Philippe Hattat

Musician

Born in 1993, Philippe Hatatt began his musical studies at the age of eight at the Levallois-Perret Conservatory. He took piano lessons at the Rayonnement Régional Conservatory in Paris in 2006, then completed a baccalauréat in literature. In September 2011 he joined the Music Conservatory of Paris. He graduated in piano (courses held by Jean-François Heisser and Jean-Frédéric Neuburger) and attended composition lessons and a course of chamber music held by Itamar Golan.

He also attended the composition and orchestration courses held by Michel Merlet. He has been playing harpsichord and organ since 2008 with Benjamin Steens, and cello from 2004 to 2014. He attended the Organ Improvisation class held by Pierre Pincemaille at the CRR of Saint-Maur-des-Fossés in October 2014 and obtained a prize in this discipline in June 2016. He has recently participated to several international premières of contemporary music such as the Imago Mundi and Hölderlin-Lieder cycles by Olivier Greif as well as the Studies for piano by Philippe Manoury, performed with Jean-Frédéric Neuburger during the Berlioz Festival held in August 2016. His musical horizon has expanded to medieval music (Gregorian chant, improvised vocal polyphony), extra-European traditional music (Central Java gamelan, Georgian vocal polyphony with ethnomusicologist Simha Arom, traditional Zoroastrian songs).

He was a laureate of the Claude Bonneton Piano International Contest of Sète 2010 (1st Prize and Audience Prize), the 2016 Orléans Piano International Contest (Ricardo Viñes Special Mention Prize, Alberto Ginastera Special Mention Prize, and André Chevillon Yvonne Bonnaud Composition Prize) and the 2016 Giorgio Cambissa International Contest. Philippe Hattat focuses on other fields of expertise (natural sciences, geology, philosophy, archaeology, anthropology) with a predilection for comparative linguistics and etymology. He is in residence at the Singer-Polignac Foundation.

Philippe Hattat

Musicien

Né en 1993, Philippe Hattat entame ses études musicales à l’âge de huit ans au Conservatoire de Levallois-Perret. Il entre, dès 2003, au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Paris en classe de piano puis en 2006 en classe d’accompagnement et passé parallèlement un baccalauréat littéraire. Depuis septembre 2011, il intègre plusieurs classes du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris : piano avec Jean- François Heisser, accompagnement avec Jean-Frédéric Neuburger puis cursus supérieur d’écriture et en 2014 cursus de Musique de Chambre dans la classe d’Itamar Golan.

Il suit également l’enseignement en composition et orchestration de Michel Merlet. Il pratique le clavecin et l’orgue depuis 2008 avec Benjamin Steens, ainsi que le violoncelle entre 2004 et 2014. Il intègre en octobre 2014 la classe d’Improvisation à l’Orgue de Pierre Pincemaille au CRR de Saint-Maur-des- Fossés, et obtient son prix dans cette discipline en juin 2016. Très impliqué par la création contemporaine, il a dernièrement participé à plusieurs premières mondiales, comme les cycle Imago Mundi et Hölderlin- Lieder d’Olivier Greif, ainsi que la création mondiale partielle des Etudes pour piano de Philippe Manoury, avec Jean-Frédéric Neuburger durant l’édition d’août 2016 du Festival Berlioz. Son horizon musical s’étend à l’étude et la pratique de la musique médiéval (chant grégorien, polyphonies vocals improvisées) et aux musiques traditionnelles extra-européennes (pratique du gamelan de Java central, étude des polyphonies vocals géorgiennes avec l’ethnomusicologue Simha Arom, étude des chansons traditionnelles zoroastriennes).

Il est lauréat du Concours international de piano Claude Bonneton de Sète 2010 (1er prix et prix du public), du Concours International de Piano d’Orléans 2016 (Prix Mention Spéciale Ricardo Viñes, Prix Mention Spéciale Alberto Ginastera, et Prix de composition André Chevillon Yvonne Bonnaud) et du Concours International Giorgio Cambissa 2016. Philippe Hattat s’intéresse à de nombreux autres domaines du savoir (sciences physiques, géologie, philosophie, archéologie, anthropologie), avec une prédilection pour la linguistique comparative et l’étymologie. Il est en résidence à la Fondation Singer-Polignac.