French Dutch English German Spanish

Brian griffin

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2015

© Brian Griffin
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Feet on the ground

Deauville, Brian Griffin, influenced by the imagery of expressionist cinema, went to meet the Council of Elders, composed of twenty Deauville personalities who have invested a lot in local public life. He produced an original series of 20 portraits, recognizable by the strength of his framing, his sense of scenario and his unique mastery of artificial light.

Known worldwide for his black and white portraits staged in enclosed spaces or natural settings, Brian Griffin was discovered in France, in Arles, in 1987. He began by imagining the photos of the album covers of Iggy Pop , by Ian Durry, Joe Jackson, Dépêche Mode, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds or Ringo Star, before devoting himself to an important creative, inventive and daring creation.

Brian Griffin exhibited between 1984 and 2014 in Tokyo, Hamburg, Houston, Cologne, Amsterdam, Prague, Barcelona, ​​Milan, Ghent, Stockholm, Antwerp, Montreal, etc. He is the author and director in 2004 of a documentary commissioned by and on Paul McCartney. In 2009, the Rencontres d'Arles devoted a large exhibition to him. Brian Griffin received a major photographic commission from the London Olympics (2009) and was invited for the only photographic commission for Marseille 2013, where he produced a remarkable series of portraits of dockworkers. The National Portrait Gallery in London devoted a large retrospective to him in 2010.

Brian Griffin's photos can be found in the public collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum and in the museums of Edinburgh, Essen, Birmingham, Reykjavik and Braga. Brian Griffin has published fifteen books and collections of his photographs, very beautiful object books, which have now become highly sought after and highly prized photography books.

Brian Griffin is Associate Professor at the University of Bologna and Honorary Doctor Causa at the University of Birmingham since 2014.

Brian Griffin about his exhibit Feet on the ground :
"Photographed in a day studio, here in Deauville, with a view of the magnificent beach, Feet on the ground is a conceptual series of photographs in which the shoe becomes an integral part of the subject itself, in a practical and stylistic way. These shoes support the portrait of taste of the women or men who put them on, as they graze the surface of the streets of Deauville. Just as they help to easily transport the person who wears them, shoes connect their owner physically to the city ...
Each subject arrived at my workshop with their favorite pair of shoes. We asked each of them to be expressive with one or two shoes. All the creative ideas come from the models, the only responsibility of the photographer was to capture them in the photo! "

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Brian GRIFFIN

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

© Brian Griffin
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Les Pieds sur Terre

Deauville, Brian Griffin, influencé par l'imagerie du cinéma expressionniste, est allé à la rencontre du Conseil des Sages, composé de vingt personnalités deauvillaises qui se sont beaucoup investies dans la vie publique locale. Il a réalisé une série originale de 20 portraits, reconnaissables par la force de ses cadrages, son sens de la mise en situation et sa maitrise si singulière de la lumière artificielle.

Mondialement connu pour ses portraits en noir et blanc mis en scène dans des espaces clos ou des décors naturels, Brian Griffin a été découvert en France, à Arles, en 1987. Il a commencé par imaginer les photos des pochettes de disques d'Iggy Pop, d'Ian Durry, Joe Jackson, Dépêche Mode, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds ou encore Ringo Star, avant de se consacrer à une importante création publicitaire, inventive et audacieuse.

Brian Griffin a exposé entre 1984 et 2014 à Tokyo, Hambourg, Houston, Cologne, Amsterdam, Prague, Barcelone, Milan, Gand, Stockholm, Anvers, Montréal, etc.. Il est l'auteur et le réalisateur en 2004 d'un documentaire commandé par et sur Paul McCartney. En 2009, les Rencontres d'Arles lui ont consacré une grande exposition. Brian Griffin a reçu une importante commande photographique des J.O de Londres (2009) et a été invité pour la seule commande photographique de Marseille 2013, où il a réalisé une série remarquable de portraits de dockers. The National Portrait Gallery de Londres lui a consacré une grande rétrospective en 2010.

Les photos de Brian Griffin sont présentes dans les collections publiques du Victoria and Albert Museum et dans les musées d'Edimbourg, d'Essen, de Birmingham, de Reykjavik et de Braga. Brian Griffin a publié une quinzaine d'ouvrages et de recueils de ses photographies, de très beaux livres objets, aujourd'hui devenus des livres de photographies très recherchés et très côtés.

Brian Griffin est professeur associé à l'Université de Bologne et Docteur honoris Causa de l'Université de Birmingham depuis 2014.

Brian Griffin à propos de son exposition Les Pieds sur Terre :
"Photographiée dans un studio de jour, ici, à Deauville, avec vue sur la magnifique plage, Les Pieds sur Terre est une série conceptuelle de photographies où la chaussure devient un élément à part entière du sujet lui-même, de manière pratique et stylistique. Ces souliers soutiennent le portrait de goût des femmes ou des hommes qui les chaussent, pendant qu'ils effleurent la surface des rues de Deauville. Tout comme elles aident à transporter facilement la personne qui les porte, les chaussures connectent leur propriétaire physiquement à la ville...
Chaque sujet est arrivé à mon atelier avec sa paire de chaussures préférée. Nous avons demandé à chacun d'entre eux de se montrer expressif avec une ou deux chaussures. Toutes les idées créatives viennent des modèles, la seule responsabilité du photographe a été de les saisir en photo !"