French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Todd hiddo

Photographer

Guest at the 2020 Contact Plates Festival

Todd Hido, American photographer was born in 1968. During his long journeys, he pursues the search for images which relate to his memories. His very particular use of color suggests an instability behind the appearance of the landscapes and situations he photographs. Author of several books, his images appear in the collections of important American museums. He is represented in Paris by the Les Filles du Calvaire gallery. During his photographic residency for the Planches Contact Festival, he surveyed the Normandy countryside and staged models in a special light, inspired by that of painters from the North and Flemish painting.

Todd Hido lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. His work has appeared in Artforum, The New York Times Magazine, Eyemazing, Wired, Elephant, FOAM, and Vanity Fair. His photographs are in the permanent collections of the Getty, the Whitney Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, New York, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Young Museum, the Smithsonian, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, as well as in numerous other public and private collections. Author of over a dozen books, including the monograph Excerpts from Silver Meadows, published in 2013, Intimate Distance: Twenty-Five Years of Photographs, a Chronological Album published by Aperture in 2016. His latest book, titled Bright Black World a was edited in 2018 by Nazraeli Press.

Todd Hido is also a collector of photographic books and his collection was recognized as one of the largest in the world in 2018 by Random House (Bibliomania: The World's Most Interesting Private Libraries).

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exhibition from October 17 to January 3 at Point de Vue - Boulevard de la mer at the corner of rue Tristan Bernard.
Open every day from October 17 to November 1 then Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from Nov. 2 to Dec. 18. 10:30 am> 13 pm, 14:30 pm> 18:30 pm
Free admission

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Todd hiddo

Photographe

Invité au festival planches contact 2020

Todd Hido, photographe américain est né en 1968. Il poursuit pendant ses long voyages la recherche d’images qui se rapportent à ses souvenirs. Son utilisation très particulière de la couleur suggère une instabilité derrière l’apparence des paysages et des situations qu’il photographie. Auteur de plusieurs livres, ses images figurent dans les collections d’importants musées américains. Il est représenté à Paris par la galerie Les Filles du Calvaire. Pendant sa résidence photograhique pour le Festival Planches Contact, il a arpenté la campagne normande et mis en scène des modèles sous une lumière particulière, inspirée de celle des peintres du Nord et de la peinture flamande.   

Todd Hido vit dans la Baie de San Francisco. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans Artforum, The New York Times Magazine, Eyemazing, Wired, Elephant, FOAM, et Vanity Fair. Ses photographies sont dans les collections permanentes du Getty, du Whitney Museum of Art, du Guggenheim Museum, New York, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, du Young Museum, du Smithsonian, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, ainsi que dans de nombreuses autres collections publiques et privées. Auteur de plus d’une douzaine de livres, dont la monographie Excerpts from Silver Meadows, publiée en 2013, Intimate Distance : Twenty-Five Years of Photographs, a Chronological Album publié par Aperture en 2016. Son dernier livre, intitulé Bright Black World a été édité en 2018 par Nazraeli Press.

Todd Hido est également collectionneur de livres photographiques et sa collection a été reconnue comme l’une des plus importantes au monde en 2018 par Random House (Bibliomania : The World’s Most Interesting Private Libraries).

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exposition du 17 octobre au 3 janvier au Point de Vue - Boulevard de la mer à l'angle de la rue Tristan Bernard.
Ouvertes tous les jours du 17 octobre au 1er novembre puis les vendredis, samedis et dimanches du 2 nov. au 18 déc. 10h30 > 13h, 14h30 > 18h30
Entrée libre