French Dutch English German Spanish

Liz Hingley

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2018

© Liz Hingley, for Contact Board (s) 2018, Deauville

The Deauville Chatonnière

Liz Hingley is an English photographer and anthropologist whose work is at the crossroads of an academic academic path and a personal artistic practice. Contemporary migrations, housing and urban behavior are themes that she recursively addresses in her often transdisciplinary projects. She is currently in residence at the Department of Human Geography at the University of London and visiting professor at the Birmingham Research Fellowship.

Liz Hingley has published several books including Under Gods, a history of the Soho Road (Dewi Lewis, 2010), Shanghai (City Portraits Collection, Be-Pôles editions), Home Made in Smethwick (Multistory, 2016) and Shanghai Sacred (Washington University Press, 2018). Her work has been awarded many times, including the Photophilanthropy Prize, the Virginia Prize and the Getty Editorial Grant.

Liz Hingley about her exhibit The Deauville Chatonnière :
"Deauville is shaped by and for leisure: three-quarters of the houses in this seaside town are second homes. It is a good place to forget our ordinary timetables and to fall out of time. The beach, boats, racetrack and villas, which resemble fairytale castles, echo the games of childhood.
In Deauville, a pedestrian crossing connects the only crèche to the only residence for the elderly. One welcomes children from 3 months to 3 years old, the other one from 60 to 95 years old. These two places of life organize their days on the same rhythm: eating, sleeping, leisure, in the image of the quiet character of the city.
Challenged by the proximity of these two generations, Liz Hingley, anthropologist and English photographer, created a meeting space at the end of the same street, in La Chatonnière. This building is marked by the strata of time; creaky doors, chipped paint and cracked tiles still echo from the lives of the two old ladies who lived there with their many cats. La Chatonnière has thus become a place for spontaneous exchanges and games. The resulting photographs are a poetic reflection of these two ages of life.
"

Liz Hingley thanks the producer Anna Schwaz for the translation and her creativity, the nursery and the Jacques Letarouilly foyer for their support and imagination, the city of Deauville for her faith in art.

My travel book

Liz Hingley

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2018

© Liz Hingley, pour Planche(s) Contact 2018, Deauville

La Chatonnière de Deauville

Liz Hingley est une photographe et anthropologue anglaise dont le travail est au croisement d’un parcours scolaire académique et d’une pratique artistique personnelle. Les migrations, l’habitat et les comportements urbains contemporains sont des thèmes qu’elle aborde de manière récurrente dans ses projets, souvent transdisciplinaires. Elle est actuellement en résidence au Département Géographie Humaine de l’Université de Londres et professeure invitée de la bourse de recherche de Birmingham.

Liz Hingley a publié plusieurs ouvrages dont Under Gods, une histoire de la Soho Road (Dewi Lewis, 2010), Shangaï (Collection Portraits de Ville, éditions Be-Pôles), Home Made in Smethwick (Multistory, 2016) et Shanghai Sacred (Washington University Press, 2018). Son travail a été récompensé à de nombreuses reprises et notamment par le Prix Photophilanthropy, le Prix Virginia and le Getty Editorial Grant.

Liz Hingley à propos de son exposition La Chatonnière de Deauville
"Deauville est façonnée par et pour le loisir : les trois quarts des maisons de cette ville en bord de mer sont des résidences secondaire. Il s'agit d'un lieu propice à oublier nos emplois du temps ordinaires et à tomber hors du temps. La plage, les bateaux, l'hippodrome et les villas, qui ressemblent à des châteaux de contes de fées, font écho aux jeux de l'enfance. 
A Deauville, un passage piéton relie la seule crèche à la seule résidence de personnes âgées. L'une accueille des enfants de 3 mois à 3 ans, l'autre des personnes de 60 à 95 ans. Ces deux lieux de vie organisent leurs journées sur le même rythme : manger, dormir, loisirs, à l'image du caractère tranquille de la ville. 
Interpellée par la proximité de ces deux générations, Liz Hingley, anthropologue et photographe anglaise, a créé un espace de rencontre au bout de la même rue, à la Chatonnière. Cet immeuble est marqué par les strates du temps ; les portes grinçantes, la peinture écaillée et les carreaux fêlés résonnent encore de la vie des deux vieilles dames qui vivaient là avec leurs nombreux chats. La Chatonnière est ainsi devenue lieu d'échanges et de jeux spontanés. Les photographies qui en découlent sont le reflet poétique de ces deux âges de la vie.
"

Liz Hingley remercie la productrice Anna Schwaz pour la traduction et sa créativité, la crèche et le foyer Jacques Letarouilly pour leur soutien et imagination, la ville de Deauville pour sa foi en l'art.