Eric Héliot

Guest of the 2018 Books & Music Festival

Eric Héliot was born in 1959 in Petit Quevilly (Seine-Maritime). He lives in Normandy, in Rouen. After having studied Beaux-arts in Rouen and Le Havre, he became an illustrator of comics.  He published a first album titled Les muses with Éditions Zenda, a vast fresco combining all styles that he was going to develop in his painting and illustration works.   

Eric is also an illustrator for children. Un ange passe (Nathan) marked the beginning of his activity for children and teenagers. Having already published more than 50 books, Eric Héliot takes very seriously his young readers that he considers as adults, capable as nobody else to travel through a book, to capture all extraordinary or unusual details to better live in the real world.

Faithful to some authors, Eric Héliot has published, in collaboration with Pierre Le Gall, Le cancre et les martiens (Mango) and Mankpa Dpath (Petit à Petit), initiatory and ironic journey of a child and his cat in the terrifying kingdom of the Carpathians. He is also the illustrator of the texts of Italian author Davide Cali, such as  Piano, piano (Sarbacane), the history of a boy obliged by her mother to play piano or Bernard et moi, the history of two unusual friends, Le costume du Père Noël, La vie de Chapeau or also La revanche des aubergines.

Eric Héliot is particularly fond of absurd stories, representing an opportunity for him to express his elegant and off the wall technique. The series titled Constance et Miniature (Hachette), made with Pierre Le Gall, is a perfect illustration of his style.  

Since 2008, he has been often working with other authors: Cherchons loup sachant lire (Kaleidoscope) with Elisabeth Duval, Sigismond et les Rapapoux with Christine Naumann-Villemin, Je veux qu’on m’aime avec Alain Chiche, Inspecteur Cats (Actes Sud Junior) with Agnès Bihl. With Bayard, he has illustrated the famous American series by Ian Ogilvy Mignus Wisard.

Menu

Eric Héliot

Invité au Festival Livres & Musiques 2018

Eric Héliot est né en 1959, à Petit Quevilly (Seine-Maritime). Il vit en Normandie, à Rouen. Après avoir étudié les Beaux-arts à Rouen et au Havre, il devient dessinateur de bande dessinée. Il publie un premier album Les muses aux éditions Zenda, vaste fresque rassemblant tous les styles qu’il développera par la suite dans ses travaux de peinture et d’illustration. 

Eric dessine également pour les enfants. Un ange passe (Nathan) marque le début de ses activités pour le livre jeunesse. Avec plus de cinquante titres publiés déjà, Eric Héliot prend très au sérieux ses petits lecteurs qu’il considère comme des grands, capables comme nul autre de voyager dans un livre, de partir à l’assaut de chaque détail merveilleux ou insolite, pour mieux vivre dans le monde une fois le livre refermé.

Fidèle à quelques auteurs, Eric Héliot a notamment publié, en collaboration avec Pierre Le Gall, Le cancre et les martiens (Mango) et Mankpa Dpath (Petit à Petit), voyage initiatique et parodique d’un enfant et de son chat au royaume terrifiant des Carpates. Il illustre aussi des textes de l’auteur italien Davide Cali, comme Piano, piano (Sarbacane), histoire d’un petit garçon contraint par sa mère à jouer du piano ou Bernard et moi, histoire de deux amis pas comme les autres, Le costume du Père Noël, La vie de Chapeau ou encore La revanche des aubergines.

Eric Héliot affectionne particulièrement l'absurde, qui lui permet de laisser libre cours à son graphisme élégant et décalé. La série Constance et Miniature (Hachette) avec Pierre Le Gall en est une parfaite illustration. 

Depuis 2008, il multiplie ses collaborations avec d'autres auteurs : Cherchons loup sachant lire (Kaleidoscope) avec Elisabeth Duval, Sigismond et les Rapapoux avec Christine Naumann-Villemin, Je veux qu’on m’aime avec Alain Chiche, Inspecteur Cats (Actes Sud Junior) avec Agnès Bihl. Chez Bayard, il illustre la célèbre série américaine de Ian Ogilvy Mignus Wisard.