French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

GALLOP ON THE SAND

© Leslie
© Gigi Veccia

Every morning on the inDeauville beaches, the horses enjoy the benefits of sea water and relax after a training, a race or a competition. A thalassotherapy highly beneficial for their well-being. An unforgettable spectacle to see while staying at a distance, early in the morning or at sunset in the evening.
A code of good conduct defines the rules of access to the beaches: in Deauville, riders and horses take a marked course between racetrack and beach and can access the beach before 10 a.m. and after 19 p.m. in season (from March 30 to November 3 ). No schedule restrictions the rest of the year. In Tourgéville and Bénerville-sur-Mer, access is prohibited all year round. In Villerville, there is no ban on horses at low tide.

What if you tried the experience?

The nearby equestrian centers offer walks on the beach. Take the plunge!

© Gigi Veccia

Galloping on the wet sand

All horse riding on the beach here

"When summer comes, I always advise Deauville to those who like to sleep in the morning, to lazy people. Because the morning is dedicated to horses (...). They arise from everywhere, horses, and cross the sleepy town to walk. join the long deserted beach, excited as children. The Argentinian peticeros, by poles of five or six, drive their emotional polo ponies, cherry-colored criollos, singing an old Pampa tune. bring proud thoroughbreds from the Touques or Clairefontaine racetracks whose precious backs are protected by a kidney cover. Sometimes even sulkies join by sliding the procession. Finally come from neighboring clubs - located in Tourgéville, Villerville or Le Brevedent -, the ordinary riders, you, me, for whom a gallop on the wet sand and a piaffe in the sea are a guarantee of freedom ".

Jérôme Garcin Extract from "Horseman alone" © Editions Gallimard

My travel book

GALOPER SUR LE SABLE

© Leslie
© Gigi Veccia

Chaque matin sur les plages inDeauville, les chevaux profitent des bienfaits de l’eau de mer et se détendent après un entraînement, une course ou une compétition. Une thalasso hautement bénéfique pour leur bien-être. Un spectacle inoubliable à voir en restant à distance, le matin très tôt ou au coucher du soleil le soir.
Un code de bonne conduite définit les règles d’accès aux plages : à Deauville, cavaliers et chevaux empruntent un parcours balisé entre hippodrome et plage et peuvent accéder à la plage avant 10h le matin et après 19h de mai à septembre (aucune restriction d'horaires le reste de l'année). A Tourgéville et Bénerville-sur-Mer, l'accès est interdit toute l'année. A Villerville, aucune interdiction concernant les chevaux à marée basse.

Et si vous tentiez l'expérience ?

Les centres équestres à proximité proposent des balades sur la plage. Franchissez le pas !

© Gigi Veccia

Vivre un galop sur le sable mouillé

Toutes les balades à cheval sur la plage ici

"Quand vient l'été, je déconseille toujours Deauville aux amateurs de grasse matinée, aux fainéants. Car le matin y est dédié aux chevaux (...). Ils surgissent de partout, les chevaux, et traversent au pas la ville endormie pour rejoindre, excités comme des enfants, la longue plage déserte. Les peticeros argentins, conduisent, par piquets de cinq ou six, leurs émotifs poneys de polo, des criollos à la robe cerise, en chantonnant un vieil air de la Pampa. Les apprentis jockeys amènent, depuis l'hippodrome de la Touques ou celui de Clairefontaine, de fiers pur-sang dont le dos précieux est protégé par un couvre-reins. Parfois même, des sulkys rejoignent en glissant la procession. Viennent enfin, depuis les clubs voisins - sis à Tourgéville, Villerville ou au Brevedent -, les cavaliers ordinaires, vous, moi, pour qui un galop sur le sable mouillé et un piaffer dans la mer sont un gage de liberté".

 

Jérôme Garcin Extrait de "Cavalier seul" © Editions Gallimard
Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture