French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Taste the terroir of the Pays d'Auge

A bucolic postcard from Normandy, the Pays d'Auge is an essential destination for its gastronomy. Symbols of the soil, Camembert, Pont-l'Evêque, Cider and of course Calvados - the Norman elixir par excellence - reflect Norman know-how internationally. Manufacturing secrets, products from the sea, from the land or freshly picked from orchards ... Between distilleries, cider fields and markets, come and meet these local producers who perpetuate the Norman culinary tradition from generation to generation.

1. Walk the aisles of the market

____________________

On the village squares or under the wooden halls, the markets are essential to taste the local gastronomy. From 8:00 am, you rush into the producers' stalls, basket in hand, according to your whim, your eyes drawn to the trolleys loaded with beautiful multicolored goods. Fresh fish descended directly from the boat, passing through shellfish, poultry, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, spices, country ham and terrines, you can walk there to stock up on local specialties .

InDeauville markets here

2. Take part in a taste and educational visit

____________________

For a fun multi-sensory experience, direction Calvados Experience, museum entirely dedicated to the history of Calvados. With light effects and the reconstruction of a medieval village, you will find yourself in the heart of an orchard, learning the secrets of Calvados making by going to its origin: apples. The route tells the mysteries and legends of its production, giving birth to only one desire: to taste this nectar of the Gods. The visit ends with a tasting of the finest Calvados from the Magloire cellar where you learn to taste it pure as well as in a cocktail with its colleagues: apple juice, cider and pommeau.

It is in the heart of the Pays d'Auge, in Livarot, that the Graindorge cheese dairy has produced the four most emblematic PDO cheeses in the region since 1910: Livarot, Pont-l'Evêque, Camembert and Neufchâtel. Through a corridor of glass galleries, discover the different stages in the production of these soft cheeses from the arrival of the milk to their packaging. After the visit, head to the Cheese Bar to savor a gourmet plate with a choice of a tasting of the four PDO cheeses accompanied by bread and cider, a palette of six cheeses to compose yourself or the oven-roasted camembert.

3. Picnic in the heart of the cider fields

____________________

Every summer, the Manor of Apreval, a family-owned cider estate, offers baskets of country picnics with local and artisanal products to be savored in the grass on a tablecloth or on a table outside. The baskets are topped with terrine, cheeses, wood-fired bread, fruit and vegetables, artisanal caramels and, of course, cider, calvados and pommeau for adults or apple juice. Have you fallen in love? The Manoir d'Apreval also organizes guided tours presenting the techniques of apple picking and brewing, the fermentation of ciders and the secrets of mutage of the pommel.

At the company Calvados Drouin, the guided tour is not just a discovery of the family distillery; you can extend it with a lunch under the apple trees. A basket of regional products (apple juice or cider, baguette and cheese, Norman terrine, Teurgoule, the famous Norman rice pudding, madeleine) is tasted with a view of the half-timbered buildings, postcard from the Augeron landscape.

© Vincent Rustuel / Calvados Attractiveness

4. Enjoy a platter of seafood

____________________

Fish and seafood are one of the specialties of the Normandy region. All year round, gray shrimp sits on restaurant menus. In summer, fishermen fill up on mussels, sole, lobster and mackerel before harvesting the traditional scallops in winter. Available directly in local markets, they are even better cooked by our chefs. The Ciro's is a renowned address in seafood and fish which appears in all the gastronomic reference guides. Trays, seafood dishes, bouillabaisse and other crustaceans are served with your feet in the sand. At Sea Bar, we gladly taste the Saint-Vaast oysters, prawns and whelks on the edge of the legendary Deauville boards. Maritime atmosphere in the restaurant Augusto at Laurent with a decoration inspired by a yacht cabin. In addition to the traditional dishes based on fresh fish, the restaurant menu offers savor lobsters in all their forms: baked, flambé or fricassee.

5. Pair the Calvados and Norman cheeses

____________________

It is in the heart of the Pays d'Auge, in Pont-l'Evêque, that the distillery Calvados Drouin produces artisanal cider, pommeau and calvados for three generations. Epicureans will find their happiness with the formula "Gourmet regional pairings", a taste experience where the products of the distillery blend harmoniously with the delicious cheeses from Normandy.

Au Château du Breuil, your five senses will be awakened during the visit "GourmetYou will learn the art of food and Calvados pairings with Chef Mathieu Le Guillois, owner of the restaurant Le Dauphin in Breuil-en-Auge. The visit also gives you the privilege of discovering the backstage of the castle, usually closed to the public .

All the distilleries in the area offer classic guided tours with a tasting. To discover them, it's here.

6. Create your own Calvados

____________________

Live the unique experience of creating your own Calvados thanks to a private visit to Château du Breuil ! More than just a tasting workshop, learn about wine tasting and compose the assembly of this nectar so typical of the Pays d'Auge on the expert advice of the château's experts. At the end of the visit, you leave with your bottle, to taste the same evening with friends or to age for a few years.

7. Crunch the homemade ice cream

____________________

Ice star inDeauville, the glacier of Martine lambert has been treating visitors and locals for over 40 years. His secret? Use healthy products, full of vitamins, based on fresh fruit and Normandy milk to compose your ice creams and sorbets. Stop for a gourmet break to taste its passion fruit sorbet of Maracuja from Brazil or the famous "Succulent", three-layer iced cake made with hazelnut praline, chocolate, caramel in copper cauldron, almonds and hazelnuts roasted, equatorial chocolate sauce. A treat made inDeauville!

At theLuc's workshop, we come to taste the creations of Luc Lemière, Master ice-cream maker from Normandy. Its full fruit sorbets and ice creams are made with farm milk from its native region.

Enlarge

Calvados Père Magloire

Château du Breuil

Norman PDO cheeses

Bucolic setting at the Manoir d'Apreval

Gourmet picnic

Homemade ice cream at Martine Lambert

Lower

Where to sleep ?

____________________

In a green setting close to the Manoir d'Apreval, the hotel The Gardens of Coppélia seduces with its atypical Norman manor architecture and its design combining innovative concept, charm and authenticity. Overlooking the sea, its gourmet restaurant The Capucine stands out with a high quality "natural" wine list, specially selected from winemakers who love the land and their profession.

In Trouville, put your suitcases atHotel Le Central ***, which faces the harbor. In the early morning, you will be able to observe from your window the fishermen unloading their fresh fish on the stalls to prepare the traditional market of the Fish Market. Get out of your room and go to meet them along the quays, you will discover all the flavors of the sea according to the seasons that make up the menu of the essential Le Central Brewery.

Legendary address inDeauville, theHotel Barrière Le Normandy ***** charms by the elegance of its Anglo-Norman architecture and its Belle Epoque atmosphere. Gourmets like to stay there while enjoying its restaurant The good times and its classic cuisine from Normandy.

Coppélia room
The Gardens of Coppélia © Patricia Juret
Hotel Central
The Hotel Le Central © Bielsa
Normandy bedroom 1
The Hotel Barrière Le Normandy © Fabrice Rambert

All addresses

The best of gastronomy inDeauville

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Goûter le terroir du Pays d'Auge

Carte postale bucolique de la Normandie, le Pays d’Auge est une destination incontournable pour sa gastronomie. Symboles du terroir, le Camembert, le Pont-l’Evêque, le Cidre et bien sûr le Calvados - élixir normand par excellence -, reflètent le savoir-faire normand à l’international. Secrets de fabrication, produits issus de la mer, de la terre ou fraîchement cueillis dans les vergers… Entre distilleries, domaines cidricoles et marchés, partez à la rencontre de ces producteurs locaux qui perpétuent la tradition culinaire normande de génération en génération.

1. Arpentez les allées du marché

____________________

Sur les places des villages ou sous les halles en bois, les marchés sont ici des incontournables pour goûter la gastronomie locale. Dès 8h00, on s’engouffre entre les étals des producteurs, panier à la main, au gré de sa fantaisie, le regard attiré par les dessertes chargées de belles marchandises multicolores. Des poissons frais descendus directement du bateau, en passant par les coquillages, les volailles, les fromages, les fruits, les légumes, les épices, le jambon de pays et les terrines, on s’y promène pour faire le plein de spécialités du terroir.

 

 Les marchés inDeauville ici 

2. Participez à une visite gustative et pédagogique

____________________

Pour une expérience ludique multisensorielle, direction Calvados Expérience, musée entièrement dédié à l'histoire du Calvados. Avec des effets de lumière et la reconstitution d'un village médiéval, vous vous retrouverez au cœur d'un verger, apprenant les secrets de fabrication du Calvados en allant à son origine : les pommes. Le parcours conte les mystères et légendes de sa fabrication, faisant ainsi naître qu'une envie : goûter à ce nectar des Dieux. La visite se termine par une dégustation des plus fins Calvados de la cave Magloire où vous apprenez à le déguster pur aussi bien qu'en cocktail auprès de ses confrères : le jus de pomme, le cidre et le pommeau.

C’est au cœur du Pays d’Auge, à Livarot, que la Fromagerie Graindorge fabrique les quatre fromages AOP les plus emblématiques de la région depuis 1910 : le Livarot, le Pont-l’Evêque, le Camembert et le Neufchâtel. A travers un couloir de galeries vitrées, découvrez les différentes étapes de fabrication de ces fromages à pâte molle depuis l’arrivée du lait jusqu’à leur emballage. Après la visite, direction le Bar à Fromages pour savourer une assiette gourmande avec, au choix, une dégustation des quatre fromages AOP accompagnée de pain et de cidre, une palette de six fromages à composer vous-même ou le camembert rôti au four.

3. Pique-niquez au cœur des domaines cidricoles

____________________

Chaque été, le Manoir d'Apreval, domaine familial cidricole, propose des paniers de pique-niques champêtres avec des produits locaux et artisanaux à savourer dans l’herbe sur une nappe ou sur une table à l’extérieur. Les paniers sont garnis de terrine, de fromages, de pain cuit au feu de bois, de fruits et légumes, de caramels artisanaux et, bien sûr, de cidre, de calvados et de pommeau pour les adultes ou de jus de pommes. Vous êtes tombés sous le charme ? Le Manoir d’Apreval organise également des visites guidées en présentant les techniques de ramassage et de brassage des pommes, la fermentation des cidres et les secrets du mutage du pommeau.

Chez Calvados Drouin, la visite guidée n’est pas qu’une simple découverte de la distillerie familiale ; vous avez la possibilité de la prolonger avec un déjeuner sous les pommiers. Un panier de produits régionaux (jus de pomme ou cidre, baguette et fromage, terrine normande, Teurgoule, le fameux riz au lait normand, madeleine) se déguste avec vue sur les bâtiments à colombages, carte postale du paysage augeron.

©Vincent Rustuel / Calvados Attractivité

4. Dégustez un plateau de fruits de mer

____________________

Poissons et fruits de mer sont l'une des spécialités de la région normande. Toute l’année, la crevette grise trône dans les menus des restaurants. En été, les pêcheurs font le plein de moules, soles, homards et maquereaux avant de récolter les traditionnelles coquilles Saint-Jacques en hiver. Disponibles directement dans les marchés locaux, ils sont encore meilleurs cuisinés par nos chefs. Le Ciro’s est une adresse réputée dans les fruits de mer et poissons qui figure dans tous les guides gastronomiques de référence. Plateaux, assiettes de la mer, bouillabaisse et autres crustacés sont servis les pieds dans le sable. Au Bar de la Mer, on déguste volontiers les huîtres Saint-Vaast, crevettes roses et bulots au bord des mythiques Planches de Deauville. Ambiance maritime au restaurant Augusto Chez Laurent avec une décoration inspirée d’une cabine de yacht. En plus des traditionnels plats à base de poissons frais, la carte du restaurant propose de savourer des homards sous toutes ses formes : cuit au four, flambé ou en fricassé.

5. Accordez le Calvados et les fromages normands

____________________

C’est au cœur du Pays d’Auge, à Pont-l’Evêque, que la distillerie Calvados Drouin produit du cidre, du pommeau et du calvados artisanaux depuis trois générations. Les épicuriens trouveront leur bonheur avec la formule "Accords Gourmands du terroir", une expérience gustative où se marient harmonieusement les produits de la distillerie avec les délicieux fromages de terroir normand.

Au Château du Breuil, vos cinq sens seront en éveil lors de la visite "Gourmet". Vous y apprendrez l’art des accords mets et Calvados avec le Chef Mathieu Le Guillois, propriétaire du restaurant Le Dauphin au Breuil-en-Auge. La visite vous donne également le privilège de découvrir les coulisses du château, habituellement fermés au public.

L'ensemble des distilleries du territoire proposent des visites guidées classiques avec une dégustation. Pour les découvrir, c'est ici.

6. Créez votre propre Calvados

____________________

Vivez l’expérience unique de créer votre propre Calvados grâce à une visite privée au Château du Breuil ! Plus qu’un simple atelier de dégustation, initiez-vous à l’œnologie et composez l’assemblage de ce nectar si typique du Pays d’Auge sur les conseils avisés des experts du château. A la fin de la visite, vous repartez avec votre bouteille, à déguster le soir même entre amis ou à faire vieillir quelques années.

7. Croquez les glaces artisanales

____________________

Star des glaces inDeauville, le glacier de Martine Lambert régale les visiteurs et les habitants depuis plus de 40 ans. Son secret ? Utiliser des produits sains, plein de vitamines, à base de fruits frais et de lait de Normandie pour composer ses glaces et ses sorbets. Arrêtez-vous le temps d’une pause gourmande pour goûter son sorbet fruit de la passion de Maracuja du Brésil ou le célèbre « Succulent », gâteau glacé de trois couches composé de praliné noisette, chocolat, caramel au chaudron de cuivre, amandes et noisettes torréfiées, sauce chocolat équatorial. Un régal made inDeauville !

A l’Atelier de Luc, on vient goûter les créations de Luc Lemière, Maître artisan glacier normand. Ses sorbets plein fruits et ses glaces sont confectionnées avec du lait fermier de sa région natale.

Agrandir

Calvados Père Magloire

Château du Breuil

Les fromages AOP normands

Cadre bucolique au Manoir d'Apreval

Pique-nique gourmand

Glace artisanale chez Martine Lambert

Réduire

Où dormir ?

____________________

Dans un écrin de verdure à deux pas du Manoir d’Apreval, l’hôtel Les Jardins de Coppélia séduit avec son architecture de manoir normand atypique et son design alliant concept innovant, charme et authenticité. Surplombant la mer, son restaurant gastronomique Le Capucine se démarque avec une carte de vins "nature" de grande qualité, spécialement sélectionnés auprès de vignerons amoureux de la terre et de leur métier.

A Trouville, posez vos valises à l’Hôtel Le Central ***, qui fait face au port. Au petit matin, vous pourrez observer par votre fenêtre les pêcheurs décharger leurs poissons frais sur les étals pour préparer le traditionnel marché de la Halle aux Poissons. Descendez de votre chambre et partez à leur rencontre en longeant les quais, vous y découvrirez toutes les saveurs de la mer selon les saisons qui composent la carte de l'incontournable Brasserie Le Central.

Adresse mythique inDeauville, l'Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy ***** charme par l'élégance de son architecture anglo-normande et son atmosphère Belle Epoque. Les groumets aiment y loger tout en profitant de son restaurant La Belle Epoque et de sa cuisine classique du terroir normand.

Toutes les adresses

Le meilleur de la gastronomie inDeauville