French Dutch English German Spanish

John Grisham

Lucien-Barrière Literary Prize 2018

44th American Film Festival

Each year, the jury of six journalists and writers, composed of Ariane Bois Heilbronn, François Forestier, Jean-Claude Lamy, Eric Neuhoff, Patrick Poivre d'Arvor and Colombe Schneck, awards the Lucien-Barrière Literary Prize during the Film Festival American from Deauville, under the benevolence of Béatrice Nakache.

The 2018 Lucien-Barrière Literary Prize is awarded to the novel: "Le cas fitzgerald" by John Grisham. On the occasion of his coming, the Festival will present three cinematographic adaptations of his work.

Born in 1955 in the United States, John Grisham is the author of 29 fiction novels, a witness novel and six books for young people. Graduated from a law degree, he joined a law office where he worked for ten years, specializing in criminal cases. In 1984, during a trial, he was overwhelmed by the testimony of a child victim of rape and decided to write his first novel, "Not guilty". Many of his novels belong to the sub-genre of the judicial novel.
Plusieurs de ses ouvrages ont été adaptés au cinéma, parmi lesquels "La Firme" de Sydney Pollack (1993), "L’Affaire Pélican" d’Alan J. Pakula (1993), "Le Client" de Joel Schumacher (1994), "L’Idéaliste" de Francis Ford Coppola (1997),  ou encore "The Gingerbread Man" de Robert Altman (1998).

Son roman "Le cas fitzgerald"  : Evildoers rob the library of Princeton University. Their loot is said to be priceless, but Princeton insured it for twenty-five million dollars. Bruce Cable has a famous bookstore in Santa Rosa, a quiet town on Camino Island, Florida. Although his business was successful, the money came mainly from the trade in collectibles. Few people, however, know that Cable often uses the black market and that manuscripts and stolen works pass through its hands. Mercer Mann is a young novelist. She suffers from acute blank page anxiety and has just lost her teaching position. She is contacted by a mysterious woman working for an equally mysterious company. He is offered a tidy sum to infiltrate Bruce Cable and his circle of friends of literature. His mission is to get close enough to him and discover his secrets. But Mercer will learn too much, and the trouble will begin. Heaven will become hell, a relentless metamorphosis that only John Grisham can tell.

 

My travel book

John Grisham

Prix littéraire Lucien-Barrière 2018

44e Festival du Cinéma Américain

Chaque année, le jury des six journalistes et écrivains, composé d'Ariane Bois Heilbronn, François Forestier, Jean-Claude Lamy, Eric Neuhoff, Patrick Poivre d'Arvor et Colombe Schneck, remet le Prix littéraire Lucien-Barrière pendant le Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville, sous la bienveillance de Béatrice Nakache.

Le Prix littéraire Lucien-Barrière 2018 est décerné au roman : "Le cas fitzgerald" de John Grisham. À l’occasion de sa venue, le Festival présentera trois adaptations cinématographiques de son oeuvre.

Né en 1955 aux Etats-Unis, John Grisham est l’auteur de 29 romans de fiction, d’un roman témoignage et de six livres pour la jeunesse. Diplômé d’une licence de droit, il intègre un bureau d’avocats où il exerce pendant dix ans, se spécialisant sur les cas criminels. En 1984, lors d’un procès, il est bouleversé par le témoignage d’une enfant victime de viol et se décide à écrire son premier roman, "Non coupable". Nombre de ses romans appartiennent au sous-genre du roman judiciaire.
Plusieurs de ses ouvrages ont été adaptés au cinéma, parmi lesquels "La Firme" de Sydney Pollack (1993), "L’Affaire Pélican" d’Alan J. Pakula (1993), "Le Client" de Joel Schumacher (1994), "L’Idéaliste" de Francis Ford Coppola (1997),  ou encore "The Gingerbread Man" de Robert Altman (1998).

Son roman "Le cas fitzgerald"  : Des malfaiteurs dévalisent la bibliothèque de l’Université de Princeton. Leur butin est déclaré d’une valeur inestimable, mais Princeton l’a assuré pour vingt-cinq millions de dollars. Bruce Cable possède une célèbre librairie à Santa-Rosa, une bourgade tranquille sur l’île Camino, en Floride. Bien que son affaire soit prospère, l’argent provient surtout du commerce de livres de collection. Peu de gens, toutefois, savent que Cable a souvent recours au marché parallèle et que passent entre ses mains manuscrits et ouvrages volés. Mercer Mann est une jeune romancière. Elle souffre d’une angoisse aiguë de la page blanche et vient de perdre son poste d’enseignante. Elle est contactée par une femme mystérieuse travaillant pour une société tout aussi mystérieuse. On lui offre une coquette somme pour infiltrer Bruce Cable et son cercle d’amis de la littérature. Sa mission est de se rapprocher suffisamment de lui et de découvrir ses secrets. Mais Mercer va trop en apprendre, et les ennuis vont commencer. Le paradis va devenir enfer, une métamorphose implacable comme seul John Grisham sait en conter.