French Dutch English German Spanish

Salt cellar and its mansion

41 rue Louvel and Brière

14800 TOUQUES

Louis XIII-style building, the Manor is listed in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments for its facade combining Caen stone, black flint and white flint, its steeply pitched roof and its fireplace on the ground floor.
This construction from the end of the XNUMXth century was the seat of the royal administration and housed a saltworks controller and a quest clerk, both employees of the Ferme Générale, a privileged company responsible for collecting indirect taxes. They were in charge of supervising the production of the salt workers and of collecting for the king the taxes on salt called the "quarter broth". The salt was harvested by boiling a brine obtained by leaching sand impregnated with sea salt. The saltworks poured a quarter of their production into the king's granaries.
Built along the Douet Mont-Blanc, later called Ruisseau des Ouies, the Grenier à Sel housed the production of saltworks. This ideal situation allowed the boats loaded with salt to arrive there. Of 52 saltworks in the 12th century, only XNUMX remained in the XNUMXth century. Subsequently, the place was used by the first municipal councils of the town.
The whole of the Attic and the Manor are the subject of a major rehabilitation project by the municipality of Touques.

Grenier à sel et son manoir

41 rue Louvel et Brière

14800 TOUQUES

Bâtiment de style Louis XIII, le Manoir est classé à l’Inventaire supplémentaire des monuments historiques pour sa façade mêlant pierre de Caen, silex noir et silex blanc, son toit à forte pente et sa cheminée du rez-de-chaussée.
Cette construction de la fin du XVIIe siècle était le siège de l’administration royale et logeait un contrôleur des salines et un commis aux quêtes, tous deux employés de la Ferme Générale, compagnie privilégiée chargée de la collecte des impôts indirects. Ils étaient en charge de surveiller la production des sauniers et de recouvrer pour le roi les taxes sur le sel appelées le "quart bouillon". Le sel était récolté en faisant bouillir une saumure obtenue grâce au lessivage de sable imprégné de sel de mer. Les salines versaient le quart de leur fabrication aux greniers du roi.
Edifié le long du Douet Mont-Blanc, appelé plus tard Ruisseau des Ouies, le Grenier à Sel abritait la production des salines . Cette situation idéale permettait aux barques chargées de sel d’arriver jusque-là. De 52 salines au XIIIe siècle, il n’en restait que 12 au XVIIIe siècle. Par la suite, le lieu servit aux premiers conseils municipaux de la commune.
L’ensemble du Grenier et du Manoir font l’objet d’un grand projet de réhabilitation par la commune de Touques.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture