la grâce, ce vacille­ment de l’âme que cherchent tous les grands cinéastes.

Timide, le scan­dale ne l’intimide pas. Popu­laire, elle explore les marges. Ins­tinc­tive, elle admire la maî­trise. En anglais ou en fran­çais, drôle ou mélan­co­lique, comé­dienne, musi­cienne et désor­mais réa­li­sa­trice elle cultive ses ambi­guï­tés et ses paradoxes.

 

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture