LARGE FORMAT : ROGER SCHALL, THE SUMMERS OF DEAUVILLE (1934 > 1950).
In the 1930's, the photographer Roger Schall (1904-1995) embraced the media revolution that was the birth of the illustrated press. He was one of the first to use the Rolleiflex and its square images. He established himself as one of the best French photoreporters. Multiplying the reports and orders for : VU, Match, L'Illustration, Marie-Claire, ... he discovers Deauville in 1934 and realizes until 1950 numerous images, with rigorous compositions. They remain unpublished to this day.

Acrobatic bathers on the beach of Deauville summer 1934 © Roger Schall
Maurice Chevalier at the Bar du Soleil in Deauville summer 1934 © Roger Schall

It was at the request of Lucien Vogel, director of VU magazine, that Roger Schall went to Deauville for the first time in the summer of 1934. He captures the rituals and the various activities. He explored the beach during the day, with its bathers, its children, its celebrities and its elegant women. He attends the gala dinners and recreates the atmosphere of the casino in the evening. He follows the automobile elegance contests, the races and the yearling sales, the golf and pigeon shooting games. He also strolls around the yacht basin and its paved areas and follows the activities of the Deauville Yacht Club. He is one of the only photographers to have also photographed the religious processions of August 15. Rarely has a photographer in reportage captured so many different and complementary facets of Deauville. In May 1935, at the request of the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique, Roger Schall was the only accredited photographer on the inaugural cruise of the liner Normandie. As soon as he returned from the United States, seduced by Deauville and its activities, he returned during the summer of 1935, then in 1936 to discover the first summer of paid vacations in Deauville.

Maurice Chevalier at the Bar du Soleil in Deauville summer 1934 © Roger Schall

MORE ABOUT ROGER SCHALL

Cliquez ici

This original exhibition created for Planche(s) Contact 2018, is presented outdoors on the beach of Deauville. It reproduces in twenty-five large formats, on structures 3 meters high, photographs, mostly unpublished and never published, made in Deauville between 1934 and 1950.

An exhibition conceived by Philippe Normand, Artistic Director of Planche(s) Contact 2018, in collaboration with Jean-Frédéric Schall, fis of the photographer.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

GRAND FORMAT : ROGER SCHALL, LES ÉTÉS DE DEAUVILLE (1934 > 1950).
Dans les années 30, le photographe Roger Schall (1904- 1995) s’engouffre dans la révolution médiatique que constitue la naissance de la presse illustrée. Il est l’un des premiers adeptes du Rolleiflex et de ses images carrées. Il s’impose alors comme l’un des meilleurs photoreporters français. Multipliant les reportages et commandes pour : VU, Match, L’Illustration, Marie-Claire, … il découvre Deauville en 1934 et réalise jusqu’en 1950 de nombreuses images, aux compositions rigoureuses. Restées, à ce jour, inédites.

Baigneurs acrobates sur la plage de Deauville été 1934 © Roger Schall
Maurice Chevalier au Bar du Soleil de Deauville été 1934 © Roger Schall

C’est à la demande de Lucien Vogel, directeur du magazine VU, que Roger Schall se rend une première fois à Deauville lors de l’été 1934. Il en saisit les rituels et les activités diverses. Il explorant la plage en journée, avec ses baigneurs, ses enfants, ses célébrités et ses élégantes. Il assiste aux diners de galas et restitue les ambiances du casino en soirées. Il suit les concours d’élégance automobile, les courses et les ventes de yearlings, les parties de golf et de tir au pigeon. Il arpente aussi le bassin des yachts et ses pavoisements et suit les activités du Deauville Yacht Club. Il est l’un des seuls photographes à avoir aussi photographié les processions religieuses du 15 août. Rarement un photographe en reportage n’aura restitué autant de facettes différentes et complémentaires de Deauville. En mai 1935, à la demande de la Compagnie Générale Transatlantique Roger Schall est le seul photographe accrédité de la croisière inaugurale du paquebot Normandie. Sitôt rentré des Etats-Unis, séduit par Deauville et ses activités, il y revient lors de l’été 1935, puis en 1936 pour découvrir le premier été des premiers congés payés à Deauville.

Maurice Chevalier au Bar du Soleil de Deauville été 1934 © Roger Schall

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR ROGER SCHALL

Cliquez ici

Cette exposition originale créée pour Planche(s) Contact 2018, est présentée en plein air, sur la plage de Deauville. Elle reproduit en vingt-cinq grands formats, sur des structures hautes de 3 mètres, des photographies, majoritairement inédites et jamais publiées, réalisées à Deauville entre 1934 et 1950.

Une exposition conçue par Philippe Normand, Directeur artistique de Planche(s) Contact 2018, en collaboration avec Jean-Frédéric Schall, fis du photographe.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture